PDA

View Full Version : ROG G751JY Thunderbolt connection busted?



gmorb
12-05-2015, 08:27 AM
Hi guys new to the forums let me start by saying i have been trying to find some answers to my question through google and forum searches and have not found any I hope you guys can help.

So I recently connected my laptop to my TV through HDMI everything worked fine but only problem is that HDMI does not output anything higher than 60Hertz. I did some digging and found a post stating that you can only achieve a higher refresh rate through the mini display port. So then i went ahead and bought a Mini Display to HDMI cable rated for up to 4K resolution nothing happened my tv detects an hdmi cable connected but the laptop does not detect anything connected through the Mini Display(ThunderBolt) Port. I figured since its rated for 4K maybe one rated at 1080p would work but still nothing last resort was just buying the Mini Display Port to HDMI adapter and still nothing.

So is there something im doing wrong are the cables defective or not compatible are drivers not installed correctly I even reinstalled the thunderbolt software yet nothing. Even went into BIOS and set thunderbolt to DP++ only.

What can be done I really hope its user error and not a defective laptop i would hate to have to RMA.

cuniac
12-05-2015, 06:50 PM
Well, first off HDMI will only push up to 60fps. Mini to hdmi is still ending in hdmi. If you have a monitor that does higher than 60fps you need to use a mini to mini or mini to display port as right now display port is the only connector that can push higher than 60. It can do 144 up to 2k and 4K at 60. If you have a TV it will only get 60 from external connections. This is because TVs lie. A tv may say it can do 120/240 or even 480, but it's just using advanced software to predict the next frame. Sure it may be showing something at 480 but it's the software making that happen. The highest FPS you can get is 144 from a monitor that says it can do 144hz Over display port. HDMI 2.0 I think can do 4K at 60, so if your getting that your all set.

As for your port not working, I would call asus

gmorb
12-07-2015, 07:43 PM
Thanks for the clarification. I will have to call asus hopefully something gets resolved.

blastashes
12-08-2015, 01:19 AM
another thing you can do is if you have a smart t.v. you could also just stream the movie or video or w/e your trying to watch to the t.v. itself rather than hooking up a cable,
this of course would require good internet.