PDA

View Full Version : Windows 10 how to find your product key ?



fixxi.net
01-15-2016, 10:21 PM
On a g752 how can one find what the product key is .. in case the os is being reinstalled ?

XOIIO
01-15-2016, 10:27 PM
Produkey works fantastically, apparently I can't post the link though.

We'll see if editing to post it works. http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/product_cd_key_viewer.html

Edit: yup, it did.

JustinThyme
01-15-2016, 11:24 PM
You don't need it. Its embedded. After you register on first start up any reinstalls on the same machine will automatically retrieve the MOBO info.

fixxi.net
01-16-2016, 12:57 AM
You don't need it. Its embedded. After you register on first start up any reinstalls on the same machine will automatically retrieve the MOBO info.

Thanks. Do you know if it is possible to run dual boot with first OS activated Windows 10 and second OS Windows 10 in trial mode ?

JustinThyme
01-16-2016, 04:47 PM
Id highly doubt it, as soon as you go to install its going to pick up on the machine and license it. Don't understand why you would want to do that. The only reason they even offered a 90 day trial was so people could dual boot windows 10 and whatever they had before, as in Win 7 or 8.

Ive heard of crazier things but one way to find out, try it.

karl6774
01-16-2016, 05:16 PM
Thanks. Do you know if it is possible to run dual boot with first OS activated Windows 10 and second OS Windows 10 in trial mode ?

it can be done I have a 10 home win ssd original and another ssd win 10 pro and PC when you turn it asks you how I know you want to leave :o

Saipher
01-19-2016, 10:23 AM
You don't need it. Its embedded. After you register on first start up any reinstalls on the same machine will automatically retrieve the MOBO info.

This didn't actually work for me. My story:

On my G751JY I had a preinstalled 8.1. Upgraded to Win10 soon and later to Win10Pro (through the store). I had some issues with the Win10 (probably because of the 8.1 -> 10 upgrade), and had a need for Win7, so I decided to do a clean install of Win7Pro/Win10Pro dual boot. I changed my original 256GB SSD out and replaced it with a 512GB SSD (This might be the cause for auto-activation failing, some of the support pages of microsoft said something like "if you do considerable hardware changes, like motherboard or hdd, you need to activate with Support").

I installed Win7Pro and after that Win10Pro to a separate partition, both as UEFI. Win10 was activated as Win10 Home. I spent some time in the support chat with MS guys, with no help from them, not even with my order id or invoice number (for the Win10 Pro upgrade). The store showed the Pro upgrade first as "buy, costs XXX", but later it changed to "begin installation", but it did not work. It seemed to install something, and after reboot, I was still on Win 10 Home. As I had not received any product keys to any of the windows versions (even the 10 Pro upgrade just installs, you don't get the actual key in any email, receipt, order confirmation, etc...) I then used ProduKey, as suggested also in this thread, and saw that I was on a different product key and the Pro key was also shown by ProduKey. I then went to change my product key for windows for the Pro one and after that, the store installation of Win10 Pro upgrade worked and after reboot I was on Win 10 Pro.

JustinThyme
01-19-2016, 04:07 PM
Wont argue that point as I haven't borne witness to having to run Win 7 and Win 10, and 12 different distros of linux on 14 partitions.
What I can tell you is with a normal installation, without fail, you don't need to key.
If it defaults and installs the home version, regardless of whether you chose the wrong version to clean install or other by other means as soon as you enter the MS login it will revert to the correct version. The only exception would be if you circumvented the new platform that makes it easy and went with the generic log on instead of your Microsoft account email.

Skridger
01-19-2016, 05:15 PM
So with the key "embedded", let's say my HDD fails and I have to replace it. (Or I upgrade the RAM or otherwise make a small change to hardware) Will it still work on a reinstall?

My previous computer, which I assume was not embedded, I upgraded to Win10 and activated it successfully, but then I had issues. I ended up upgrading the RAM, then did a clean install of Win10. Couldn't activate after that install and had to restore to factory default (Windows 7) from my restore disks.

With this computer, there doesn't seem to be an option to create restore disks, but if I don't need to worry about the Windows key, I'm ok with doing a clean install if something unforeseen happens.

Can anyone confirm how it works with this scenario?

Saipher
01-20-2016, 10:18 AM
If it defaults and installs the home version, regardless of whether you chose the wrong version to clean install or other by other means as soon as you enter the MS login it will revert to the correct version. The only exception would be if you circumvented the new platform that makes it easy and went with the generic log on instead of your Microsoft account email.

Oh, that was something I forgot to explicitly mention. I did use my MS account. The store even showed "begin installation" for 10 Pro Upgrade, but the installation did not work until I changed my product key to the 10 Pro key, which I found out only by ProduKey.

Saipher
01-20-2016, 10:22 AM
With this computer, there doesn't seem to be an option to create restore disks, but if I don't need to worry about the Windows key, I'm ok with doing a clean install if something unforeseen happens.

Can anyone confirm how it works with this scenario?

I'd download ProduKey and dig up the product key just to be sure. It should work without needing the key, at least that's what everybody keeps saying, but better safe than sorry?

JustinThyme
01-20-2016, 02:09 PM
Oh, that was something I forgot to explicitly mention. I did use my MS account. The store even showed "begin installation" for 10 Pro Upgrade, but the installation did not work until I changed my product key to the 10 Pro key, which I found out only by ProduKey.

What ever you are doing is an exception and not the rule. If you continue to have problems I suggest you contact Microsoft and provide them with the feedback so they can investigate why one machine out of 100 million fails to activate using the digital entitlement stored on their cloud that is associated with a Microsoft name and account that you set up.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/activation-in-windows-10

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/why-activate-windows-10

http://forums.windowscentral.com/windows-10/370015-windows-10-activation-upgrade-clean-install-faq.html

http://www.winbeta.org/news/microsoft-has-changed-activation-rules-windows-10

http://gadgets.ndtv.com/laptops/news/how-microsoft-reworked-its-activation-rules-to-block-windows-10-pirates-727895

http://www.techrepublic.com/article/activating-windows-10-how-it-works-under-microsofts-new-rules/

http://www.maximumpc.com/microsoft-changes-rules-for-windows-10-activation-for-the-better/

http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2015/10/13/microsoft-windows-10-new-upgrade-rules/#2715e4857a0b242bcb5142f1

https://www.thurrott.com/windows/windows-10/4794/more-windows-10-answers-how-activation-will-work-on-an-upgrade

http://www.technewstoday.com/25628-here-is-how-windows-10-activation-works-according-to-microsoft-corporation/

https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1014739/

http://win10faq.com/windows-10-activation-and-other-product-key-related-issues/

https://www.reddit.com/r/technology/comments/3gs8ga/microsoft_quietly_rewrites_its_activation_rules/

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/windows-10-faq

http://www.techtimes.com/articles/94920/20151017/windows-10-free-upgrade-rules-changed-by-microsoft.htm

If you search it there are at least another 100K hits that all say the same thing.
This move was about anti-piracy. You have to connect to their server with a machine footprint and registered account. Once the machine is connected for the first time and registered what they are referring to as a digital entitlement is created.The only exception to the rule is if you bought a copy from a retailer that comes on a disk, it has a product key.

If you later change out small things like ram, hard drive etc there should not be an issue. If you change out your motherboard you just changed the entire platform and it most likely will not activate. If you had a genuine copy its no different that in the past, actually they made it easier. If you do run into this scenario the product key that you find with this Produkey app WILL NOT WORK
There is also a BIOS key that you cannot change and why you are in this position in the first place.
Should you run into issues it will not stop the installation process. Simply skip the two prompts that ask you for the key and continue with the install. Once you are done and booted up open the Start menu, select All Apps, and launch the Contact Support app included with Windows 10. Navigate to the Services & apps > Windows > Setting up category, which includes activation issues. You can open a chat window or elect to have them call you.

54885

Saipher
01-21-2016, 06:50 AM
I did not mean to disagree with you. I am sure it works 99,99% of the time. I just had one case when it did not work, but it was solved with the ProduKey. After microsoft online chat support failed to solve anything after about an hour of chatting to them and providing them with my order id and invoice number. They just kept asking for my product key several times, even though I explained them that I have no idea what my product key is, because it is nowhere available. Of course I was trying to solve this myself also while waiting for them to provide a solution and found threads about this ProduKey and tried it.

And the hard drive change might be the key in my case, see a quote from MS site:



Hardware changes

If you made substantial hardware changes to your PC, such as replacing your hard drive or motherboard, Windows might no longer be activated on your PC. For info on how to activate your PC, see the product activation article.

JustinThyme
01-21-2016, 04:52 PM
Nothing wrong with disagreeing Brother. That's what makes forums work. If you had a problem and nothing I listed worked without a product key then M$ and their staff of thousands that worked on and continue to develop Win 10 are failing miserably at their jobs and need feedback from you telling them how miserably they have failed and also how their online support who is supposed to be trained and know that the OS no longer comes with a product key unless you buy it on a disk from a re seller continued to ask you for something that does not exist. If you did the free upgrade they may have asked you for a valid key from your previous OS. If they asked for a windows 10 key then you should report them so they are terminated.

I've managed to replace hard drives and ram on 3 machines without having an activation issue, one was upgraded from 8.1, one from windows 7 and the other, my newest had Win10 home on it upgraded to Win10 Pro. I just did a reinstall on the oldest one that had win 7 on it last week after my teenage son went messing with things he should not have. It came right back up and during the setup after I entered my M$ account credentials it gave me a prompt telling me I had a digital entitlement for Win10 pro.

I have a friend that works at the M$ regional office in NYC He manages the support dept nationally, I do their critical power systems. If you can give me the specifics of who and when would not provide the help needed I can make sure they are re-educated or terminated as it is not acceptable for someone in support for Win 10 to not be able to read the power point troubleshooting flow chart they have in front of them and follow simple directions and escalate when it goes outside the realms of the flow chart.

mazdarmb
11-28-2016, 03:34 AM
Oh, that was something I forgot to explicitly mention. I did use my MS account. The store even showed "begin installation" for 10 Pro Upgrade, but the installation did not work until I changed my product key to the 10 Pro key, which I found out only by UUKeys (http://www.uukeys.com/find-windows-7-product-key.html).

thanks for the suggestion. I got my key too.

JustinThyme
11-29-2016, 04:02 AM
thanks for the suggestion. I got my key too.

Dont count on whatever this app provides you. I just ran it on my brand new digital keyed machine and it produced a generic key that is blacklisted and WILL NOT WORK

If you own a genuine key and not one bought from one of the sites that sell used keys you will be fine. Install the OS as normal and if it doenst activate open a chat session, takes about 5 minutes to resolve if you own a legit key.

Lemme guess you got a VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T from prodkey......Everyone gets the same thing and its widely published that its 100% Bull sheet.

I just reproduced it on 4 machines all that have different keys and prodkey returned the same result on all of them.

CladMaster
12-01-2016, 11:53 AM
VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T <<< This is the default upgrade key that allows you to 'upgrade Windows 10 Home to Windows 10 Pro.
(See the MSDN Tech notes on Windows 10 and this key)

Once the upgrade is done, you have to purchase a new Windows 10 Pro key via 'Windows Store' for $99.00 so that you can activate it.

JustinThyme
12-01-2016, 06:51 PM
VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T <<< This is the default upgrade key that allows you to 'upgrade Windows 10 Home to Windows 10 Pro.
(See the MSDN Tech notes on Windows 10 and this key)

Once the upgrade is done, you have to purchase a new Windows 10 Pro key via 'Windows Store' for $99.00 so that you can activate it.

This is the key that shows in Prodkey every time. On all my upgrades I didn't have to use a key. Windows store pro for $99 is an upgrade from the Home version only. Otherwise just buying a key its $99 for Home and $199 for Pro. I ran prokey on my desktop that I just built. Installed Win 10 Pro from USB and activated through the windows store and paid up my $199. No key provided, its digital.

The only time you get an actual key now is if you buy the retail box with the DVD. Otherwise its digital and linked to your hardware via UEFI or to your M$ account.


With windows 10 they have adopted an entirely different process to prevent software piracy. If you need to reinstall and you have a legal copy that is linked to your machine or M$ account and it doesn't activate automatically you simply call them. They will walk you through it. If you don't have a legit key.........well buy one.

Buggsy
12-02-2016, 04:11 PM
Well just to throw this out there, I've had great success with Keyfinder from MagicJellyBean.

https://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/

I made note of my keys simply if I needed them in the future. I've never done an upgrade to Pro however, so I don't know if this is any different in that circumstance.