PDA

View Full Version : Why does my optical drive keep opening?

MelvinZ
09-05-2015, 08:42 PM
Hey there,

I'm a bit new to the whole computer scene. That being said I already know more than the typical user, but am still lacking lots of just general knowledge. As such I would like to learn everything I can, so please bear with me if I don't understand something.

Now that that's out of the way, I just got a new G551 with windows 8 pre installed and ever since I turned it on, through the whole setup process, the entire time I was upgrading to windows 10, and the entire time I've been using 10, the optical drive has been opening randomly.

I have no idea why it is doing this, and I can't find any program myself that I believe would cause this. I know it must be some sort of program because it hasn't happened to me when in the BIOS and it doesn't appear to be triggered by touching it in certain ways as I have read other people complain about.

Any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if you need any other information. Thanks in advance!

aeolisio
09-05-2015, 08:48 PM
Have you tried inserting a disc and ejecting it? Software can signal an eject especially if its waiting for a disk but a restart should have finished that.

MelvinZ
09-05-2015, 08:55 PM
I've done plenty of that I've been turning it off and on over the course of just general use in the past few days. I've even been trying to install ubuntu, which is a separate problem. but yes, have turned it off and on again, and inserted and ejected multiple disks.

aeolisio
09-05-2015, 09:09 PM
i doubt you have anything physically lodged in the button so you next course would be either reinstalling programs one by one or a clean install of windows to remove any other possible issues besides the hardware. If its new you might find it easier to just exchange it wherever you bought it and chalk it up to a defect.

MelvinZ
09-05-2015, 09:53 PM