PDA

View Full Version : G752VY-T7004T Weird Specs? (Italian e-shops)



Lyer
02-26-2016, 10:19 AM
Hallo everybody,

as mentioned in the object I'm looking forward to buying a new G752VY here in Italy. Apparently all the e-shops here are selling the
T7004T version and I'm slightly confused about the specs these shops claim for this particular version. All these shops display the
following specs for the T7004T and they're unable to either deny or confirm them:

- 16GB of RAM installed and NO free slots for further RAM upgrades

- no G-SYNC mentioned

- no 3.1 USB / type-C USB mentioned

I've browsed the Internet for additional infos about T7004T; the problem is that while some official technical sheets do mention
these feats (e.g. confirming that the RAM is upgradable to 64) other similarly official sheets do not.

I'd like to know whether someone has solid infos about this specific VY version before buying, thanks in advance and ciao from Italy :)

warryabel
02-26-2016, 11:24 AM
Hallo everybody,

as mentioned in the object I'm looking forward to buying a new G752VY here in Italy. Apparently all the e-shops here are selling the
T7004T version and I'm slightly confused about the specs these shops claim for this particular version. All these shops display the
following specs for the T7004T and they're unable to either deny or confirm them:

- 16GB of RAM installed and NO free slots for further RAM upgrades

- no G-SYNC mentioned

- no 3.1 USB / type-C USB mentioned

I've browsed the Internet for additional infos about T7004T; the problem is that while some official technical sheets do mention
these feats (e.g. confirming that the RAM is upgradable to 64) other similarly official sheets do not.

I'd like to know whether someone has solid infos about this specific VY version before buying, thanks in advance and ciao from Italy :)
http://www.asustore.it/gaming-rog-asus/1806-notebook-gaming-asus-rog-g752vy-t7004t.html

Otot
02-26-2016, 11:29 AM
All G752 Models have 4 slots for max 64GB RAM, G-Sync and 1x 3.1 USB Type-C Port.

Mrtea_32
02-26-2016, 01:40 PM
All G752 Models have 4 slots for max 64GB RAM, G-Sync and 1x 3.1 USB Type-C Port.
I've been looking at the g752vt t7002t and sites in the UK say it doesn't have g sync even though asus advertises all models do have it.so I contacted asus and the guy said that some models dont have it but to contact the vendor which I did and they Confirmed it doesn't.

Clintlgm
02-26-2016, 02:46 PM
Yes the letter number extension beyond VY VT etc are vendor specific where as the vendor purchase G752 spec'd out to their contracted specification. BB Best Tiger Direct, and different countries, etc. you really have to check out the units that each vendor is selling.

Mrtea_32
02-26-2016, 03:30 PM
It's abit of a weird one as I've contacted two vendors here in the UK, Scan and overclockers and both advertising same specs and no g sync though when I've Contacted them overclockers said it doesn't have g sync whilst Scan have said it does so I'll be going with them

Lyer
02-26-2016, 05:43 PM
I've been looking at the g752vt t7002t and sites in the UK say it doesn't have g sync even though asus advertises all models do have it.so I contacted asus and the guy said that some models dont have it but to contact the vendor which I did and they Confirmed it doesn't.

that's my problem too; for example in this italian link that was posted here: http://www.asustore.it/gaming-rog-asus/1806-notebook-gaming-asus-rog-g752vy-t7004t.html G-SYNC is not mentioned :(

EttoreA
02-26-2016, 08:11 PM
that's my problem too; for example in this italian link that was posted here: http://www.asustore.it/gaming-rog-asus/1806-notebook-gaming-asus-rog-g752vy-t7004t.html G-SYNC is not mentioned :(

I can confirm that G752VY-T7004T does support G-SYNC.

Lyer
02-26-2016, 10:31 PM
I can confirm that G752VY-T7004T does support G-SYNC.

Hi Ettore and thanks for your reply :) Can you confirm me also that it supports up to 64gb of RAM and it features a 3.1 usb port?
thanks!

JustinThyme
02-27-2016, 02:58 AM
While I can see some different offering of specs I dont see them changing the display or motherboards. The USB 3.1 should be uniform and I can guarantee you that the RAM support will max out at 64GB. Problem is what does it have now? If its 16GB as in 2x8GB sticks installed in the non serviceable area you will only be able to go to 32GB without opening the machine up to get to the non serviceable area. If its a single 16GB stick then you can go to 48GB without opening it up. Most users will not use the 64GB of ram. You will see zero improvement with it unless you are compiling video edits or batch processing a lot of large photos, two things that are very memory intensive applications. Gaming and every day use wont use more than 16GB.

EttoreA
02-27-2016, 11:14 AM
Actually this version gets 16GB, 2x8GB by default. So you can easily add further couple of 2x8GB in existing free user's serviceable memory slots. That's, of course, without you bothering by disassembling your machine; in the which case you can install the full supported 64GB.

The installed memory is actually DDR4 2133 (1066MHz) PC4-17000 which is fully supported. You might possibly try faster memory but because of CPU 6700HQ overlock is locked off I wouldn't expect substantially any advantage. On this forum there are a couple of instructive threads about the topic.