PDA

View Full Version : Freezing on game and applications launch



drz400dude
12-03-2010, 12:46 PM
When I insert the disk for games and try to start some applications (yahoo messenger, steam), my computer completely locks up, I can't move my mouse, hit ctrl+alt+del or do anything. I have to hold my power button until my system restarts. With some of the games I was able to install in safe mode and then they worked normally. I have the ROG G51J series, windows 7, nVIDIA GTS 360M, core i7. Tried running memory diagnostic tool, no problem was detected. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Tried running memory diagnostic tool, no problem was detected.

martin_metal_88
12-03-2010, 02:00 PM
First! Welcome to Asus ROG forum!

If install some game in safe mod fix the issue I would concider re-installing windows. Backup everything and resetthe laptop to factory default then re-install. If my memory is good the G51J factory reset step are the following
1: Back up EVERYTHING you might need on a external device
2: Power off
3: Tap F9 and power on. Tap F9 until you see the restor screen appear
4: follow the instruction that will put everything back like the first time you opened it.
5: Once everything will be done, open the laptop and the windows install will start over like the first time you took it out of the box.
6: Install software 1 by 1 not a bunch at the same time. If issue still persist, then I would start component troubleshoot ;)

Keep us up to date!

drz400dude
12-03-2010, 03:42 PM
I've already tried that, but when I press f9 on startup, there is no recovery option. The Asus tech tried that but for whatever reason I don't have it. I really don't want to send it in since I'm stationed overseas it would take forever. Maybe I'll borrow a copy of windows and try doing it that way.

xeromist
12-03-2010, 04:12 PM
I would try turning off auto-run and see if you can even just browse a disc without launching anything. Try copying some of the files on the disc to the hard drive manually. That will help narrow it to whether this is an issue with the drive itself or something it doesn't like about setup executables.

drz400dude
12-03-2010, 08:16 PM
I tried putting the disk in and installing the game. The autorun pops up and I can start the install (for fallout new Vegas). But in order to play the game an application called "steam" has to be installed. When this program opens is when my computer locks up. Does that help any?:confused:

xeromist
12-03-2010, 09:08 PM
Interesting. Both that this is where you get the lockup and that we have a gamer that doesn't know what Steam is. :D Steam is Valve Software's distribution and social integration platform. It's quite huge as there are over 1000 PC games available through Steam. Anyway, I would say try going to http://www.steampowered.com and get the steam client directly. See if you can get it to install without errors.

drz400dude
12-03-2010, 10:02 PM
I know what steam is, just didn't know if everyone else does. Its not just steam though, it does the same thing with yahoo messenger...? There has to be something in these programs triggering something in my computer to lock up. It just doesn't make sense.

drz400dude
12-03-2010, 11:22 PM
I forgot to mention that I can start the computer in safe mode+networking and install steam and fallout as well. But when I switch back to regular windows it still locks up when steam starts.

xeromist
12-03-2010, 11:40 PM
I know what steam is, just didn't know if everyone else does. Its not just steam though, it does the same thing with yahoo messenger...? There has to be something in these programs triggering something in my computer to lock up. It just doesn't make sense.

Ah OK, yeah I'm pretty sure we all know what Steam is since we're all PC gamers here.

Unfortunately I don't know anything about the current incarnation of Yahoo messenger so I don't know what libraries it may be using that Steam would also need. I suppose you could always guess and check by removing and re-installing things fresh. I'd start with common tools like Java and Flash. Also I would try to disable any processes that you don't absolutely need, especially on startup. That's part of what makes safe mode better is that it doesn't run all of the crap that most people have running normally. This means printer apps, messengers, update managers, even anti-virus if you're comfortable. The more you can disable and then run Steam the better chance you have of determining a conflict. Run msconfig to see what is loading on startup and disable it.

drz400dude
12-04-2010, 03:10 AM
I already tried that. I disabled everything and restarted. Same effect. Is there a way to enable your audio device in safe mode? If there was I'd just play that way until I can get a chance to send it in. But an rpg is no fun without audio.

drz400dude
12-04-2010, 04:15 AM
Ok so I was in msconfig messing around, I tried going to the "services" tab and disabling everything, as well as everything on the "startup" tab. On restart, I found that I could start steam in the offline mode since my modem and audio devices were offline. Then I tried just enabling all the microsof services in the services tab, and once again it locks up when I start steam. So I may have to go one by one down the list and turn one at a time off and restart to find which one is causing the problem.

xeromist
12-06-2010, 06:58 PM
Well that's a start. Sorry you're having such a pain the ass but I'd be interested to hear what it is when you find it.

V2-V3
12-07-2010, 03:43 AM
Try hiding the microsoft services in MSCONFIG and disabling al other non Microsoft Services, as well as disabling all startup programs. it sounds like you have a software conflict issue.
do you happen to have 2 anti virus programs installed? try disabling your antivirus and anti malware/spyware software.

drz400dude
12-08-2010, 07:17 PM
I already tried doing that, only running the microsoft services. It is one of the microsoft services that is causing the conflict. I just have to find out which one.

V2-V3
12-09-2010, 04:13 AM
Just to cover basics, Run CCleaner to repair any registry issues.
Run a check disk repair as some system files may be corrupted
Install the high priority windows updates

How to guide on Windows Checkdisk
http://www.w7forums.com/use-chkdsk-check-disk-t448.html

CCleaner is available here:
http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

drz400dude
12-09-2010, 06:11 PM
Just to cover basics, Run CCleaner to repair any registry issues.
Run a check disk repair as some system files may be corrupted
Install the high priority windows updates

How to guide on Windows Checkdisk
http://www.w7forums.com/use-chkdsk-check-disk-t448.html

CCleaner is available here:
http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

I've already tried running registry cleaners and installing windows updates as well. It has been doing this since the day I got the computer.

V2-V3
12-09-2010, 06:47 PM
Any luck on isolating the bad Microsoft service?

Brian@ASUS
12-10-2010, 12:45 AM
if it has been having problems since day 1, seems like some a defective issue on some part of the hardware. i would call up technical support to do an RMA.

drz400dude
12-10-2010, 10:05 PM
Well thats what I did already, but problem is I am deploying soon, so I'll just have to wait till I get back to send it in.

Andrew11
08-07-2013, 04:48 PM
hi i am completely new here!
so i have encountered same problem here like 3 times already, i still cant solve it. at first two i did factory reset and problem went away but last one is like few weeks from my last factory reset and i dont want to do factory reset so often.
i tried lots of suggestion while i searched for fix for it any of them helped at all, so i am stuck. whenever i login into yahoo messenger or google talk my laptop freezes and wont accept any command key, so i have to do hard reset using shutdown button.
tried many antivirus program but non found any virus, uninstalled installed almost all program on my machine but nothing works for me.
if any of you please help me i would be glad thanks!
PS i have asus rog g51j, with i7 and geforce gts360m