PDA

View Full Version : Asus G53SW-A1 Keyboard not lighting

OneTwoThree
12-26-2011, 02:44 PM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to computers and new to this site, so please bear with me. Few months ago I bought an Asus G53SW-A1 laptop, everything works perfectly fine except two problems.

Number one, the keyboard used to light up but 2 days after purchase it stopped working... It does light up for a few seconds when you boot it up.

Number two, directly related or might even be the cause of #1, the three buttons on the top left corner of my keyboard I think as well stopped working.
One of these buttons are for switching on/off the keyboard backlit, another controls the power mode, and the third one I don't know.. The button for switching on the backlit is the only way I know how to light up the keyboard, and when I press it, the 3 buttons and the power button are the only ones that light up, the rest is still in the dark. I have tried using other ways but it didn't work out. Any suggestions?

Another side question, what's the difference between Intel boost and overclocking? I use my laptop mostly on High Performance, would that hurt my laptop?

380mcn
12-26-2011, 05:47 PM
it is a common issue. reinstall ATK, reboot, and press FN key to light them up
regarding the 3 keys i don't know. i have a g74 which only has 2.

OneTwoThree
12-27-2011, 04:16 AM
Can you give me a link to download the ATK? I don't know what it is.

dstrakele
12-27-2011, 04:52 AM
Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\ATK Package\ATK Hotkey and double-click HControl.exe to execute it. Does this resolve your backlight issue?

If not, UNinstall your current ATK Package from "Control Panel - Uninstall a program", REBOOT (Don't forget it!), then download your system's most recent ATK Package from http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=G53SW&p=3&s=282 (you'll need to specify the OS) and install it.