PDA

View Full Version : G752VL with 1T HDD (No SSD), but will install SSD, how to go about cloning the HDD?



wpeters
01-24-2016, 09:58 PM
Hi,

This unit should be here this coming week via courier. I also needed an SSD and was initially going to leave the HDD in and pop in a 500G Samsung Pro NVMe M.2 but with the driver issue I'm now rethinking that I may buy a 1T Samsung EVO 850 Pro SATA III and replace the HDD.

The only issue is with the cloning. I'm not sure how to go about cloning the HDD to the new Samsung when I won't be able to hook up both at once. Anyone have any ideas without having to spend too much on new equipment.

Many thanks, W.

JustinThyme
01-25-2016, 03:55 PM
The standard drivers work fine for the 950 pro, its just a bit tricky getting the OS on it when you are not cloning a factory M2 SSD. I havent seen anyone clone the spinner to the SSD and be able to boot from it on this platform. I have seen, and have done myself, a clean install to the M2 SSD useing the UEFI boot guide in the stickies and loading the Intel RST drivers during the install.

If you decide to stay with SATA III and go for an SSD installed there you can clone it using a USB 3.0 to SSD adaptor. Takes a bit longer but it works just fine. I actually used the head end of an older Seagate external USB 3.0 drive when they were making them where it pulled off the end.

http://www.amazon.com/FINEX-Ultra-Device-Adapter-Converter/dp/B008BQ34ZS


What Ive used

54998


54999

wpeters
01-25-2016, 06:08 PM
Great thanks for the reply, good info.

In terms of speed my understanding from reading this forum is that the speed of the SATA is compatible to the PCIe SSD.
My thoughts were to get the SATA now and the PCIe in 6-12 months by which time they may have sorted out the drivers issue
completely and the prices may drop a little. Only need one drive at the moment.

W.

cdma2k
01-26-2016, 12:49 PM
why not use asus backtracker, easy job

wpeters
01-26-2016, 03:19 PM
why not use asus backtracker, easy job

That would be a good option however the documentation says that Backtracker is compatible only with Windows 8/8.1, it's running Windows 10

http://www.asus.com/ca-en/support/FAQ/1008640/

JustinThyme
01-26-2016, 04:06 PM
Great thanks for the reply, good info.

In terms of speed my understanding from reading this forum is that the speed of the SATA is compatible to the PCIe SSD.
My thoughts were to get the SATA now and the PCIe in 6-12 months by which time they may have sorted out the drivers issue
completely and the prices may drop a little. Only need one drive at the moment.

W.

SATA and PCIe are very different. On My machine the M2 is nearly 5 times faster in sequential read and 3 times faster in sequential write.

G752VY with PCIe M2 NVMe 950 pro using standard windows drivers that I have my OS on and a 1TB 850 EVO that I use for storage only. No Samsung Magician or drivers installed on this machine as they do not work.

950 Pro
55018


850 EVO
55019




One thing I would like to ask is if and when you decide to go with an M2 if you could try cloning the Spinner to the SSD. Everyone I know of has failed on the CM236 chipset, including myself. I tried everything under the sun and found the only way to do it was a clean install using the UEFI guide in the sticky and installing Intel RST drivers for the raid controller during the install. Without the drivers the the clean install wouldnt see the drive at all and cloning attempts only ended with failure to boot from the M2 SSD after. I did it purely as research trying to help others as it wasn't needed on my machine, it came with a 256GB SM951NVMe that cloned perfectly two different ways with Samsung data migration and Acronis True image. Many in your exact scenario are looking for a solution.

steve888
01-27-2016, 01:56 PM
Hi,
I'm new here and just got my new G752VL with only the 1tb HDD last week. I also purchased a 256mb Samsung 950 Pro m.2, installed it, booted into windows and then initialized it in disk management. I downloaded the Samsung Data Migration tool and used it to successfully clone my HDD to the 950 Pro m.2. I then shutdown the computer, removed the original HDD and restarted the computer with just the 950 Pro m.2 and it booted right into the desktop with no issues. Then I shutdown the computer and installed a new HGST 1tb 7200rpm HDD, booted back into Windows 10 initialized, and formatted the new HGST HDD.
I uninstalled the Asus ROG First, Asus Cloud, McAfee software, and installed all Windows 10 updates.

I also just ordered 16gb (2 8gb) of DDR4 2133 Kingston Value ram KVR21S15D8/8
I have to say that I'm very happy with my new G752VL.
Hope this helps.

JustinThyme
01-27-2016, 05:21 PM
If you had only the 1TB HDD and no SSD and cloned with Samsung Data Migration to the SSD with no drivers you are the first! Congratulations. Everyone else has failed.

steve888
01-27-2016, 09:10 PM
If you had only the 1TB HDD and no SSD and cloned with Samsung Data Migration to the SSD with no drivers you are the first! Congratulations. Everyone else has failed.

Yes I only had the stock 1tb HDD and then added the new Pro950 M.2, cloned the Windows 10 C: partition from the stock HDD to the Pro950 M.2 using Samsung Data Migration Ver.3. I had absolutely no issues booting up with the new Pro950 M.2 but the stock hard drive has been removed and put away incase I ever have to restore my machine to factory. Like I said, I purchased a new HGST 1tb 7200rpm HDD at Fry's for $75 and installed it for my storage drive. Windows installed the 10.0.10586.0 driver dated 6/21/2006 and I could not install the Samsung driver as well as use Samsung Magician like everyone else.

Now I did clone the HDD right after I did the basic Windows 10 setup out of the box and removed McAffee before cloning not sure if that matters or not. I did all of the Windows 10 updates after cloning.
I really like the Pro950 m.2, boots up quick and the machine is very snappy. I'm not a gamer but I purchased this machine because I wanted desktop power for Photoshop and the screen is great for photo editing.

wpeters
02-17-2016, 05:33 AM
FYI Yes this worked for me too. Was able to clone from HDD to SSD using the Samsung Data Migration saoftware.
W.

dansan
02-25-2016, 02:51 PM
Recently purchased the GL552VW and have a Samsung 850 EVO M.2 SSD coming today to speed this thing up a little. For those who have cloned using the samsung software or macrium, how did it handle the original partitions from the 1TB drive?

my original drive was split and I've installed 99% of things to the C partition but have some other stuff on the D partition. I've been told with macrium to tell it to the clone the whole drive, not partitions so I'm going to assume its going to combine the partitions into 1 when it clones? Just curious what happens to those partitions when you do the clone. The items originally installed to D, I'd like to move back onto the 1TB drive when I completely blow it away. Last thing I want it to do is make 2 partitions on my new SSD when it clones.

JustinThyme
02-25-2016, 07:18 PM
It doesn't merge partitions. It clones all of the partitions as is to the new drive and this method is highly recommended. If you want to remove the D partition later you can do that and then merge the unallocated space left by that with the C drive.

dansan
02-25-2016, 09:44 PM
It doesn't merge partitions. It clones all of the partitions as is to the new drive and this method is highly recommended. If you want to remove the D partition later you can do that and then merge the unallocated space left by that with the C drive.

ah good to know. so the ssd will still have the C and D partitions. didn't realize I could then destroy the D partition and have the C partition absorb it without reformatting the whole SSD.

Actually, going to destroy the partition, merge it and THEN clone the drive.