PDA

View Full Version : G750JM Can I switch windows8.1 to SSD



thur5day
08-11-2015, 05:43 AM
G750JM - come with harddisk 1TB incould windows 8.1. Question if I need to upgrad i put SSD in another slot and switch windows 8.1 boot on SSD. Can I do that? Please explain how to do step by step.
Thank you so much

THempleman
08-15-2015, 10:23 PM
I purchased a Crucial SSD and their install kit:
http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/CTSSDINSTALLAC
It cloned with no problems.

Maxter
08-16-2015, 05:45 AM
I recommend you reinstall new on the SSD. There are known problems with cloning (but you might get lucky...)
Search the forums to get the list. I know I and other people have written it many times. good luck!

THempleman
08-16-2015, 07:31 PM
BTW, I too am a proponent of a clean install. Then, you 'point' your folders to your old hdd and reinstall the programs you want. You now have an ssd with extra space that boots and runs faster than you can believe!