PDA

View Full Version : Anybody tried replacing the optical drive with an SSD?



varycoolman
09-11-2015, 03:41 PM
I was on Ebay and i found this hard drive tray that replaces your optical drive, it looks pretty legit. Has anyone got this?
51614

Corporal
09-11-2015, 04:52 PM
It needs to be a 9,5 mm one. If it is, you're good to go.

Clintlgm
09-12-2015, 01:46 AM
However it would be a waste of an SSD since the SATA 1.5 connection would hold it back quite abit. But if you have an older SSD just taking space why not. 2.5" and 9.5 or thinner. several of the people here have put hard drive in to replace the DVD drive. One of them should know what the caddy requirements are. It might help if you provide a link or the specification of this particular caddy? Here I found this thread should answer your questions https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?58104-How-to-add-a-4th-drive-to-your-G751

JustinThyme
09-12-2015, 02:00 AM
Could it be done, yes. Is it worth even doing it for a slow mechanical 5200 rpm HDD, no. I can think of no scenario making it worth the trouble. Lowest ROG laptop has two drive bays where you can put an 1TB SSD (gets pricey) in and a 2TB 7200 rpm drive in the other (I have a 512GB SSD and 1TB hybrid). Want more than that? USB 3.0 external drive will trump the 1.5 Gbps of the optical bay and are currently available in a 4TB portable that runs off of USB power, seagate is making one as I just picked one up.

varycoolman
09-16-2015, 05:16 PM
I'd be putting an SSD in, and I've already got the 1TB HDD and 240GB SSD but my main issue is i keep accidentally opening the dam optical drive and i don't even need it since everything can be downloaded so if i can slap in an old SSD and take out this useless annoyance I'd be happy. There aren't any legit specs lol its ebay and the tray was only $13.

toronto699
09-16-2015, 05:52 PM
I replaced my BD drive with an ssd in my G751jy , I got all I need from hidevolution.com , I need the extra HD because I use it for editing HD video from a Sony Beta cam for TV broadcasts , an external drive is to cumbersome when i'm on the road or in foreign country . also I send raw video over satalite from the 3 rd HD or directly from my Sony Beta Cam. I also send HD video from my 3rd hard drive through my blackberry

Rares95
09-16-2015, 06:01 PM
Could it be done, yes. Is it worth even doing it for a slow mechanical 5200 rpm HDD, no. I can think of no scenario making it worth the trouble. Lowest ROG laptop has two drive bays where you can put an 1TB SSD (gets pricey) in and a 2TB 7200 rpm drive in the other (I have a 512GB SSD and 1TB hybrid). Want more than that? USB 3.0 external drive will trump the 1.5 Gbps of the optical bay and are currently available in a 4TB portable that runs off of USB power, seagate is making one as I just picked one up.

Really want to know where to get a 2TB 7200rpm 9.5mm drive. Afaik they don't exist, but if you got a source on that please share

Edweird
09-16-2015, 06:25 PM
Couldn't find a 2TB 7200RPM drive myself from either Hitachi, Seagate or Western Digital. Tons of 5400 ones, though.

Corporal
09-16-2015, 06:43 PM
On my G751JY it's a SATA 2 connection, max transfer rate is about 250 Megabyte/sec , which exceeds most(if not all) HDD currently on the market. I run 2 HDDs in a RAID 0 setup, which nets me about 300 megabyte/sec sequential speed.

JustinThyme
09-16-2015, 07:59 PM
If you guys cant find a 2.5 inch 7200 RPM HDD with a simple google search then I cant help you. Very first line on the search shows a Seagate 7200 rpm Sata III 2TB drive. Its pricey enterprise storage but they do exist.

But that wasn't the point of my post.

The amount of on board storage that can be installed is already ridiculous. If you just want to go with all SSDs in the two sata III ports you can get 4TB currently, give it a few months and you will be able to fit 10TB. I find it rather humorous for someone to say that an external drive to too cumbersome as they pack around any G751. ATM you can even get a 256GB jump drive that easily fits pretty much anywhere.

Personally speaking I find putting an HDD in the optical drive bay on one of these machines about as useless as a rudder on a ducks butt. If you had a laptop with only USB 2.0 and a single HDD capacity I could see the validity.

toronto699
09-16-2015, 09:31 PM
Justin , Sony Beta cam weighs 28 pounds, G751 9 pounds , wireless mikes ,beta batteries {1pound} , lights all add up and another external device just adds more weight and more equipment to lose , my job is not in an office , its in places most people seldom or ever go. Watch an episode of
"Parts Unknown" on CNN and u will see what I mean check the Lybia one or someother war torn country . If u cannot point someone to hardware dont make a comment they are just asking for help and advice like the rest of us, Have a great day. its a beautiful night in Mayanmar

Edweird
09-16-2015, 09:59 PM
If you guys cant find a 2.5 inch 7200 RPM HDD with a simple google search then I cant help you. Very first line on the search shows a Seagate 7200 rpm Sata III 2TB drive. Its pricey enterprise storage but they do exist.

But that wasn't the point of my post.

The amount of on board storage that can be installed is already ridiculous. If you just want to go with all SSDs in the two sata III ports you can get 4TB currently, give it a few months and you will be able to fit 10TB. I find it rather humorous for someone to say that an external drive to too cumbersome as they pack around any G751. ATM you can even get a 256GB jump drive that easily fits pretty much anywhere.

Personally speaking I find putting an HDD in the optical drive bay on one of these machines about as useless as a rudder on a ducks butt. If you had a laptop with only USB 2.0 and a single HDD capacity I could see the validity.

Just chiming in, the enterprise ones aren't SATA interfaced. You can't use them in normal laptops, they're meant for server SAS. You can use SATA drives on SAS interfaces but not SAS drives on SATA interfaces. There are no SATA 2TB 7200RPM 2.5 inch drives of any description (I think).

Setoku
09-16-2015, 10:46 PM
Just did this upgrade yesterday very easy to do replaced the bluray drive with a 1tb ssd very happy with it :D

Edweird
09-16-2015, 11:56 PM
Just did this upgrade yesterday very easy to do replaced the bluray drive with a 1tb ssd very happy with it :D

Thoroughly recommend swapping the SSD and your HDD around - you're getting 1/4th the speed from the optical drive bay port.
Have you not noticed that it's running extremely slow? Or is this on a laptop other than the G751?

Gps3dx
09-17-2015, 10:31 AM
@Edweird... your finding are not surprising...
using the optical bay for SATA storage device can achieve ONLY SATA I (aka 1.5Gbs | 150Mbs)speed.
In the back of the G751JY/JT you can find SATA II (aka SATA3Gbs | 300Mbs)( right port ) and SATA III (aka SATA6Gbs | 600Mbs)( left port, beneath the M.2 port ).
Thus putting SSD in the optical bay is a silly idea: why buy a Ferrari when you got a constant traffic and can only move at a torte speed ?

Rares95
09-17-2015, 11:14 AM
If you guys cant find a 2.5 inch 7200 RPM HDD with a simple google search then I cant help you. Very first line on the search shows a Seagate 7200 rpm Sata III 2TB drive. Its pricey enterprise storage but they do exist.

No, i cant find a SATA 2.5inch 9.5mm 2TB 7200RPM HDD anywhere for sale. Don't know what you're on about there.

aeolisio
09-17-2015, 12:02 PM
No, i cant find a SATA 2.5inch 9.5mm 2TB 7200RPM HDD anywhere for sale. Don't know what you're on about there.
Technically he didnt say it was 9.5mm
http://www.seagate.com/products/enterprise-servers-storage/nearline-storage/enterprise-capacity-2-5-hdd/#specs
and technically with a custom 3d printed bracket you could possibly fit a 15mm drive in the bay with it touching the cover or cover off.
Im assuming he just didnt read the specs before he posted it because i dont think anyone else here is making 3d brackets or has bothered to figure out the clearance heights and angles besides me. If your looking for more storage without going ssd i can attest to the quality of samsung spinpoint 2tbs at 9.5mm and 5400 rpm. Very rarely do we bother with disk drives but when we do we use those with great success.

Corporal
09-17-2015, 01:24 PM
using the optical bay for SATA storage device can achieve ONLY SATA I (aka 1.5Gbs | 150Mbs)speed.
In my optical bay I have achieved SATA 2 speeds when running an SSD. The speed is exactly the same as in the right HDD port.

Gps3dx
09-17-2015, 10:38 PM
In my optical bay I have achieved SATA 2 speeds when running an SSD. The speed is exactly the same as in the right HDD port.
Can you please share some diagnostics info that proves your claim ?
AFAIK, optical bay is SATA I (aka 1.5Gbs | 150Mbs)

aeolisio
09-17-2015, 11:49 PM
Can you please share some diagnostics info that proves your claim ?
AFAIK, optical bay is SATA I (aka 1.5Gbs | 150Mbs)
Newer g751 versions are sata 2 in the optical bay people just get confused because the optical drive is a sata 1 drive so they often look at the drive not the port.
51682

toronto699
09-18-2015, 01:19 AM
I can confirm optical bay is sata ll @ sata ll speed , just like aeolisio and corporal say I have 2 G751JY-DH72X, I need the 3rd SSD HD for HD video Beta Cam editing.

Gps3dx
09-18-2015, 12:16 PM
Newer g751 versions are sata 2 in the optical bay people just get confused because the optical drive is a sata 1 drive so they often look at the drive not the port.
@aeolisio - thanks for pointing out where/how to see the true info.
I'm still confuse....
what are the newer g751 models ? is it the one with officially G-sync support ?

In my lap I got SSD in the left bay ( which suppose to be SATA III ), 1TB HDD on the other and the DVD writer in the optical bay.
My ports speed accurding to HWinfo x64 is:
Port#0 - Gen III - thus SATA 6Gbs ( device type: SATA )
Port#1 - Gen 1 - thus SATA 1.5Gbs (device type: ATAPI)
Port#3 - Gen 2 - thus Sata 3Gbs (device type: SATA)
Thus Should I conclude that my optical bay is SATA (I) 1.5Gbs ?

aeolisio
09-18-2015, 01:30 PM
@aeolisio - thanks for pointing out where/how to see the true info.
I'm still confuse....
what are the newer g751 models ? is it the one with officially G-sync support ?

In my lap I got SSD in the left bay ( which suppose to be SATA III ), 1TB HDD on the other and the DVD writer in the optical bay.
My ports speed accurding to HWinfo x64 is:
Port#0 - Gen III - thus SATA 6Gbs ( device type: SATA )
Port#1 - Gen 1 - thus SATA 1.5Gbs (device type: ATAPI)
Port#3 - Gen 2 - thus Sata 3Gbs (device type: SATA)
Thus Should I conclude that my optical bay is SATA (I) 1.5Gbs ?

Yes as long as your looking at the same page i posted and not the summary screen. In mine port 3 is the optical to be sure you can boot it without the optical drive in it should say Port Status: Phy in offline mode when nothing is connected.

I have seen the sata 2 optical speed in non g sync models aswell from g751jt and up. I dont have any clear dates as Asus hasnt released specifics. But i have not seen any g sync model without the sata 2 speed so then im assuming all american g sync models are sata 2 for the optical port.

xXNEMESIXx
09-19-2015, 05:02 AM
I've an asus rog gt751 jy-db72 gsync enabled and I would love to remove the optical drive, move there the hdd and install an extra ssd where the hdd is already

Can you please provide me a link (pref Amazon) of things that are compatible with my laptop and that I need to do this job (ssd, bay and so on)?

aeolisio
09-19-2015, 05:25 AM
I've an asus rog gt751 jy-db72 gsync enabled and I would love to remove the optical drive, move there the hdd and install an extra ssd where the hdd is already

Can you please provide me a link (pref Amazon) of things that are compatible with my laptop and that I need to do this job (ssd, bay and so on)?
You would get better performance upgrading the pcie in the first bay to a sm951
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM951-256GB-AHCI-MZHPV256HDGL-00000/dp/B00VELD92U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442640196&sr=8-1&keywords=sm951&refinements=p_76%3A2661625011
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM951-512GB-AHCI-MZHPV512HDGL-00000/dp/B00VELDBJ6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1442640285&sr=8-2&keywords=sm951&refinements=p_76%3A2661625011

Heres the optical bay make sure you order 9.5
http://www.amazon.com/WoneNice-caddy-9-5mm-Universal-DVD-ROM/dp/B004Y8SGXW/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1442640077&sr=8-3&keywords=9.5mm+optical+bay+hdd&refinements=p_76%3A2661625011%2Cp_72%3A2661618011
Heres a link to the 850Pro/Evo 2.5 ssd
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-75E500B-AM/dp/B00OBRE5UE/ref=sr_1_2?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1442640366&sr=1-2&keywords=850+evo
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-512GB-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-7KE512BW/dp/B00LF10KTO/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1442640358&sr=1-1&keywords=850+pro
If it was me i would just replace the pcie with a faster larger sm951 and install everything to it.

NeoBeum
09-19-2015, 07:18 PM
I've done it to my G751. It's got 2x 1TB 7200RPM in Raid 0.
You'll need a 9.5 mm, with a modification to the locking bracket if you want to lock it in. The standard bracket will get caught and lift the caddy too high.

Just waiting on a bracket I ordered from aeolisio, then I will try and raid SSDs.

xXNEMESIXx
09-19-2015, 07:33 PM
You would get better performance upgrading the pcie in the first bay to a sm951
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM951-256GB-AHCI-MZHPV256HDGL-00000/dp/B00VELD92U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442640196&sr=8-1&keywords=sm951&refinements=p_76%3A2661625011
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM951-512GB-AHCI-MZHPV512HDGL-00000/dp/B00VELDBJ6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1442640285&sr=8-2&keywords=sm951&refinements=p_76%3A2661625011

Heres the optical bay make sure you order 9.5
http://www.amazon.com/WoneNice-caddy-9-5mm-Universal-DVD-ROM/dp/B004Y8SGXW/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1442640077&sr=8-3&keywords=9.5mm+optical+bay+hdd&refinements=p_76%3A2661625011%2Cp_72%3A2661618011
Heres a link to the 850Pro/Evo 2.5 ssd
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-75E500B-AM/dp/B00OBRE5UE/ref=sr_1_2?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1442640366&sr=1-2&keywords=850+evo
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-512GB-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-7KE512BW/dp/B00LF10KTO/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1442640358&sr=1-1&keywords=850+pro
If it was me i would just replace the pcie with a faster larger sm951 and install everything to it.

Thank you very much for all the patience you have following my questions.

I don't mean to be lazy but I'm working on a cruise ship and today it took me 24 minutes just to log in to the forum and this is why I can't really look around and google stuff to get informations (so I'm posting eventually silly questions in here).

I'm not needing a bd drive and upgrading the pcie I would feel I will "trash" the 256 gb pcie I already have....and I do prefer to trash (I'll actually really trash it) the bd drive.

I prefer to have 256 gb of extra space in pcie than a bd drive.

This are the actual spec of the laptop:

17.3" IPS FHD Screen w/ G-SYNC Hardware Technology.
NVIDIA GeForce GTX980M 4G GDDR5 Graphics w/ G-SYNC.
Intel Core i7-4720HQ 2.6 GHz (turbo to 3.6GHz). 24 GB RAM.
1 TB 7200 RPM Hard Drive + 256 GB PCIEG2 Solid-State Drive.
Dual Band 802.11 A/C. 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet.
4x USB 3.0, 1x Thunderbolt port, 1x HDMI, 1x VGA/Mini D-sub 15-pin, 1x SPDIF, 1x Headphone-out, 1x Mic-in.
Blu-Ray RW & DL DVD-RW Combo Drive. SDXC Card Reader.
Free Windows 10 Upgrade

The last question before I'll go shopping :)

So, I'll put the 1 Tb hdd in the caddy and put the caddy in the bd drive slot.

I'll then put the ssd http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-75E500B-AM/dp/B00OBRE5UE/ref=sr_1_2?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1442640366&sr=1-2&keywords=850+evo in the place where the hdd is right now.

This is my plan.

Will the ssd perfectly fit the place or will I need to buy some bracket or other stuff to don't let him move around (I travel a lot for work so the laptop will be under a lot of little vibrations)?

Before I'll buy things from amazon will it be suggested to open the laptop and check if everything is ok ... I mean...is it possible that some models (maybe mine) has hard drive or bd drive that are impossible to be removed (glued, solded, fixed in whatever way that can't be remove)? Or all the model all more or less the same and I can just buy the things and being sure they'll be ok for my laptop?

I never replaced or opened a laptop...assembled a lot of pc though (but many years ago)...any particular precaution to be taken? Any guide to read? or is it quite straight forward operation?

Thank you for your patience.

To provide more details...this is my laptop http://www.amazon.com/G751JY-DB72-17-3-Inch-Gaming-GeForce-Graphics/dp/B00YR6BNVS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442689777&sr=8-1&keywords=asus+g751jy

Cheers,
Max :)

aeolisio
09-20-2015, 01:40 AM
Thank you very much for all the patience you have following my questions.

I don't mean to be lazy but I'm working on a cruise ship and today it took me 24 minutes just to log in to the forum and this is why I can't really look around and google stuff to get informations (so I'm posting eventually silly questions in here).

I'm not needing a bd drive and upgrading the pcie I would feel I will "trash" the 256 gb pcie I already have....and I do prefer to trash (I'll actually really trash it) the bd drive.

I prefer to have 256 gb of extra space in pcie than a bd drive.

This are the actual spec of the laptop:

17.3" IPS FHD Screen w/ G-SYNC Hardware Technology.
NVIDIA GeForce GTX980M 4G GDDR5 Graphics w/ G-SYNC.
Intel Core i7-4720HQ 2.6 GHz (turbo to 3.6GHz). 24 GB RAM.
1 TB 7200 RPM Hard Drive + 256 GB PCIEG2 Solid-State Drive.
Dual Band 802.11 A/C. 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet.
4x USB 3.0, 1x Thunderbolt port, 1x HDMI, 1x VGA/Mini D-sub 15-pin, 1x SPDIF, 1x Headphone-out, 1x Mic-in.
Blu-Ray RW & DL DVD-RW Combo Drive. SDXC Card Reader.
Free Windows 10 Upgrade

The last question before I'll go shopping :)

So, I'll put the 1 Tb hdd in the caddy and put the caddy in the bd drive slot.

I'll then put the ssd http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-2-5-Inch-Internal-MZ-75E500B-AM/dp/B00OBRE5UE/ref=sr_1_2?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1442640366&sr=1-2&keywords=850+evo in the place where the hdd is right now.

This is my plan.

Will the ssd perfectly fit the place or will I need to buy some bracket or other stuff to don't let him move around (I travel a lot for work so the laptop will be under a lot of little vibrations)?

Before I'll buy things from amazon will it be suggested to open the laptop and check if everything is ok ... I mean...is it possible that some models (maybe mine) has hard drive or bd drive that are impossible to be removed (glued, solded, fixed in whatever way that can't be remove)? Or all the model all more or less the same and I can just buy the things and being sure they'll be ok for my laptop?

I never replaced or opened a laptop...assembled a lot of pc though (but many years ago)...any particular precaution to be taken? Any guide to read? or is it quite straight forward operation?

Thank you for your patience.

To provide more details...this is my laptop http://www.amazon.com/G751JY-DB72-17-3-Inch-Gaming-GeForce-Graphics/dp/B00YR6BNVS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442689777&sr=8-1&keywords=asus+g751jy

Cheers,
Max :)
You could sell your existing xp941 for near original value on ebay just like the optical bay you remove but ok.
You literally remove one screw to take out the optical bay remove 4 screws of the hdd caddy and 4 more to remove the drive from that caddy then place the hdd in it and mount with the screws it SHOULD come with but may not since your using amazon not ebay you wont get an answer from the seller as to if it includes screws. You will need a small screw driver.
If you dont have one
http://www.amazon.com/Boxer-Pcs-Precision-Screwdriver-PK30/dp/B000FGQ1G6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442712974&sr=8-1&keywords=boxer+screwdriver

Screws if they dont come with the optical caddy
http://www.amazon.com/Mcsher-Notebook-SAMSUNG-Toshiba-Gateway/dp/B011EFAB8K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442712971&sr=8-1&keywords=laptop+screws

Then place your ssd in the old caddy with the same 4 screws you removed and mount it to the laptop with the same 4 screws you removed.
No g751 models have a glued drive or anything like that they are always user replaceable. Before you do any of that ground yourself and place it on a non conductive table just for safety but most people dont bother. Its one screw under the rubber triangle to remove the bottom cover.
http://www.laptopultra.com/guide/asus-rog-g751-disassembly/

deccauk
09-20-2015, 12:23 PM
I've got a caddy for the optical bay and put the 1Tb drive in it (and put an SSD where the 1Tb drive was).

It's definitely Sata 2 on my 1 year old G571JY and the speed is perfectly fine - normal Sata 2 speeds - so well worth doing.

Incidentally, I've got 4 drives in my machine now. The left side bay has the blisteringly quick Samsung PCIe 256Gb drive, and the unused Sata port on that same side has a Samsung 500Gb EVO SSD with the cover removed. This also runs at full Sata 3 speed.

xXNEMESIXx
09-20-2015, 09:57 PM
You could sell your existing xp941 for near original value on ebay just like the optical bay you remove but ok.
You literally remove one screw to take out the optical bay remove 4 screws of the hdd caddy and 4 more to remove the drive from that caddy then place the hdd in it and mount with the screws it SHOULD come with but may not since your using amazon not ebay you wont get an answer from the seller as to if it includes screws. You will need a small screw driver.
If you dont have one
http://www.amazon.com/Boxer-Pcs-Precision-Screwdriver-PK30/dp/B000FGQ1G6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442712974&sr=8-1&keywords=boxer+screwdriver

Screws if they dont come with the optical caddy
http://www.amazon.com/Mcsher-Notebook-SAMSUNG-Toshiba-Gateway/dp/B011EFAB8K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1442712971&sr=8-1&keywords=laptop+screws

Then place your ssd in the old caddy with the same 4 screws you removed and mount it to the laptop with the same 4 screws you removed.
No g751 models have a glued drive or anything like that they are always user replaceable. Before you do any of that ground yourself and place it on a non conductive table just for safety but most people dont bother. Its one screw under the rubber triangle to remove the bottom cover.
http://www.laptopultra.com/guide/asus-rog-g751-disassembly/

First of all I would like to thank you for all the detailed informations and for the patience in explaining me everything is such a detailed way.

I was so close to buy the evo but then some problems arose and I'll need to wait until tomorrow to do so.

Speaking with a friend of mine he highly recommended me to choose an hybrid drive, way cheaper and good enough for gaming.

I do have then 2 more questions:
1) do you agree that performance are somehow close to a real ssd, considering that I'll the hard drive just got games (and I'm still shocked that a regular 7200rpm is not fast enough, at least for my taste, I hate micro loading stuff)

2) is this drive compatible with my laptop
http://www.seagate.com/internal-hard-drives/solid-state-hybrid/laptop-solid-state-hybrid-drive/ (I think I need the 9.5mm but please correct me if I'm wrong).

Thank you for your help and time).

Cheers,
Max

NeoBeum
09-24-2015, 09:00 AM
The Seagate SSHD will work with the G751. I pulled one of mine out from my G73 to test.

You'll still need a 9.5 mm caddy if you're going to put it into the Optical bay.

The side panel for the G751 cover will get in the wayif you're trying to slide a 12mm caddy in, and if you try to install a 12mm caddy with the covers pulled off, it will sit slightly too high to enclose the keyboard assembly.



(I did a dodgy work around while I was waiting for thinner caddys to arrive, I ran some mSATA extensions out of the laptop, and connected it to the replacement hard drive I had sitting on the desk.... I had a Frankenstein G751 for a couple weeks.)

NeoBeum
09-24-2015, 09:09 AM
Oh, I ended up grabbing a second Hitachi 7200 and running that in Raid with the OEM Hitachi 7200 drive that was in the laptop already.

You might find that if you run lots of different programs, the Solid State portion of the SSHD might not work as well as you imagine.
If you use one program regularly, then the hard drive will move that program to the solid state portion.
Otherwise - it'll still read from the rotating disks.


I've been waiting for aelosio's M2 bracket to arrive so I can fiddle around with having 2 SSDs in the expansion bay... it came today... so now I just need to go shopping for a M2 SSD.