PDA

View Full Version : G551vw laptop not turn on with ssd drive installed?



modiret
02-17-2016, 11:31 AM
Hello
I bought a laptop g551vw.
And a Adata-SP900-SSD-Drive-512GB disks also have bought.
However, when the SSD drive rather than 2TB drive I put the laptop does not turn on.
While your laptop without a hard drive or the drive is turned on by default.
I update my laptop but the problem is not resolved bias.
The drive's firmware has been updated.
What is not clear because the laptop must SSD drive?

maf23
02-17-2016, 11:38 AM
Did you log into Win10 with a Live account? If so, the hardware key to the OS is on your OneDrive account. Also disable SecureBoot in bios and make sure your boot order is correct depending on how you are installing.

modiret
02-17-2016, 11:56 AM
But the laptop does not turn on.
I tried other ssd drive 32gb and had no problem.

maf23
02-17-2016, 10:30 PM
So it was recognized before you updated the firmware? Sounds like you "bricked" it.

JustinThyme
02-17-2016, 10:56 PM
It's not the OS or the BIOS. If another drive causes no issues that pretty much labels the one that causes it not to boot as being the culprit.

modiret
03-10-2016, 09:05 AM
Hello
Friends who have been able to drive on this laptop ssd install
Please mention the model ssd.

rhett83
05-26-2016, 08:27 AM
Hello
Friends who have been able to drive on this laptop ssd install
Please mention the model ssd.

I am facing the same problem G551VW and tried to install Sandisk Ultra II 250gb.

Once the SSD is plugged into HD bay, laptop just wouldn't power on...

Anthony566
05-26-2016, 09:04 AM
I am facing the same problem G551VW and tried to install Sandisk Ultra II 250gb.

Once the SSD is plugged into HD bay, laptop just wouldn't power on...

Have you been able to test the drive in another system or with a USB drive adapter ?

rhett83
05-26-2016, 09:11 AM
Have you been able to test the drive in another system or with a USB drive adapter ?

Drive is working, because I placed SSD in a HDD Caddy and slotted it into the DVD bay. while the 1TB HDD goes back into the HD bay and it works.

But this is not the best arrangement, its supposed to be the other way round....