PDA

View Full Version : What to do with SSD and HDD

DDustin
12-26-2011, 10:00 PM
As my signature says I have a G74 with a Crucial M4 256gb SSD and a 750GB 7200.4RPM HDD. Right now everything is on the SSD and the HDD is totally empty. The laptop is brand new so all that consists of is the OS, Word, one game and about 15gb of pictures and videos. I still have about 300gbs of pics and videos, more games and programs to install but this is my first experience with an SSD and dual hard drives in general so I've been holding off so I can figure out the best plan of action.

So basically I need to know how I should I divy everything up? What should go on the SSD and what should go on the 750gb HDD? And how do I transfer stuff thats already on the SSD to the HDD?

Oh and I havnt partitioned the HDD yet so its a blank slate.

Thanks in advance

Dustin

Inkrest
12-26-2011, 10:10 PM
I'm a bit of a novice to this question but from my tech savy friends I surround myself with I understand that the ssd is best for core operations. Basically your OS should be a necessary thing on there maybe word if it fits. Dump all games photos and other non essential preformance things that you don't use everytime you go to your computer. If the ssd is big enough put what you can on there. I plan on buying a big ssd when the larger volume price drops to put my games on it. My gaming experience is being bottle necked still coming from my hdd, but all works. Hope this helps a little. Good luck

BrodyBoy
12-27-2011, 12:45 AM
So basically I need to know how I should I divy everything up? What should go on the SSD and what should go on the 750gb HDD? And how do I transfer stuff thats already on the SSD to the HDD?