PDA

View Full Version : G74SX: i7-2630QM v i7-2670QM



gamersguru123
12-16-2011, 12:22 PM
Hey guys,
Looking at getting a G74SX for Christmas and really can't wait, just had a few questions about it. I have the option of two different models which have either the i7-2630QM or i7-2670QM processor. Both have turbo boost but the 2670QM is .2 GHz faster. Will this make any noticeable difference in terms of gaming performance?
Also, the 2630QM is the only one with Intel HD graphics on the processor itself, but will this matter as both have the GTX 560M graphics card?
Thanks for your help guys, I just really want to have no regrets with this awesome piece of kit!

panth3ra
12-16-2011, 12:43 PM
there will be no noticeable difference between them. also this lappy doesn't have Nvidia Optimus, so you can not
switch between 560M and Intel HD graphics.

thesilent85
12-16-2011, 12:50 PM
when using 3dmark you will get a better number on the 2670 but as said above the performance wise in games is not even visible!

fostert
12-17-2011, 12:25 AM
Agreed, +200 MHz will not be visible in day-2-day ops or games, but only in benchies. Get the 2630, spend the difference on an immediate RAM upgrade, or towards an SSD which will have an incredible impact on performance.

The Nemesis
12-17-2011, 02:46 AM
Agreed, +200 MHz will not be visible in day-2-day ops or games, but only in benchies. Get the 2630, spend the difference on an immediate RAM upgrade, or towards an SSD which will have an incredible impact on performance.

+1, it's what I did.

Blue-Bulb
12-17-2011, 01:45 PM
Im on the 2670. 16gb ram. installing ssd tml.

.2 GHz doesnt really makes alot of diff.

Srkrono
01-19-2012, 01:00 AM
there will be no noticeable difference between them. also this lappy doesn't have Nvidia Optimus, so you can not
switch between 560M and Intel HD graphics.

What is Nividia Optimus?

fostert
01-19-2012, 01:28 AM
Optimus is technology to auto-switch the graphics chip from the discrete GPU card to the integrated GPU on the CPU die. The idea is it is a power-saving feature since the on-board graphics chip is much lower wattage than a dedicated card is. Therefore the battery life is extended by switching to the onboard during times when heavy GPU processing power is not needed. The G74 + NVIDIA GTX560 combo was not built for optimus, and so even though the core i7 2630QM and 2670QM CPUs have onboard graphics capability, these will never be used in these notebooks.

chriscosta77
11-07-2012, 11:12 PM
There is a major difference...the i7-2670qm can address up to 32MB of RAM, while the i7-2630qm can only address up to 16GB of RAM

I HATE TO NECRO but felt it was an important but easily overlooked detail when people are comparing those chips. This will at least help someone else googling this issue.

Yes, performance will be mostly negligible. However, if your editing huge vectors (or large datasets), 32GB of RAM will be your friend! :D

zsld0423
11-08-2012, 05:19 AM
There is a major difference...the i7-2670qm can address up to 32MB of RAM, while the i7-2630qm can only address up to 16GB of RAM

I HATE TO NECRO but felt it was an important but easily overlooked detail when people are comparing those chips. This will at least help someone else googling this issue.

Yes, performance will be mostly negligible. However, if your editing huge vectors (or large datasets), 32GB of RAM will be your friend! :D

Actually, ROG'er Fostert proved that you can put 32GB of RAM in the 2630qm :P So it is possible, but ASUS decided not to let that be known. But to my knowledge, your RAM speed will automatically go to 1333mhz, and won't go over that. The only way to go over that is to use 2 8GB sticks to get the 1600/1800mhz speeds, and I'm guessing Asus isn't going to provide any kind of BIOS update to help with that at all

fostert
11-08-2012, 05:26 AM
Yes, 32GB of RAM has worked swell with the 2630QM in my G74 for nearly a year now. Its clocked at 1333MHz, which is fast enough (nobody will notice the difference between this and 1600 in real world applications).
And yes,I fill nearly all of it on a daily basis. Can't wait for 1x16GB SODIMMs to hit the market, and a mobile chip that'll do 64GB of RAM!

Don't know why ark.intel still lists the 2630QM as being limited to 16GB?? Clearly wrong.