PDA

View Full Version : RAMDISK - Windows 7 Home Premium - 32G System RAM will it see???



Ke1vin
08-31-2015, 04:10 AM
Hello all... my first post... and first attempt to build a system not pre-built.

As I'm not ready to move on to Windows 10 just yet, I am still using Windows 7 Home Premium.

I know this version of Windows doesn't use RAM above 16G. but will the ROG RAMDISK be able to see the unused 16G to use it as a
RAMDISK?


Thanks for any replies,
Ke1vin

Ke1vin
09-01-2015, 12:30 PM
Does anyone use RAMDISK?

Almighty1
09-01-2015, 09:29 PM
Read this, especially the "Extended memory access" section.

http://www.superspeed.com/desktop/ramdisk.php

Ke1vin
09-02-2015, 01:50 AM
Well Almighty1 that pretty well hits the nail right on the head. Ramdisk plus 12 should do nicely.
Any information as to whether the ROG Ramdisk that came with my Motherboard can do similar?

Thanx for the link,

Ke1vin

Ke1vin
09-02-2015, 12:25 PM
Does anyone use the freeware ImDisk Ramdisk mention in wiki?

Dr. Zchivago
09-02-2015, 12:35 PM
I love ImDisk, but I started using Dataram Ramdisk after I was gifted a product key for the 12 GB software - Dataram is free for 4 GB RAM Disk, but you pay for versions that allow larger.

I still like ImDisk, though.

Z

geneo
09-02-2015, 01:21 PM
Hello all... my first post... and first attempt to build a system not pre-built.

As I'm not ready to move on to Windows 10 just yet, I am still using Windows 7 Home Premium.

I know this version of Windows doesn't use RAM above 16G. but will the ROG RAMDISK be able to see the unused 16G to use it as a
RAMDISK?


Thanks for any replies,
Ke1vin

It will not be able to see the extra 16GB. You will need to go to Windows 8 or 10.

Ke1vin
09-03-2015, 12:56 PM
Thanks