PDA

View Full Version : Kingston HyperX 16GB 2133mhz Memory only shows 1600mhz in Windows 10?



TheLiger
09-10-2015, 10:29 PM
Hi All,

I've recently installed Kingston HyperX 16GB 2133mhz memory, everything has been fine and pretty much straight away I done the upgrade to Windows 10.

Tonight I done a clean install but before I did I updated to the latest BIOS 210.

Now when the clean install of Windows 10 was complete the Task Manager shows the memory speed as 1600mhz.

Is there any reason for this? I've had a quick look in the BIOS and can't find any memory settings like this XMP people mention.

Also due to it being a fresh install and being a new dad, I've not yet installed any of my programs or apps, that will happen at the weekend where I can show you guys CPU-Z screen shots.

Any pointers in the meantime or is this normal etc.?

Thanks,
Liger

MaxCioco
09-11-2015, 04:21 AM
From what I do know these laptops work with memory only at 1600 mhz.
http://ark.intel.com/products/78930/Intel-Core-i7-4710HQ-Processor-6M-Cache-up-to-3_50-GHz
This being said, I don't think it even worked in the first place and I don't know if there is anything you can do about it if the cpu does not go higher. It's possible that even the mb is limited to 1600.

TheLiger
09-11-2015, 06:55 AM
I'm sure in the sticky thread about the G750 needing 1.35v memory there was a post about someone using GSkill 2133mhz at full speed.

redduc900
09-11-2015, 08:07 AM
The memory can definitely run at it's rated speed of DDR3-2133, as long as all of the modules are rated the same. If any of the modules are rated at a lower speed, then all of the modules will run at that speed. So if for example you have 2 x 8GB DDR3-1600 and 2 x 8GB DDR3-2133, all 4 modules will run at the slower DDR3-1600.

TheLiger
09-11-2015, 09:24 AM
The memory can definitely run at it's rated speed of DDR3-2133, as long as all of the modules are rated the same. If any of the modules are rated at a lower speed, then all of the modules will run at that speed. So if for example you have 2 x 8GB DDR3-1600 and 2 x 8GB DDR3-2133, all 4 modules will run at the slower DDR3-1600.

Yeah I removed the 2 standard sticks which were 1600mhz and replaced them with the 2 Kingston sticks at 2133mhz, they were bought as a 16GB pack and when I checked PCU-Z before the re-install they were running in dual mode.

Liger
09-12-2015, 07:16 AM
Anyone else offer any assistance? Anyone have screen shots of where I should be able to make any changes in the BIOS that might help? Could the clean install in Windows have turned off my turbo boost, causing the memory to be throttled? Clutching at straws here!

redduc900
09-12-2015, 07:37 AM
The BIOS doesn't offer the ability to change the DRAM frequency. Post pic's of CPU-Z open to the Memory tab for each DIMM slot, so we can see what the current frequency is.

Liger
09-12-2015, 08:36 AM
The BIOS doesn't offer the ability to change the DRAM frequency. Post pic's of CPU-Z open to the Memory tab for each DIMM slot, so we can see what the current frequency is.

Thanks Redduc, I'll get screens up shortly, do you think this is something we can resolve?

Liger
09-12-2015, 03:06 PM
You're not going to get anything higher than 1600MHz. The ram frequency is determined by the CPU and that is Memory TypesDDR3L 1333/1600 (Take directly from the Intel site).

There is no way you or anyone else for that matter got anything higher than 1600MHz on G750 laptop. EVER. Period.

What would I gain from lying? The CPU-Z and Task Manager both showed 2133mhz before I updated the BIOS and clean installed Windows 10. Check the Memory Sticky and see for yourself lots of people getting 2133mhz from Kingston and GSkill.

Liger
09-14-2015, 01:45 PM
Does this look correct to you guys, its supposed to be CL11.

http://i590.photobucket.com/albums/ss350/redice666/Memory.png

redduc900
09-14-2015, 02:46 PM
Yes it looks correct. The rated timings for KHX2133C11S3L/8G are 11-12-13-35-2T @ 1067 MHz, which your modules are currently running at. They are also running at their rated speed of DDR3-2133 (1065.3 MHz x 2 = 2130.6 ) in dual channel mode.

Liger
09-14-2015, 02:57 PM
Yes it looks correct. The rated timings for KHX2133C11S3L/8G are 11-12-13-35-2T @ 1067 MHz, which your modules are currently running at. They are also running at their rated speed of DDR3-2133 (1065.3 MHz x 2 = 2130.6 ) in dual channel mode.

Thanks a lot mate so no need to change BIOS then!