PDA

View Full Version : Possible to Change CPU Current Limit in intel XTU or other program for i7-4860HQ ?



Boxis
09-07-2015, 08:15 AM
Heya,

anyone knows, if it is possible to change the CPU current limit in intel XTU or some other program for i7-4860HQ ? Because at the moment when I try to change it to any other value except 90.000A it just doesnt take the effect after the initial reboot.

I am talking about this option:
http://s13.postimg.org/6lw6qa8hj/xtu.jpg

Thanks !

MelvinZ
09-07-2015, 12:30 PM
With the little knowledge I have I'll say that that's probably the max it can handle without frying, but then again I'm pretty new to the whole thing so I'd get another opinion before you take my word =P

Boxis
09-07-2015, 12:37 PM
I would like to reduce it back to 85.000A which is shown as default value on the right panel as well, but it simply wont allow me to.

MelvinZ
09-07-2015, 02:07 PM
Then it could be that that's the minimum value it can handle. It might need at least that much current to operate properly. Why do you want to reduce it anyway? For longevity/ battery life?