PDA

View Full Version : New G751JY-DB72 - want to replace the 1TB HD with SSD



darken
08-19-2015, 07:06 PM
I picked up my new G751JY-DB72 laptop yesterday and I am loving it.

It came with a 256 GB SSD and a 1TB HD.

Question - is the 1TB HD user replaceable? If it is, I would like to replace with it with another SSD. What type/spec of an SSD can I install in the place of the 1TB HD?

I am loving everything about this laptop EXCEPT of the way they have the drives partitioned! I am a bit disappointed that they partitioned the 256GB SSD into 2 partitions. Oh well..

I have researched a ton of gaming laptops and I must say that I am very impressed with the cooling on this unit. I put it through its paces last night and it barely got warm!

Appreciate any feedback on the HD replacement.

IWLSR5
08-19-2015, 07:37 PM
The HD is user replaceable. You can replace it with any 2.5" SATA SSD.

vempatyappu
08-19-2015, 07:56 PM
Is the second bay Sata 2 or three? Cos if you have sata 2 you'll get sad transfer speeds even on an SSD.

KrisVr
08-19-2015, 08:34 PM
Yeah 1 bay might be Sata 2. The bay without M.2.
So if your G751 came with M.2 SSD, you have to somehow mount other SSD under it to actually take advantage of SSD speeds.

JustinThyme
08-19-2015, 09:14 PM
Honestly I wouldn't bother. If it was me I would clone the 256 that came with it onto a 512GB then put the 256 in the box and leave it for recovery later if needed. Then you can delete the extra partitions using software like Acronis disk director and resize the main partition to get back that space. I have a 1TB hybrid drive as my second drive and it does just fine for media storage. All programs are on the SSD and its not half full yet.

Chadd
08-19-2015, 09:14 PM
You can remove the partition of the SSD within Windows, no software required. Just make sure that the non OS part of the partition is clear when you do. I got the 512GB SSD model and repartitioned it so the OS partition is 125GB and then I use the other partition for Software and leave the 125GB OS partition just for the OS.

aeolisio
08-20-2015, 12:52 AM
Yeah 1 bay might be Sata 2. The bay without M.2.
So if your G751 came with M.2 SSD, you have to somehow mount other SSD under it to actually take advantage of SSD speeds.
You can use the bracket here to fit both a m.2 and 2.5 in the same bay.
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?71609-G751JY-DB73X-and-other-G751-s-M-2-bracket-3d-printed-and-heatsinked&p=529950#post529950
or here
http://shpws.me/JtUm
http://shpws.me/JtU4