PDA

View Full Version : Windows 10 Clean Install Inquiry

akosiflava
08-02-2015, 06:56 PM
Now that i have upgraded my ASUS ROG G750JM-DS71 to Windows 10 Home, i want to clean install it. But I'm hesitant because I'm not sure if the BIOS will remain. (Sorry for being a newbie here) I like seeing the ROG LOGO on the system load time. I dont want to not see it after clean installing windows. Please, I need help! Thanks

xeromist
08-02-2015, 07:47 PM
Win10 does not overwrite the BIOS. What you see now is exactly the same as what you'll see when you clean install. Note that there is a factory reset function within Windows 10 that gives you virtually the same thing as a clean install. You might consider that first before going to the trouble of wiping and starting over.

Darnassus
08-03-2015, 07:53 AM
To keep your RoG logo for when you boot up, just re-enable FastBoot and SecureBoot in the BIOS once you've finished upgrading. ;d

MaxCioco
08-04-2015, 10:45 AM
I don't have any of them and I have a retail version of Windows ( not oem - cheaper that way here ) and a costum bios and I still get the logo.

So most likely you don't have to worry about that.

Honami
08-04-2015, 03:49 PM
I wounder if i can use the asus 3rd party programs from windows 8.1 on 10 X64

MelvinZ
09-06-2015, 02:10 AM
would a clean install erase all of the necessary pre installed drivers and software and whatnot? Or would it re-install/ keep things that came installed by Asus?

Maxter
09-06-2015, 03:07 AM
I went with the update. Do not hibernate or sleep and you'll be fine. Otherwise, you'll have TDR issues with the graphics card (been there and it sucks).
If you can live without those 2 things, Win 10 is awesome! I love the multiple desktops and speed

Maxter
09-06-2015, 03:08 AM
I wounder if i can use the asus 3rd party programs from windows 8.1 on 10 X64
yes

Maxter
09-06-2015, 03:10 AM