PDA

View Full Version : Slots available for SSD and HDD in GL551JW-DS71 ?



blimey
08-29-2015, 07:41 PM
Just got this laptop and am loving it but yesterday I got the notice that I can get the free upgrade to Windows 10- I figured it's a good opportunity to upgrade to a separate drive for the OS and programs. But I can't find any info on whether there's a slot available for the SSD drive as well as the currently installed HDD. Anyone know?
Thanks!

bartat404
08-29-2015, 09:33 PM
Just got this laptop and am loving it but yesterday I got the notice that I can get the free upgrade to Windows 10- I figured it's a good opportunity to upgrade to a separate drive for the OS and programs. But I can't find any info on whether there's a slot available for the SSD drive as well as the currently installed HDD. Anyone know?
Thanks!

As the owner of this laptop, there is not another slot for another hard disk drive, unfortunately.
There is, however, an M.2 SSD port accessible on the inside if you disassemble the laptop (I do not know if this is functional, so if anyone knows feel free to chime in)

You could do what I did, and get a CD Drive Chassis for a laptop HDD. Place the SSD where your hard drive currently is, and move the hard drive to the CD-Chassis.

This would obviously have the drawback of making you lose the DVD tray, but if you are like me, it serves no purpose.

abhinav.0160
10-27-2015, 09:24 PM
As the owner of this laptop, there is not another slot for another hard disk drive, unfortunately.
There is, however, an M.2 SSD port accessible on the inside if you disassemble the laptop (I do not know if this is functional, so if anyone knows feel free to chime in)

You could do what I did, and get a CD Drive Chassis for a laptop HDD. Place the SSD where your hard drive currently is, and move the hard drive to the CD-Chassis.

This would obviously have the drawback of making you lose the DVD tray, but if you are like me, it serves no purpose.

Are you sure, its M.2, someone posted that its big brother DS74 has a 128GB MSATA HC KINGSTON/RBU-SMSM151S3/128GD.

I'm assuming the DS71 will have a msata port unused too. Did you open up yours or are you guessing?

Clintlgm
10-28-2015, 12:28 AM
As to upgrading to windows 10 you do know that you have to run the upgrade first. Once your activated on the upgraded windows 10 then you hardware will be registered on the MS Servers. Then you can clean install all you want.
The free upgrade to 10 is good until July 2016 you may want to wait abit before upgrading then again maybe not just thought you should know.

Read this thread http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?76993-Guide-How-to-install-windows-8-8-1-10-The-proper-way-(UEFI-based-installation)
Windows 10 Forum for Windows 10 issues (http://www.tenforums.com/)
Asus Support Downloads (http://support.asus.com/download/options.aspx?SLanguage=en&type=1) for your hardware drivers

Latinmike7
10-15-2016, 11:43 AM
Just got this laptop and am loving it but yesterday I got the notice that I can get the free upgrade to Windows 10- I figured it's a good opportunity to upgrade to a separate drive for the OS and programs. But I can't find any info on whether there's a slot available for the SSD drive as well as the currently installed HDD. Anyone know?
Thanks!
as owner of this laptop there is and you can see just how to install it here, Vivian N How to install mini msata SSD on Asus GL551,
https://www.youtube.com/user/MyComputerguide

momogee2
10-24-2016, 07:50 PM
Just got this laptop and am loving it but yesterday I got the notice that I can get the free upgrade to Windows 10- I figured it's a good opportunity to upgrade to a separate drive for the OS and programs. But I can't find any info on whether there's a slot available for the SSD drive as well as the currently installed HDD. Anyone know?
Thanks!

Hi, I just posted a few days ago the very question that you could answer!
-I am trying to find out if I can put a CD caddy in my laptop to replace the CD with a SSD. What size is the CD caddy? 9.5mm or 12.7mm?
-AND is the sata port for the cd limited to sata2 or is it sata3?