PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Ram g751JY



cuniac
12-19-2015, 06:37 PM
I was thinking about upgrading the RAM on my g751JY to the G-Skill 2133 to give it a nice bump from the 1600 it has in there. I didn't realize ASUS hides some of their sticks under the keyboard. I found a very good video on how to swap that out but its pretty involved for me... I may not do it now :(

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3x7px8mx5LU

Boxis
12-19-2015, 06:58 PM
There is no point in changing 1600mhz ram for 2133mhz one, because the gained performance is almost nonexistent.
Of course, if you are upgrading from 8gb to 16gb or more and you want them to run at the higher frequency, then its understandable.

cuniac
12-19-2015, 06:59 PM
I want to go from 16gb to 24gb or 32gb at the higher frequency. Speeds!!!!

aeolisio
12-19-2015, 08:05 PM
I was thinking about upgrading the RAM on my g751JY to the G-Skill 2133 to give it a nice bump from the 1600 it has in there. I didn't realize ASUS hides some of their sticks under the keyboard. I found a very good video on how to swap that out but its pretty involved for me... I may not do it now :(

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3x7px8mx5LU
There is no reason to create this thread there is literally hundreds of posts and even a stickied thread at the top covering exactly gskill 2133 sticks in g751s. Take a minute to search before you create a new thread.
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?53752-1-35V-memory-required-in-G751-G771-G551s-(same-as-G750)



There is no point in changing 1600mhz ram for 2133mhz one, because the gained performance is almost nonexistent.
Of course, if you are upgrading from 8gb to 16gb or more and you want them to run at the higher frequency, then its understandable.
Flat out wrong spend a little time reading benchmarks before you make comments like that. If you talking about fps gain in gaming then no upping to 2133 does little but as far as many programs and of course using ramdisks the increased speed especially if latency isnt increased can be a huge difference in performance.

NeoBeum
12-19-2015, 08:29 PM
I have cheapy 32gb of ram... and i struggle to use half of it rendering and programming...

Arkham Knight barely touched the RAM... and apparently alot of people have problems with that game if they don't have good specs

and I'm using the G751 like this... with everything turned on
http://i.imgur.com/2JLolwd.png

cuniac
12-19-2015, 08:32 PM
There is no reason to create this thread there is literally hundreds of posts and even a stickied thread at the top covering exactly gskill 2133 sticks in g751s. Take a minute to search before you create a new thread.
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?53752-1-35V-memory-required-in-G751-G771-G551s-(same-as-G750).

My Mistake

NeoBeum
12-19-2015, 08:42 PM
Forgot to post my ram ....


http://i.imgur.com/KFtSNjB.png

See, POS Ram... 800