PDA

View Full Version : 1 minute of Blank screen before G752VY-DH78K boot up



uprisetv
01-22-2016, 08:32 PM
What's with the 1 minute of blank screen on start up before the ROG logo and windows shows up?

JustinThyme
01-22-2016, 10:19 PM
Machine model and with specs and BIOS please.

uprisetv
01-22-2016, 10:31 PM
ASUS ROG G752VY-DH78K Intel i7 2.7GHz 64GB Memory 512GB SSD + 1TB HDD GTX980M 8GB

The bios that came with from the factory.

JustinThyme
01-22-2016, 11:26 PM
Congrats on the powerhouse.
Have you checked to see if fast boot is enabled in the BIOS?
The latest 208 BIOS actually takes a little longer to load but that delay is after the logo.

uprisetv
01-23-2016, 12:44 AM
great suggestion! I'll check that!

Stooo
01-23-2016, 01:20 AM
Mine took about a minute until I rolled back to 206 (G752VY-RH71). I had two boot options show after upgrading and fast boot could not be enabled. Deleted both and let one automatically create and that did not fix. Only fix was to roll back from 208 to 206.

Jlieu
01-23-2016, 01:58 AM
Indeed, i have same problem. On bios 208 will have this problem. My G752VY as well.

Check on my Video on this :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7nrt3U1WFo

The fastboot cannot be enabled for no reason, once you enable, save and exit. Then it will automatically reset the bios setting, and turn off by it self. I'm still waiting New Bios update everyday.

JustinThyme
01-23-2016, 02:00 AM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Obq-vJfAVPc

Mine is working great on 208. Takes a few more seconds to load to log in screen than 206 but nothing major. I did note though when flashing it defaults to fast boot off which gives the long time from power on to the ROG being displayed.
On 208 the ROG comes up then black for a few seconds then the ROG again then to log in. In 206 I only get the ROG once. Some extra step loading. BIOS update descriptions says Intel RST update. I'm not one to hack the BIOS, did that with a desktop once and bricked it for good with a supposedly crash free BIOS.

Jlieu I thought you RMA'd that one.

Jlieu
01-23-2016, 02:10 AM
I think there's hazard in BIOS 208, It cause many problem and Brick one of my G752VY. I guess many people are actually affected.

JustinThyme
01-23-2016, 06:22 AM
I'm glad I'm not one of them. I've been back and forth a few times between the two and the only difference I've noted is a few seconds longer on the boot. Nothing like you have described. The only time I saw the long black screen is right after flashing, either direction. Go to BIOS, enable fast boot, done. Like I said, I've left it with 208 and will leave it there until another is released.

uprisetv
01-23-2016, 06:28 AM
yep, fast boot not sticking. From what I understand that's some sort of safety thing. But, I'm used to it now. hit the button, go do something else, it'll be booted by the time I come back. I wonder what it' loading during that time.

I also noticed that under the trackpad, during the black screen part, the little lightbulb light and the litle lock light are lit solid. I have no idea what those little lights mean, but possible we have some sort of setting causing the slower boot?

Jlieu
01-23-2016, 01:11 PM
The bug in bios. Not sure how to solve until official word from Asus. They apparently not responding to the BIOS bug report, If anyone can acknowledge them, please do so.

Clintlgm
01-23-2016, 02:51 PM
I have one suggestion if you haven't already done this. Download the BIOS file again and extract it directly to the location that is will be used from. IE Root of C:\ or USB Thumb Drive. Never try to copy and paste or move this .BIN file before using it. Also if using a USB insure it has been cleaned and formatted FAT 32 with no other files than the BIOS Zip, unzipped directly to the USB

Jlieu
01-24-2016, 08:22 AM
How that will help?

karl6774
01-24-2016, 09:16 AM
I have one suggestion if you haven't already done this. Download the BIOS file again and extract it directly to the location that is will be used from. IE Root of C:\ or USB Thumb Drive. Never try to copy and paste or move this .BIN file before using it. Also if using a USB insure it has been cleaned and formatted FAT 32 with no other files than the BIOS Zip, unzipped directly to the USB

although this procedure do my bios is already 208 and I did not redo ago

Jlieu
01-24-2016, 12:35 PM
You can Re-Flash the Bios using this tweak ;
Make sure winflash installed.

Run CMD,
Enter : cd C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\WinFlash
Now simply enter : Winflash /nodate

select the bios file where you extracted it then continue.

Do let us know.

sevymar
01-24-2016, 12:57 PM
Mines working still good after the flash to 208 .. same with my gf's G752VY.
the only difference i notice is the first ROG startup logo is the correct dimensions.

In the 206 that logo looked all big & blurry.

karl6774
01-24-2016, 01:06 PM
no matter the logo but at least now the fast boot is enabled I have reported to the 206 original

very tnx jlieu

Jlieu
01-24-2016, 01:20 PM
Mines working still good after the flash to 208 .. same with my gf's G752VY.
the only difference i notice is the first ROG startup logo is the correct dimensions.

In the 206 that logo looked all big & blurry.


Just reset the bios by restore default in Bios 206, The logo will be back to normal. In fact All my G752VY have the same problem. 3 unit, one in RMA. If after changing the motherboard in RMA solve the problem, i will be sending in all the G752.

Can anyone tell me who is "cl-albert" ? An asus super moderator. I would like to discuss this matter with the insider.

Jlieu
01-24-2016, 01:27 PM
no matter the logo but at least now the fast boot is enabled I have reported to the 206 original

very tnx jlieu

Mine in 206 the logo still " HD ", But the boot time improved alot.

JustinThyme
01-24-2016, 02:37 PM
You can Re-Flash the Bios using this tweak ;
Make sure winflash installed.

Run CMD,
Enter : cd C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\WinFlash
Now simply enter : Winflash /nodate

select the bios file where you extracted it then continue.

Do let us know.

Credit to OP

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?11438-How-to-downgrade-your-Bios-using-Winflash

JustinThyme
01-24-2016, 02:38 PM
Mines working still good after the flash to 208 .. same with my gf's G752VY.
the only difference i notice is the first ROG startup logo is the correct dimensions.

In the 206 that logo looked all big & blurry.

Im right there with you. 208 working fine.