PDA

View Full Version : G751JL: severe decrease in performance, weird GPU malfunction?

Galadh
09-11-2015, 09:41 AM
Something really weird has occured to my G751JL as of recent.

I've been using ROG G751JL for almost two months now and until Wednesday its performance had been nothing short of excellent. On Wednesday, I came back home after three weeks long stay in another city and I first noticed something's off in the evening, when FC3 multiplayer ran on poor framerate. Was the first time I ever used multiplayer module of this game, so not suspecting much I got to play Resident Evil 5, which has been scoring pretty much stable 60FPS on Ultra HD, no difference here whatsoever. Back to FC3, this time single player, I got the same results as in multi, which was clearly and totally off, as it usually ran twice as good. Wow.

It wasn't only that, as the laptop clearly started to work more loudly/intensely even during chilling on desktop, as if it's constantly processing something, busy with operating. The very next evening I tried to run Witcher 3 and once again, I got like 50% of usual FPS result. I have no more points of reference, as W3, RE5 and FC3 are the only games I've run on it thus far, and the tests indicate that only the least demanding of them maintains more or less the same FPS performance.

At first I concluded that perhaps something might have happened to the laptop on the trip here (as until the very night before my departure everything was fine), but nope, it was super-solidly protected, my eyes were constantly on it and I am 100% positive there wasn't a single moment something might have come up. So, did anything else change?