PDA

View Full Version : G751JL problem with external Monitor



maru321
11-20-2015, 07:17 PM
I recently bought a G751JL and upgraded it from windows 8 > windows 10. There was no problem at the start but after 1 week of using it with an external monitor connected . It sometimes changes my settings from (Display on 2nd monitor only ) to (Duplicate these displays) , after some minutes it will go back to my original settings and after some minutes it will happen again.

At first i was using a TV with 1368 x 768 resolution and it started happening, i changed it to my old monitor 1400 x 900 and it worked for a couple of days before it started again .

I already tried uninstalling the nvidia driver for the gtx 965m and re-installing it , and it only works for a day. Also installed the new update released today and its still happening.

Alt tabbing to change the settings from Duplicate display to external monitor display is already irritating.


Kindly give tips if you ever experienced this before. Also I tried playing only on the laptop display and there was no problem.

Puhrple
11-20-2015, 07:28 PM
I have kind of a samiliar problem.
What happens is, i connect my g751 to the tv with display only on the tv. The behavior of the laptop when closed is set to do nothing, but if i close it while streaming on the tv, the image on the tv frozes.

aeolisio
11-20-2015, 07:43 PM
I recently bought a G751JL and upgraded it from windows 8 > windows 10. There was no problem at the start but after 1 week of using it with an external monitor connected . It sometimes changes my settings from (Display on 2nd monitor only ) to (Duplicate these displays) , after some minutes it will go back to my original settings and after some minutes it will happen again.

At first i was using a TV with 1368 x 768 resolution and it started happening, i changed it to my old monitor 1400 x 900 and it worked for a couple of days before it started again .

I already tried uninstalling the nvidia driver for the gtx 965m and re-installing it , and it only works for a day. Also installed the new update released today and its still happening.

Alt tabbing to change the settings from Duplicate display to external monitor display is already irritating.


Kindly give tips if you ever experienced this before. Also I tried playing only on the laptop display and there was no problem.
I have seen that with poor quality HDMI and thunderbolt cords or cords of long length. Especially the monster branded cords. Just usually takes a better cord or shorter length to remedy.

maru321
11-20-2015, 07:58 PM
I have seen that with poor quality HDMI and thunderbolt cords or cords of long length. Especially the monster branded cords. Just usually takes a better cord or shorter length to remedy.

I never had problems before when I used it for my other laptop, also with the VGA monitor cable there was no problem. But i'll try to buy an extra hdmi and vga cable to test out your theory. thanks

maru321
11-20-2015, 07:59 PM
I have kind of a samiliar problem.
What happens is, i connect my g751 to the tv with display only on the tv. The behavior of the laptop when closed is set to do nothing, but if i close it while streaming on the tv, the image on the tv frozes.

yeah i have the same settings for the lid, i'll try closing the lid on my monitor and check if it happens again. also will try it on my tv if the same thing happens with you.

Korth
11-20-2015, 08:06 PM
Your G751JL supports HDMI 1.4.

Chances are your "low resolution" TV device supports HDMI 1.3/1.3b/1.3b1/1.3c, HDMI 1.3a, or even cheap-to-implement HDMI 1.2/1.2a.

Some of these HDMI revisions introduced different electrical or signalling characteristics, mixed standards are not always 100% intercompatible in practice (although they're supposed to be). You could try installing different drivers on your G751JL*, or installing upgraded firmware in your TV device, or interfacing the two HDMI plugs through another device (a cable box, disc player, or whatever) which internally unifies all inputs and outputs through a common remuxing/rescaling buffer.

Use the fewest and shortest HDMI 1.4-compliant cables you can get away with. My local Dollar Store sells good HDMI1.4 cables with gold-plated contacts, $1 for 1m/3ft, $2 for 2m/6ft. Forget that overpriced Monster stuff.

Early HDMI started off as a combination of DVI video + HD audio. Early driver implementations often merged video and audio in a sloppy quick-n-dirty fashion. HDMI didn't always work properly in Vista, Win7, and Win8 because new drivers kept reusing old code, it required multiple device-specific patches to get consistent HDMI video+audio. I wouldn't be surprised if the same old issues resurface in initial Win10 HDMI drivers, I would expect them to eventually be corrected.

* Try the Asus G751JL Win10-64 VGA Driver (http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/DriversForWin10/VGA/VGA_nVidia_Win10_64_VER1018135354.zip) and Audio Driver (http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/G751JL/Audio_Realtek_Win10_64_VER6017543.zip) first, if they don't work then try a recent NVidia GTX 965M Driver (http://www.geforce.com/drivers), if they still don't work then try Microsoft's DirectX and WHQL drivers from Windows Update. Software fixes are free while more hardware devices (and more HDMI cables) can cost money.

maru321
11-21-2015, 07:30 AM
Your G751JL supports HDMI 1.4.

Chances are your "low resolution" TV device supports HDMI 1.3/1.3b/1.3b1/1.3c, HDMI 1.3a, or even cheap-to-implement HDMI 1.2/1.2a.

Some of these HDMI revisions introduced different electrical or signalling characteristics, mixed standards are not always 100% intercompatible in practice (although they're supposed to be). You could try installing different drivers on your G751JL*, or installing upgraded firmware in your TV device, or interfacing the two HDMI plugs through another device (a cable box, disc player, or whatever) which internally unifies all inputs and outputs through a common remuxing/rescaling buffer.

Use the fewest and shortest HDMI 1.4-compliant cables you can get away with. My local Dollar Store sells good HDMI1.4 cables with gold-plated contacts, $1 for 1m/3ft, $2 for 2m/6ft. Forget that overpriced Monster stuff.

Early HDMI started off as a combination of DVI video + HD audio. Early driver implementations often merged video and audio in a sloppy quick-n-dirty fashion. HDMI didn't always work properly in Vista, Win7, and Win8 because new drivers kept reusing old code, it required multiple device-specific patches to get consistent HDMI video+audio. I wouldn't be surprised if the same old issues resurface in initial Win10 HDMI drivers, I would expect them to eventually be corrected.

* Try the Asus G751JL Win10-64 VGA Driver (http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/DriversForWin10/VGA/VGA_nVidia_Win10_64_VER1018135354.zip) and Audio Driver (http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/G751JL/Audio_Realtek_Win10_64_VER6017543.zip) first, if they don't work then try a recent NVidia GTX 965M Driver (http://www.geforce.com/drivers), if they still don't work then try Microsoft's DirectX and WHQL drivers from Windows Update. Software fixes are free while more hardware devices (and more HDMI cables) can cost money.


Thanks for the help. I will try to apply these things you mentioned , but i agree with the compatibility issue for these old models. The most irritating thing before was there was a lag everytime it switches from show monitor to duplicate settings vice versa in which case the compatibility issue kicks in. I managed to find a solution for the monitor but havent tried it on the tv, I disabled the vsync for the nvidia global settings and the games i'm running then closed the lid. After 5 hours of playing ( no screen tear whatsoever), I'm pretty sure this fixed the issue.

for the TV issue its all good. I'm okay with using the monitor and plugging in my other laptop to the tv. Thanks again for the suggestion and explanation.