PDA

View Full Version : G74sx 24gb RAM... Which slots?



VanillaGodzilla
01-29-2016, 11:38 PM
I have a G74sx with 16gb RAM (2 x 8gb) Corsair 1333hz currently. I have two new 4gb Samsung sticks, 1333hz PC3 10600s. Can I use these as well? I have heard conflicting information on if I can use 8gb and 4gb in the same machine.

If so, which slots should I use for which RAM?

Thanks!

Clintlgm
01-29-2016, 11:53 PM
The main thing is voltage and timing have to match, 4 GB or 8 GB if same timings and voltage will work. With matching sticks the 2 empty slots would be where you would put the new sticks

Almighty1
01-30-2016, 12:05 AM
I used to have 2x8GB and 2x4GB, just make sure each pair is in 1 & 3 or 2 & 4. I now have 4x8GB.

VanillaGodzilla
01-30-2016, 12:50 AM
Lol. Thanks for the response guys, but I am more confused now than ever. One of you says to put the matching 4gb in 3&4, the other says the exact opposite (put it in 1&3 or 2&4)???

Can anyone clear this up please?

Pandur
01-30-2016, 05:38 AM
Slots 1 and 3 are one memory channel. Slots 2 and 4 are the other channel. Your 16GB should be installed in either one of those pairs already. So it's just a matter of putting the new memory in the available slots and hope the voltage and timings match up. :P

Clintlgm
01-30-2016, 03:51 PM
I wouldn't advise hoping they match. Use Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php) and you'll be able to see which slot are in use and what stick are and what the voltage and timing actually are.