PDA

View Full Version : G751JY bios update to 211, anyone have the same experience?



Mublur
12-06-2015, 12:07 PM
I've updated my G751JY bios numerous times in the bios easyflash tool without a problem.

Now i updated to 211 without a problem (erased, programmed and verified, shutdown). When i restarted it, it was bricked in the boot loop.

I put the 211 bios as G751JY.BIN on usb and booted with ctrl+home, and the computer reflashed the bios, but it's still bricked.

Then i tried the older 208 bios i had, but reflashing back to it didn't help either.

Does anyone know if the G751JY.BIN that everyone is referring to is somehow different from ordinary update files? Also - where can I get that one in case it's the only one capable of unbricking my laptop? I did not find it on the hdd

EDIT: Forgot to add that I have searched for other threads with similar problems - i was just curious if ANYONE has got their bios fixed with the original BIN file? Seems like everyone has just sent theirs to service and got their mobo replaced

Mublur
12-06-2015, 04:07 PM
SOLVED:

Here is m solution if this would be useful for someone else:

I removed both ssd's, installed another which was empty except just for the bios update. I ran the 211 update from the ssd and the machine came to life again

so - beware! i used three different usb sticks in updating at first with different ports - and the sticks were of good quality (i avoid cheap usb memory sticks)

Dunno how it is possible that the usb update crapped out - i checked the SHA on both the hdd file and usb file and they were identical

nevertheless - beware of updating through usb!

fidelity101
12-06-2015, 06:42 PM
Glad to see you got it back up and running without dealing with customer service.

escha
12-06-2015, 08:30 PM
thx for the solution!

though i never have had a problem with updating g751jy bios (every version step from 202 to 211)
- I always place a bios file on HDD (non os) connected to SATA II port and use winflash...

again thx for the tip and good for you ;)

hexaae
12-13-2015, 11:01 AM
Ctrl+home? What's this for...?

Mublur
01-26-2016, 10:14 PM
Ctrl+home? What's this for...?

Sorry hexaae for a super slow answer, but ctrl+home is meant to rescue boot the laptop into a mode where it searches for an original bios image on the hdd in order to reflash the bios if it got bricked. It's very handy!

alex garmash
01-27-2016, 02:19 AM
I bricked my old G74sx in the same way.
Didn't fix it.

Hank174
01-27-2016, 11:40 AM
I had the same "loop-boot" than RMA to customer service.
Response: SSD was broken -> changed in warranty

Returned with speakers that not sounds very well (crackling!) than, RMA again.

Response: Speakers -> changed in warranty
Internal Subwoofer -> Changed in warranty

Returned 2: now its all perfect, sound good, etc.

My suggest, try RMA!

Regards to all
Paolo

Edweird
01-27-2016, 12:47 PM
Had the same issue with mine, EZFlash dunked through USB. Had to RMA, they changed the whole motherboard out, lol, they said they didn't need to bother with the other stuff when they could just swap the board. That's how I got my M.2 PCI-E slot :).

adan1
02-07-2016, 03:49 AM
I downloaded Winflash. Then downloaded the bios from the Asus site unzipped the file and opened the file within Winflash. It
worked well with no problems.
:cool:

kingjezdi
02-07-2016, 12:37 PM
I had the same "loop-boot" than RMA to customer service.
Response: SSD was broken -> changed in warranty

Returned with speakers that not sounds very well (crackling!) than, RMA again.

Response: Speakers -> changed in warranty
Internal Subwoofer -> Changed in warranty

Returned 2: now its all perfect, sound good, etc.

My suggest, try RMA!

Regards to all
Paolo

can u tell me what u write in ure RMA, pls? :)
first step for me

hexaae
02-12-2016, 11:23 AM
Sorry hexaae for a super slow answer, but ctrl+home is meant to rescue boot the laptop into a mode where it searches for an original bios image on the hdd in order to reflash the bios if it got bricked. It's very handy!
Really? Where should I put the BIOS file backup then? C:\ root is good?
When can I press CTRL+HOME?

EDIT:
Found the answer here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?61268-Unusual-BIOS-flashing-issue-G751JY-Bricked&p=563381&viewfull=1#post563381

Jon G
02-13-2016, 07:16 PM
I had no problem updating my ASUS G751JY-DH71 notebook from it's original AS203 BIOS to AS211 BIOS. I used an
old Corsair Flash Voyager 8GB formatted to fat32 with nothing else on it. Downloaded the file to my
1TB Samsung 850 Pro storage SSD from ASUS G751JY notebook Windows 10 OS support page, unzipped the file
to the empty 8GB Corsair Flash Voyager USB 2.0 stick and used EasyFlash to Flash BIOS. Luckily it worked
with no issues!

kostyanius
06-13-2017, 02:19 AM
I've updated my G751JY bios numerous times in the bios easyflash tool without a problem.

Now i updated to 211 without a problem (erased, programmed and verified, shutdown). When i restarted it, it was bricked in the boot loop.

I put the 211 bios as G751JY.BIN on usb and booted with ctrl+home, and the computer reflashed the bios, but it's still bricked.

Then i tried the older 208 bios i had, but reflashing back to it didn't help either.

Does anyone know if the G751JY.BIN that everyone is referring to is somehow different from ordinary update files? Also - where can I get that one in case it's the only one capable of unbricking my laptop? I did not find it on the hdd

EDIT: Forgot to add that I have searched for other threads with similar problems - i was just curious if ANYONE has got their bios fixed with the original BIN file? Seems like everyone has just sent theirs to service and got their mobo replaced

Have experienced with the same issue after update of 211 version. But i was updating directly from the ssd. In my case i also faced with boot loop. No one of previous drives (ssd, sata, blu-ray) had been presented anymore. Boot order was empty at all. But i still could see them in pci, sata device information in inactive state. Then i thought of it that i should bring them in active state somehow. I opened Boot menu in bios ans started swith to Enable state all of possible options. There were only two of them. "Launch CSM" and OpRom policy (some option related with UEFI support). But i could not swith some time to enable state the last one because of there was error message then i should switch to disable state "Secure boot" first. I found this option and turned it off. After that i switched to Enable state OpRom policy, saved, restarted laptop and Voila, it is working! I could see again my ssd and sata drive in boot menu in BIOS and i could boot Windows as well as it was before!)) I was very frightened about all this situation but God saved my ass and saved my money which i could spend on repair in service. I hope my experience will help someone of guys if you will face with such an issue to fix it fast without hassle. :)