PDA

View Full Version : G75 Boots only with extended display



Shadow277
02-17-2016, 06:41 AM
Hey everyone, simply put I've had my G75 for for years now since Valentines day. :D
Everything is awesome except for some reason whenever I reboot my computer, it will ONLY boot if I connect it to an external
monitor. Then, I can adjust the settings and use the built in screen. It's puzzling really. Any advice is appreciated!

Win10 with 32GB @ 1600MHz with a SSD are the ONLY upgrades I did. And it worked for years.
I've no idea why it started to act up. ):
Maybe because I talked about getting a newer Asus computer infront of her. Jelly jelly. lol XD

Darkthor
02-24-2016, 11:13 AM
Saw this a while back in a HP laptop.

1.Go into the graphics settings in NIVIDIA and check the settings there.
A friend of mine had the same issue, and his ATI software told the PC to always expect a external monitor.
That should fix it.

2.If not...try pressing Fn+ f8 and tell me what happens.
I'm assuming your running W7.

3.If that doesnt work, update bios.Maybe...maybe its the bios.But unlikely.


4.IF not even that works....you may have a problem with the motherboard's inverter, or the mb....which is not good.
Did you shock it or drop it lately?
Test it with Thinkvantage Toolbox to test the Video subsystem.

Shadow277
03-10-2016, 12:50 AM
Saw this a while back in a HP laptop.

1.Go into the graphics settings in NIVIDIA and check the settings there.
A friend of mine had the same issue, and his ATI software told the PC to always expect a external monitor.
That should fix it.

2.If not...try pressing Fn+ f8 and tell me what happens.
I'm assuming your running W7.

3.If that doesnt work, update bios.Maybe...maybe its the bios.But unlikely.


4.IF not even that works....you may have a problem with the motherboard's inverter, or the mb....which is not good.
Did you shock it or drop it lately?
Test it with Thinkvantage Toolbox to test the Video subsystem.There is no setting to change it to "expect external monitor."
There is no option in NVIDIA.
I am running win10.

Shadow277
03-14-2016, 04:29 PM
I've never updated my BIOS before. Any recommendations or any thought that this might remedy the situation? I'd rather not mess with the BIOS if I don't have to.