PDA

View Full Version : G751JY Sleep problem with Windows 10



deccauk
09-19-2015, 07:45 PM
Has anyone who has upgraded their machine to Windows 10 got sleep mode working properly?

Mine seems to do a full restart when coming out of sleep.

Alex_____
09-19-2015, 08:51 PM
I'm was also having the same problem so i did a clean install and upgrade the bios to 210, but is still not working properly, but mine is the G751JT. :P

Gps3dx
09-19-2015, 09:10 PM
I know about a frustrating BUG that the intel WiFi card causes to the windows sleep procedure:
when the "Wake on Wlan" is enabled, coming from sleep takes like 5 min, and during that time you see black screen while the hdd ( by looking at the led near the touchpad ) works intensively.
if you disable that feature in the adapter settings of the wifi card - problem solved.

I'm also on BIOS 210 on my G751JT, but I use Win 10 THAT WAS INSTALLED FROM SCRATCH/CLEAN i.e after a format.
so, beside that intel wifi WOW bug - sleep working just fine.
beside my obvious advise to INSTALL WINDOWS 10 FROM SCRATCH ( i.e CLEAN INSTALL ) after you've made the upgrade, I can advise you to make sure you've installed intel INF driver by running the setup as admin + running it through the command: SetupChipset.exe -overall. ( you perform it by creating a shortcut to the exe, then configure the link with the above demands )
it might be better to perform this INF driver procedure, while the INTERNET CONNECTION ( through LAN/WIFI ) is turned OFF ( i.e flight-mode ) - this is advisable because windows 10 reinstall any device with their own ( MS ) driver immediately after reboot, from the internet, which is CRAP to have on core-system-devices like the "intel 8 serie", the "AHCI controller", etc..etc...

aeolisio
09-20-2015, 01:17 AM
I know about a frustrating BUG that the intel WiFi card causes to the windows sleep procedure:
when the "Wake on Wlan" is enabled, coming from sleep takes like 5 min, and during that time you see black screen while the hdd ( by looking at the led near the touchpad ) works intensively.
if you disable that feature in the adapter settings of the wifi card - problem solved.

I'm also on BIOS 210 on my G751JT, but I use Win 10 THAT WAS INSTALLED FROM SCRATCH/CLEAN i.e after a format.
so, beside that intel wifi WOW bug - sleep working just fine.
beside my obvious advise to INSTALL WINDOWS 10 FROM SCRATCH ( i.e CLEAN INSTALL ) after you've made the upgrade, I can advise you to make sure you've installed intel INF driver by running the setup as admin + running it through the command: SetupChipset.exe -overall. ( you perform it by creating a shortcut to the exe, then configure the link with the above demands )
it might be better to perform this INF driver procedure, while the INTERNET CONNECTION ( through LAN/WIFI ) is turned OFF ( i.e flight-mode ) - this is advisable because windows 10 reinstall any device with their own ( MS ) driver immediately after reboot, from the internet, which is CRAP to have on core-system-devices like the "intel 8 serie", the "AHCI controller", etc..etc...
Finally someone else on the clean install win 10 it to fix your issues boat. Its nice to not be the only one saying it anymore. Thank you

Gps3dx
09-20-2015, 01:31 AM
Finally someone else on the clean install win 10 it to fix your issues boat. Its nice to not be the only one saying it anymore. Thank you
:rolleyes::) BIG HIGH-FIVE... and one big hit on MS's head !
upgrading to windows 10 is a catastrophe - how come freaking MS doesn't offer product-key upgrade withOUT the need to upgrade the OS itself !?
I got like 5-6 genuine windows 7,8,8.1 which aren't installed on any computer - and if I don't install them till September 29th 2016, I just can't upgrade them to be Win10 product key for free !

Anyway @aeolisio, et-al... there is a method to CLEAN INSTALL+UPGRADE your existing OS (7 SP1 / 8.1 ) to Win 10 WITHOUT THE NEED TO Actually perform the time-wasting official upgrade process....
What I mean is, that there a way to "save" your OS product-key info -> format OS drive -> install Win 10 from scratch -> restore & upgrade the genuine OS product key - So - NO NEED TO GO THROUGH THE win7/8.1 ->win10 UPGRADE official procedure.
READ HERE FOR MORE DETAILS. (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/64770-How-to-upgrade-from-W7-8-1-without-to-go-through-the-upgrade-process-itself-with-ease)

P.S - that source forum has better knowledge on windows then the genius MS corporation.
I tried that method myself - it works.

rogyajota
09-20-2015, 06:02 AM
I have G751JY which just got out of box 2 days ago, upgraded to windows 10 and I have the same problem. But it did not bother me that much since it only takes seconds to boot up and login til I read this post and now it feels annoying as hell lol

rogyajota
09-20-2015, 06:05 AM
So it seems like doing a clean install is the ONLY way to solve this issue? crap I knew I shouldve done it before I transfer my backup files but just then I got lazy and so did not do the clean install :( not its gonna be a pain in the ass to do it all over

deccauk
09-20-2015, 07:33 AM
If a clean install solves it, it should also be solvable for an upgrade - just a question of finding out which drivers to update or revert.

I've tried an update on most of my drivers (via device manager) and some did indeed do an update (most said that you have the latest) but it did not solve the problem.

Good to know at least that it is a software issue and not a hardware issue.

deccauk
09-20-2015, 12:10 PM
OK - how about this then - I just did a clean install of windows 10 and sleep did NOT work.

I proceeded to install all the G751 drivers from the Asus web site one by one, testing the sleep function as I went. At no point during this process did sleep work as it should, so for all those folks who claim it works for them, are you sure?

Bear in mind that this machine boots up very quickly, but returning from sleep should go straight to the desktop - no spinning wheel, no windows logo, no logon screen - nothing.

Gps3dx
09-20-2015, 01:48 PM
OK - how about this then - I just did a clean install of windows 10 and sleep did NOT work.

I proceeded to install all the G751 drivers from the Asus web site one by one, testing the sleep function as I went. At no point during this process did sleep work as it should, so for all those folks who claim it works for them, are you sure?

Bear in mind that this machine boots up very quickly, but returning from sleep should go straight to the desktop - no spinning wheel, no windows logo, no logon screen - nothing.

Have you disabled hibernation ? (http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2859-hibernate-enable-disable-windows-10-a.html)
Have you updated the intel INF drivers with "-overall" switch & admin privileges while installing ?
What BIOS are you currently using ?
what Windows version are you using ? ( home/pro/etc.. )

deccauk
09-20-2015, 02:15 PM
More info - I just did a clean install of windows 8.1 and sleep doesn't work there either.

I now do not think this machine supports sleep. All you folks who think you are sleeping are I suspect hibernating - not the same thing at all.

Try this then - disable hibernation, then come back and tell me that sleep still works!

Gps3dx
09-20-2015, 04:06 PM
If a clean install solves it, it should also be solvable for an upgrade - just a question of finding out which drivers to update or revert.
From my experience... upgrading is SH** every time, no mater what...
Goodluck with trying to "fix" already broken OS ( win 10 after upgrade process ).
even if you'll run "SCF /scannow" it will return gazillion of errors ( if any... which is of course one big lie )
So formatting&clean installation is the most logic action to take if your time ( and nerves ) are precise to you.

don't forget to READ MY POST (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?76956-G751JY-Sleep-problem-with-Windows-10&p=538532&viewfull=1#post538532) regarding win7/8.1->win10 through ONLY clean installation of win10 WITHOUT upgrading first. ( so your product key will be win 10 genuine, but you only need to clean install instead of upgrading, and only then clean install )


More info - I just did a clean install of windows 8.1 and sleep doesn't work there either.
I now do not think this machine supports sleep. All you folks who think you are sleeping are I suspect hibernating - not the same thing at all.
Try this then - disable hibernation, then come back and tell me that sleep still works!

one can also check if the hibernation is off/on by looking at c: root folder for any hibernation.sys -> if exist -> hibernation enabled.
if I remember correctly ( as writen in wifipedia as well (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_mode#ACPI) ), on "PURE" win 8.1 ( also on any other previous OS versions i.e 7,8 ), i.e after clean install, sleep shouldn't work out-of-the-box because it missing some ACPI drivers which are being install with the ASUS ATK driver. ( which asus them-self call it "ATKACPI" ).

Plus, it is also a very HIGHLY RECOMMENDED that you install INTEL INF driver as well, as they provide support for multiple important system components/devices that relates one-way-or-the-other to the "sleep" functionality.
( download setupchipset.exe from intel site, create a shortcut, enable "run as admin" and add to the "Target" a switch "-overall" so it looks like "setupchipet.exe -overall".

last but not least, make sure in the BIOS under "advanced" tab that "power off energy saving" is DISABLED and that "wake on lid open" is ENABLED.

P.S my advise, stop thinking that windows is the perfect OS out-of-the-box.... it's just not.

xdr
09-20-2015, 04:43 PM
Flash the latest 209 BIOS. If you already have 209, then re-fla****. It will solve the sleep problems.

deccauk
09-20-2015, 06:00 PM
To Gps3dx - I tried your "setupchipet.exe -overall" tip. A complete waste of time - no difference at all. In fact, all your ramblings about needing to do a clean install should be taken with a giant pinch of salt.

My W10 upgrade has been performing flawlessly.

As to your other suggestions for getting sleep to work - forget it...

... because...

...a huge thanks to XDR - upgrading to BIOS 209 SOLVES THE PROBLEM!

Sleep now works as it should - many thanks to you!

Gps3dx
09-20-2015, 06:47 PM
Glad it worked up for you...
Now we have a record that ASUS bios's can F**K someone's G751.

About intel INF... I wrote it only "might" help... I know that relaying on MS to supply the BEST FAST response drivers - is a waste of time.( they might be stable though... but there are cases which the opposite is true.

about win 10 upgrade being "flawlessly"... it's ok to have a diffrent opinion the mine...
in the last ~20 computer's i've upgrade... it caused me only frustration and headaches.
are you sure though, your "sfc /scannow" return with 0 errors ?
what about "left overs" from previous windows version ? are you sure you've clean any last piece of info left from the last OS ?

xdr
09-20-2015, 06:56 PM
Actually it's not ASUS to blame here.
I noticed the "sleeping"problem when I installed W10 Tech preview as adual boot on my G715JY. Since then my windows 8.1 had a lot of problems going to sleep. I ended up formatting the SSD and re-installing W8.1 with no effect.
Just by chance I upgraded to a newer BIOS and fixed my problem ( I upgraded from 206 to 207).

I strongly believe that W10 makes some modifications in the UEFI settings and screws the sleep functions. Through upgrade/reflash the UEFI is re-written with the correct data and.... it just works.

Anyway, glad I could help.

deccauk
09-20-2015, 09:10 PM
sfc /scannow found no integrity violations, so all is good. Must have been a tidy upgrade. Perhaps MS have refined their W10 upgrade - it was only done last week.

Karimkassan
12-20-2015, 02:08 PM
Has anyone who has upgraded their machine to Windows 10 got sleep mode working properly?

Mine seems to do a full restart when coming out of sleep.

I found a solution :D.
Just re-install the same bios ver you have.
How:
install winflash open cmd as admin, copy the winflash path and past it to the cmd then write:
" /nodate"(there is space).
then winflash will open choose the bios file you have (mine .207 assus rog g551).
then flash and everything will work fine .
Thanks.

Gps3dx
12-21-2015, 04:28 PM
I found a solution :D.
Just re-install the same bios ver you have.
How:
install winflash open cmd as admin, copy the winflash path and past it to the cmd then write:
" /nodate"(there is space).
then winflash will open choose the bios file you have (mine .207 assus rog g551).
then flash and everything will work fine .
Thanks.


doesn't make sense...windows nor any other OS, does NOT touch the bios, which is flashed on a little "bug"/chip which is located on the motherboard.
if you flash the same bios - all you do ( if at all, cause it not true in some cases ) is reseting the bios configuration...

other way to think about that is to say because I had A I had problems... so the solution is to take A out and put in back in-> it for sure will solve the problem... ( i'm very cynical here of course )
the only thing we can learn here is that its not bios version depended, but configuration depended.

Although it DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE, even TO ME - I confirm that re-flashing SAME BIOS VERSION - solves the sleep issue...
Now sleep&wake ( WITHOUT restart ) works through the sleep button and keyboard wake and through close/open of the lid.
( I had BIOS 210 installed on my G751JT and reinstallation of SAME bios file - solved it)

EDIT: some new insites... it's a theory so far:
Do you ppl with G751J - whom got this wake issue & BEFORE the REFLASHING OF BIOS:
Do you have "Unknown USB Device (Device Failed Enumeration)" under USB tree in the Device Manager ???
Can you please check to see if this "item" GONE AFTER the bios reflashing ????

xdr
12-21-2015, 07:13 PM
It makes perfect sense.
Read here (https://www.happyassassin.net/2014/01/25/uefi-boot-how-does-that-actually-work-then/). It's explained very well.
Long story short: UEFI bios works with firmware AND EFI partition ( a FAT32 partition that resides on your primary/boot hdd).
All OSes have access to this EFI partition and settings to fiddle around and change stuff (like boot order, etc).
Part of W10 install process is to modify the settings in the EFI partition.
By re-flashing, you re-write the firmware on the motherboard AND set the defaults in the EFI partition > solving what MS screwed.

Gps3dx
12-21-2015, 09:07 PM
It makes perfect sense.
Read here (https://www.happyassassin.net/2014/01/25/uefi-boot-how-does-that-actually-work-then/). It's explained very well.
Long story short: UEFI bios works with firmware AND EFI partition ( a FAT32 partition that resides on your primary/boot hdd).
All OSes have access to this EFI partition and settings to fiddle around and change stuff (like boot order, etc).
Part of W10 install process is to modify the settings in the EFI partition.
By re-flashing, you re-write the firmware on the motherboard AND set the defaults in the EFI partition > solving what MS screwed.
interesting.. this is correct that the boot files has interaction with the UEFI - BUT UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES, NO OS CHANGES THE "UEFI"/BIOS WHICH ARE FLASH ON A BUG FOUND ON THE MOTHERBOARD.
now... from what you've said - MS stupidly decided ( in my opinion its happening after some windows updates ) to mass with the BCD file found on the EFI partition.
I took a look on my EFI partition's files ( it's fat32 after all... so with the right tool ( NOT disk managment ) you can explorer its content )
and the BCD file is the only one that was changed today (attched image...all the unopened folder are old language related files)( I flashed my G751JT today 21.12.15 ~18:18 attached proof from log viewer ) BUT note that the BCD file was changed AFTER, long after the reflashing procedure itself !

I'm going to try to understand what are the changes MS/windows automatically made to the BCD vs the BCD right after the bios reflashing ( by running portable OS right after the reflashing - without letting my current permanent windows 10 to run, even not once )

To conclude - what is sure for me at this point is that this issue is NOT "BIOS" problem - so not the bios version nor asus are to blam ( in this case ) - and there might be a was to solve it by using some apps on windows ( I.E BCD editors... ) - WITHOUT the need to perform bios flashing procedure - which is a *dangerous* act in itself MORE then any windows software manipulation of the BCD file.

EDIT:
WHAT I'M MISSING TO FIGURE THIS OUT IS A BCD FILE FROM G751 USERS WHO IS CURRENTLY SUFFERING FROM THE WAKE ISSUE ( BCD FILE IS FOUND ON THE EFI PARTITION UNDER \Efi\Microsoft\Boot )
One can get this file if he/she can dual boot to another OS - or use any portable OS like ubunbu ( under windows you don't have permissions to even "explorer view" this partition )

Also the following MS forum might holds the answer to the BCD problem. (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_vista-performance/getting-windows-resume-loader-errorsystem-went/b0aa493e-62b7-4fd7-8453-9e82b0077650)

5423754238

Gps3dx
12-21-2015, 10:33 PM
IF ANYONE IS THERE STIL WITH THE PROBLEM -> I NEED YOUR HELP !!!
BUT ONLY IF DID NOT REFLASH YOUR LAPTOP AND STILL EXPERIENCING THE WAKE FROM SLEEP REBOOT ISSUE !!!!
I need your BCD file which sits on a hidden partition, under \EFI\Microsoft\Boot

Inorder to has access to this partition please perform the following commands inside CMD with admis prevleges:


First open an elevated command prompt and give the EFI partition a drive letter

diskpart
list partition
select partition x:
assign letter=b
exit

(Where x: is the number of the partition listed by the list partition command and b is the driveletter you wish to assign to the EFI partition)
Now kill the File Explorer process and start it with administrative privileges:

taskkill /im explorer.exe /f
explorer.exe

SOURCE with images: HERE (http://superuser.com/questions/662823/how-do-i-mount-the-efi-partition-on-windows-8-1-so-that-it-is-readable-and-write)

once you have this file, ONLY COPY IT to another place - BUT DO NOT CHANGE THE ORIGINAL !
Then please upload the file here.

Once you've finished - and want to hide back this partition open CMD same as before and:


diskpart
select partition x:
remote letter=b
exit
(Where x: is the number of the partition listed by the list partition command and b is the driveletter you wish to assign to the EFI partition)
Now kill the File Explorer process and start it with administrative privileges)


WHY all of that ?
I about 99% sure the problem with the wake-sleep issue is with this file being partially corrupt !

Stormvision
01-28-2016, 04:06 PM
Hello Gps3dx,

I've had the same issue on my Asus N751JK a few days ago, but unfortunately I already reflashed my BIOS.

However, in my case, the issue did not happen immediately after Windows 10 upgrade, so maybe this can be useful:

- I upgraded from Win 8.1 to Win 10 two months ago
- All was working fine (Sleep, Hybernate and Shutdown)
- Starting from a few days ago, I noticed two issues that may be related: blue screens when working (with the warning KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_ERROR)
and the malfunction of the Sleep mode (full restart when coming out of Sleep). Both had never happened before.
- I solved the Sleep problem by reflashing the latest BIOS available for my notebook (205).
- I solved the blue screen by downgrading NVIDIA drivers for my graphic card (version 361.43 has bugs).

I think that the blue screens and forced system restart may have corrupted the BCD, leading to the Sleep problem. I also checked for any Windows new Updates or new software installed before the issue, but I couldn't find any (apart from NVIDIA drivers).
Before finding the solution I also run Windows Driver Verifier a couple of times, finding issues with 000.fcl (from PowerDVD, that I updated fight after) and with a driver from Avira Antivirus, but then I stopped running the Verifier (it seems that it crashes with almost every driver, and I don't know if it helps).

ATR-42
01-28-2016, 04:30 PM
strange... i did a clean install of win10 and sleep / wake up functions are okay...

diogogmaio
01-28-2016, 04:34 PM
my god guys...so much trouble...i had the same problem...you don't need to reinstall nothing...
If you have BIOS 211 already install it again...nothing more...
Use the command /nodate....

Jesus christ so many spam and the solution is easy...
If you only reinstall and stuff when you update any intel driver you will have the problem again...

YOU ONLY NEED TO FLASH BIOS AGAIN...

Gps3dx
01-28-2016, 07:35 PM
interesting.. this is correct that the boot files has interaction with the UEFI - BUT UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES, NO OS CHANGES THE "UEFI"/BIOS WHICH ARE FLASH ON A BUG FOUND ON THE MOTHERBOARD.
now... from what you've said - MS stupidly decided ( in my opinion its happening after some windows updates ) to mass with the BCD file found on the EFI partition.
I took a look on my EFI partition's files ( it's fat32 after all... so with the right tool ( NOT disk managment ) you can explorer its content )
and the BCD file is the only one that was changed today (attched image...all the unopened folder are old language related files)( I flashed my G751JT today 21.12.15 ~18:18 attached proof from log viewer ) BUT note that the BCD file was changed AFTER, long after the reflashing procedure itself !

I'm going to try to understand what are the changes MS/windows automatically made to the BCD vs the BCD right after the bios reflashing ( by running portable OS right after the reflashing - without letting my current permanent windows 10 to run, even not once )

To conclude - what is sure for me at this point is that this issue is NOT "BIOS" problem - so not the bios version nor asus are to blam ( in this case ) - and there might be a was to solve it by using some apps on windows ( I.E BCD editors... ) - WITHOUT the need to perform bios flashing procedure - which is a *dangerous* act in itself MORE then any windows software manipulation of the BCD file.

EDIT:
WHAT I'M MISSING TO FIGURE THIS OUT IS A BCD FILE FROM G751 USERS WHO IS CURRENTLY SUFFERING FROM THE WAKE ISSUE ( BCD FILE IS FOUND ON THE EFI PARTITION UNDER \Efi\Microsoft\Boot )
One can get this file if he/she can dual boot to another OS - or use any portable OS like ubunbu ( under windows you don't have permissions to even "explorer view" this partition )

Also the following MS forum might holds the answer to the BCD problem. (http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_vista-performance/getting-windows-resume-loader-errorsystem-went/b0aa493e-62b7-4fd7-8453-9e82b0077650)


IF ANYONE IS THERE STIL WITH THE PROBLEM -> I NEED YOUR HELP !!!
BUT ONLY IF DID NOT REFLASH YOUR LAPTOP AND STILL EXPERIENCING THE WAKE FROM SLEEP REBOOT ISSUE !!!!
I need your BCD file which sits on a hidden partition, under \EFI\Microsoft\Boot

Inorder to has access to this partition please perform the following commands inside CMD with admis prevleges:

SOURCE with images: HERE (http://superuser.com/questions/662823/how-do-i-mount-the-efi-partition-on-windows-8-1-so-that-it-is-readable-and-write)

once you have this file, ONLY COPY IT to another place - BUT DO NOT CHANGE THE ORIGINAL !
Then please upload the file here.

Once you've finished - and want to hide back this partition open CMD same as before and:


WHY all of that ?
I about 99% sure the problem with the wake-sleep issue is with this file being partially corrupt !


my god guys...so much trouble...i had the same problem...you don't need to reinstall nothing...
If you have BIOS 211 already install it again...nothing more...
Use the command /nodate....

Jesus christ so many spam and the solution is easy...
If you only reinstall and stuff when you update any intel driver you will have the problem again...

YOU ONLY NEED TO FLASH BIOS AGAIN...

@diogogmaio - Thank you very much for this "kind" words, as this really does indeed raise my moral to keep helping the community.

let say you're ill, and you got chronic headaches... wouldn't you want to find out the source for the problem, instead of only taking pain-killers ?
of cause the pain-killers can allegedly "solve" your problem... but in the long run.. not that sure it's a good thing.
flashing bios has the same "risks" as the "pain-killers"... it can hurt you at somepoint - and it does NOT solve the issue at the lowest level - it just "fixes" your symptoms.

Thus, if someone could help US, the community, by sending me their BCD file BEFORE REFLASHING the bios, i.e while still experiencing this "wake from sleep issue -> I'm certain I can pin down the source of the problem.
Again, BCD editing is safer then bios flashing, and has the same "danger" as editing existing txt file on your PC, an operation each of us performing each day !

now... I hope some "saint" could help us here... otherwise, the ROG community loses another small but critical knowledge.

diogogmaio
01-28-2016, 10:36 PM
Love you too by the way...

Painkillers?! BIOS 211 specific says " To fix system hanging issue (code 0x72) ". ASUS support replied to me and said that specific...to flash again!! And it was 5 months ago...not even any problem from that point on...

Just to clarify...OLD BIOS or SAME BIOS with a new Windows Update will have problems with the device manager (AKA wireless card/no sleep issue).
Because BioS have to override the info from the new windows build which mess with Intel Chipset Info and THEREFORE with the wireless card.

So...in conclusion...not painkillers but a small cure until newest build from Windows... Asus Support said that BIOS 211 fixes the problem but for me I think in a new build we will have the same issue.

By that time...or there is a new bios or just flash it again.

Sorry but i don't think Asus Support is something I should not listen to...

In the end...humm...this is an ASUS equipment right?! If you want to try to find the root cause I agree with your sugestion but don't try to mislead saying that my / ASUS support solution doesn't work...my PC is the proof.

of cause the pain-killers can allegedly "solve" your problem... but in the long run.. not that sure it's a good thing.
flashing bios has the same "risks" as the "pain-killers"... it can hurt you at somepoint - and it does NOT solve the issue at the lowest level - it just "fixes" your symptoms ---> priceless! love it!

Gps3dx
01-28-2016, 11:32 PM
Love you too by the way...
yep... that too really really rise my moral to keep help others in that forum....very... very good job here.


BIOS 211 specific says " To fix system hanging issue (code 0x72)
i'm ready to learn more about the subject.
Can you please share with us screenshot of the codes of the BSOD you had, by running BlueScreenView (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html) and makin sure that the "bug check code" tab is clearly shown ?


OLD BIOS or SAME BIOS with a new Windows Update will have problems with the device manager
so now I'm confused... you claim that the "wake-from-sleep" issue is caused by "windows update" ???
Therefore, you claim that the root cause of the problem is some file/s that sits on the boot drive ( hdd/ssd where windows is installed ) and NOT the BIOS it self being/getting corrupt.
hmm... interesting... maybe you should tell asus to get intouch with MS to solve this together ???
So theoretically, MS or ASUS can release some tool that fixes that problem ( AFAIK it i with the BCD files that sits on the EFI partition, i.e the boot partition ) without talking the risk of flashing the BIOS chip, which you already agree with me that it is a dangerous operation.

now... don't get me wrong... I think that you should channel all of your anger toward asus and MS...
it's just shame that when other users in our community try to help you, you take part of this anger, and completely cancel their chance to help even greater number of users by writing "so many spam".

I can tell from my bechlor degree experience that, if you think you know something - think again... there is always a new thing to learn about the same subject... even after you'll die.

Thus, in conclusion, it OK and even welcome that everyone will share their ideas/suggestions in this forum... but do so WITHOUT canceling other's ideas with a "wipe of hand".