PDA

View Full Version : High ping/Lag Spikes/Rubberbanding on my G751JY



Jamesgz
07-28-2015, 06:15 AM
I just brought my G751JY 2 days ago and started playing online games like lol and csgo. However, my ping is normally 30, but within a minute, it will go up to 150 very fast and then go down.

I have updated the most recent driver and deleted GameFirst III. I also used regedit and added the "ScanWhenAssociated" thing.
I think its a problem with my router settings as my router only supports up to 820.11n
I use Actiontec V1000H
http://gyazo.com/1dd8e080e3da8a5b1e6830ec6673b6a5

In my WLAN settings, Is it normal to not have the 802.11n mode settings?
http://gyazo.com/ba122bb397d7d5b489e742f4a48782db
Also, should I put "Auto" for both 2.4GHz and 5.2GHz?

I really need help to solve this... Can't believe I have to be so frustrated after spending over 2500$.... Thanks!

A side note: I brought a MSI gt72 a week ago, had the same lag problem. Then, I returned it and brought this, but same problem with the lag spikes again...

Carnoustie
07-28-2015, 07:11 AM
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?57190-G751-WLAN-Heavy-Lags-Rubberbanding/page3

Jamesgz
07-28-2015, 04:22 PM
tried all the solutions already, nothing worked

Gizmo180
07-28-2015, 08:12 PM
Are you connected to a router? You might need to port forward if you are. Also the quality of the servers means a lot too. I play csgo on a G751JT and the lag I do get is a server related one not client end.

Jamesgz
07-28-2015, 11:28 PM
Are you connected to a router? You might need to port forward if you are. Also the quality of the servers means a lot too. I play csgo on a G751JT and the lag I do get is a server related one not client end.
Yes, I use a router. What do you mean by port forward? I have this problem on almost every server

aeolisio
07-29-2015, 12:57 AM
You can read more about port fowarding for cs go here
http://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/13/616188473199856102/
and here
http://portforward.com/help/portforwarding.htm
here is the port list for cs go and valve games
http://portforward.com/english/applications/port_forwarding/publishers/Valve_Corporation.htm

Jamesgz
07-29-2015, 01:03 AM
You can read more about port fowarding for cs go here
http://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/13/616188473199856102/
and here
http://portforward.com/help/portforwarding.htm
here is the port list for cs go and valve games
http://portforward.com/english/applications/port_forwarding/publishers/Valve_Corporation.htm

Oh, I dont think its that portforwading problem since i have this problem on lol as well

aeolisio
07-29-2015, 01:17 AM
I would give it a shot before you dismiss it what do you have to lose. It sounds like an issue with your router configs or hardware not the laptop especially since you experienced this problem on multiple machines.
http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=831071

Basemath
07-29-2015, 04:15 AM
The solution i'll propose assumes both the laptops you ordered came with the same outdated version of Intel PROSet/Wireless driver, and you probably updated them both to the same newest available version.

My G751JY had a similar problem. Updating the wireless driver did not solve it. In fact, it made it worse. So I tried the Intel PROSet drivers released between the version my laptop had and the latest version. One by one, starting from newest. My G751JY came with version 17.0.5 of Intel PROSet. At the time, (a week ago) the newest release was 17.16.0. That version was what made things worse. They released the new one a few days ago, 18.11.0. That version solved my problems, but for some reason gave me higher ping. I started trying out older versions and 17.13.11 seems to be working flawlessly so far. Here's the website for all the drivers.

http://www.intel.com/support/wireless/wtech/proset-ws/sb/CS-034041.htm

Hope this helps. Otherwise, good luck!

Jamesgz
07-29-2015, 06:43 AM
btw, how do you know if the wireless driver is successfully installed? After you start the installer, there is just a circle right? Then, it just close itself.

Basemath
07-29-2015, 07:47 AM
I suppose you're getting that because you downloaded the small size driver installation instead of the larger size software installation, yea? I opted to do the larger size software which includes the driver. That starts an installation wizard, rather than the small circle. I just downloaded all the versions at once, starting from the one my laptop came with. To speed up the testing process.

That said, to check your current driver version, go to Device Manager. You'll find it in Control Panel, or you can right click your bottom left 'Start Screen' icon and you'll also find Device Manager in the list. Navigate to Network Adapters, extend it, and you should find your network card there. Should be the Dual Band Wireless AC 7260. Right click it and hit Properties. Go to Driver and you should see your current driver version there.

Now before installing a new driver (small size file) or the larger software file, I guess it's advisable to uninstall the current driver all together. I did that n it went fine. To uninstall the driver, right click your network adapter (AC 7260) in the device manager. Hit Uninstall, then check the box for "delete the driver software for this device." Restart after deleting then install the new driver.