PDA

View Full Version : Gl552 - okay to install different ram ( 4gb + 8gb )?



avo1921
10-31-2015, 07:50 PM
Hello everyone~
Just quick question:

slot 1: 4GB "Pre-installed"
slot 3: 8GB "Added"

Is this Okay? will it cause problem? should I remove the 4GB ram for stability issue?
Been using almost a week now, so far so good, no crash.

53388

navis995
11-01-2015, 12:54 AM
General rule is same sticks but different will do to.

It is RECOMMENDED not REQUIRED for them to be the same.

Edweird
11-01-2015, 12:08 PM
If you see any stability issues..yeah. Otherwise, it's fine. Any configuration of 4 and 8 is better than just 4.

They're gonna run in limited dual-channel, though, you'll have 4GB of memory that doesn't run at dual-channel speeds.

It should be faster, either way. Intel's newer chipsets are smart enough to figure any issues out automatically.