PDA

View Full Version : GL752 Clean format, did i install graphics drivers properly? pix



ATR-42
01-25-2016, 11:42 PM
when i took delivery of my GL752vw, i removed the HDD and installed two SDDs.
i did a clean format and reinstalled most of the necessary asus drivers, leaving some out that i felt were bloated.

i didnt install any of the asus stuff related to the video. instead, i installed nVidia experience and allowed it to install the video drivers.
on my desktop when i open the nvidia control panel it is populated with a ton of stuff, when i open the nvidia control panel on my GL752 there is only 3 things listed, and nothing for the display itself really...
did i screw something up?
the device manager looks fine, no "!" and games are running fine too...

but this looks odd to me...
http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e53/klehmann/c5276da5-c3a8-40b8-9ec6-ee0801b686c1.jpg (http://s37.photobucket.com/user/klehmann/media/c5276da5-c3a8-40b8-9ec6-ee0801b686c1.jpg.html)

Otot
01-26-2016, 05:23 PM
Download the full package from nvidia and simply reinstall it, but not through experience. Make a custom install and select "clean install". Maybe this will help.

Greetings

ATR-42
01-27-2016, 02:17 PM
can anyone report if this is normal or not normal to begin with?
i dont want to go removing and reinstalling drivers if this is normal

ATR-42
01-27-2016, 05:09 PM
Download the full package from nvidia and simply reinstall it, but not through experience. Make a custom install and select "clean install". Maybe this will help.

Greetings

just did this. did not help. control panel looks the same as OP

ATR-42
01-28-2016, 01:34 PM
is this control panel the way everyone's looks?

DeltaActual
01-28-2016, 02:42 PM
is this control panel the way everyone's looks?

whats wrong with the control panel in your opinion? i can't see clearly from your pic.

edit - never mind, just noticed three line thingy. well, use DDU to uninstall in safe mode, then install new drivers and choose 'clean install ' option . btw, never install nvidia experience - it's a horrid system hog,

ATR-42
01-28-2016, 03:07 PM
i removed the "experience" , and did clean install. but got same results, just the 3 lines of settings...

part of me thinks this is related to the on board graphics.

DeltaActual
01-28-2016, 03:08 PM
i removed the "experience" , and did clean install. but got same results, just the 3 lines of settings...

part of me thinks this is related to the on board graphics.

yeah, might be cause of Optimus ...

ATR-42
01-28-2016, 04:32 PM
i guess what im looking for is someone who has on board graphics (GL users) who can report if this is normal or non-normal. i dont want to call Asus and open a can of worms (oh just try a restore lol)

Jlieu
01-28-2016, 04:49 PM
This is absolutely, Normal. I've seen this before.

Because GL752 have Intel graphics as primary GPU, and Nvidia as secondary for heavy duty. Its called, Nvidia Optimus.
So you will find less options available in Nvidia control panel, such as resolutions or desktop color settings, this is because most of the settings manage by Intel GPU.

ATR-42
01-29-2016, 02:17 PM
oookay thats what i was thinking too. i would have been chasing my tail here. good to know its normal now.
thank you for setting things straight.