PDA

View Full Version : G750JH to a 2K monitor



coolsbrah
04-14-2016, 12:43 AM
Hello there,

Currently in the market looking for a external monitor to be used with my G750JH, essentially using my laptop as a "desktop".Note that only the external monitor will be used as display, the laptop will essentially have a "black screen/turned off"
My GPU is the Nvidia GTX 780M if that matters

I have very troubling questions that I cannot seem to find the answer to and I was hoping some of you smart people could help me out in solving some of my questions, so here it goes.

-The external monitor I want to use is the following :ASUS ROG PG278Q Black 27" Gaming Monitor 2560X1440 , 144Hz 1ms(GTG), link http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236405

As you guys can see, this monitor has a 2k Resolution with a 144hz refresh rate.

So my question is:

1. Using any of the 3 videos ports the G750JH has (HDMI,MINI DISPLAY PORT or DVI), Will I be able to "fully" utilize the Monitor by having it display its native 2560X1440 AND the 144 Hz refresh rate? Or will the port(HDMI, MINI DISPLAY or DVI) not be sufficient enough to provide the full potential of the monitor? I really would want someone who is a expert on this matter to help me out. This is my greatest doubt. I don't want to buy the monitor only to find out it can only display 1080p at 30hz using any of the ports available. It would be a great disappointment.

2. It doesn't matter if I have to connect multiple cables from the laptop to the monitor as long as I get the specified details discussed in the previous question.I just want to know if its possible.

I hope I have typed my question clearly enough for people to understand what I'm specifically wondering.

Thanks a lot in advance.

coolsbrah
04-15-2016, 03:20 AM
Bump

coolsbrah
04-17-2016, 01:11 AM
Bump

navis995
04-18-2016, 10:46 AM
Display port cable supports 144hz and 1440p. So it should work unless this laptop has optimus.

Cheers

coolsbrah
04-19-2016, 08:00 AM
its a thunderbolt port, not sure which version of thunderbolt though

will that support it?