PDA

View Full Version : Add ram broke thw warranty?



IceWizard
11-29-2015, 04:40 PM
If i add ram to Asus ROG Gl552vw, it will broke my warranty?

Thank you.

Corporal
11-29-2015, 04:54 PM
if you remove the added ram, and don't tell you had ever done it, the warranty will be restored ;)

IceWizard
11-29-2015, 05:50 PM
What do you mean?. I never remove it, i just want to add 8gb ddr4 ram.the warranty will be alright?

cuniac
11-29-2015, 06:38 PM
He means that If you change out the ram, but then at some point in time change it back to what it was when you got it. They would never know you did anything and the warranty would be intact. Just hang on to the original ram and put it back in the laptop if it ever needs to be serviced.

ColdNorthMenace
11-29-2015, 07:40 PM
I am pretty sure the site specifically states that anything accessible from the access panel does not negate your warranty, which in this case would include ram upgrades.

Clintlgm
11-29-2015, 09:13 PM
That would be correct

IceWizard
11-30-2015, 12:52 PM
Oh ok. Thank you! :D

Xploited Titan
11-30-2015, 01:13 PM
I am pretty sure the site specifically states that anything accessible from the access panel does not negate your warranty, which in this case would include ram upgrades.
Except that, if you want to fill the 3 free RAM slots (on the 4 available), you will need to open your laptop to add the third one.

Knowing that 1 or an uneven amount of RAM sticks doesn't allow dual channel to work, which is a very big performance boost, you will have to void warranty to add all the 3 sticks to fill all slots.

Which is sad and stupid.

Asus should mention that all 3 RAM slots are not accessible in the same way, and that installing the third one will void warranty.