PDA

View Full Version : Can I run VR? G752VY



kemble9900
07-13-2016, 09:25 PM
Hi, i,ve been looking at the HTC Vive, I have 32gbs of ram, the 6820hk @ 3.9ghz, and the 980m 8gb, will I be able to use the HTC Vive? If not will the oculus work or would it work with something like the xg station 2? many thanks :-)

Apoapsis
07-14-2016, 08:37 AM
In terms of performance, your laptop can definitely run the vive at medium to low settings. Here's a guy who ran it with a 970m:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Vive/comments/46jn3f/my_first_vive_pre_testing_with_970m_asus_g751j/?st=iqm23jzd&sh=e4e08c63

https://www.reddit.com/r/Vive/comments/49bq2k/follow_up_regarding_my_970m_notebook_vs_my_980ti/?st=iqm23kih&sh=9ad47b9c

It won't be as good as a full on desktop, but it'll work on a g752 with a 980m. I'm assuming that it doesn't have optimus, of course.

kemble9900
07-14-2016, 06:45 PM
Thanks :-)

Googlegot
07-16-2016, 09:21 PM
Hi, i,ve been looking at the HTC Vive, I have 32gbs of ram, the 6820hk @ 3.9ghz, and the 980m 8gb, will I be able to use the HTC Vive? If not will the oculus work or would it work with something like the xg station 2? many thanks :-)

There's a very good chance you'll need a 4k Mini Displayport to HDMI adapter for this to work. On my G752VL (gtx965m), the oculus rift wouldn't even turn on with the built-in HDMI port. YMMV with the rift, of course, but with my laptop the framerates were very smooth (even though it's WAY below 'minimum' specs), so yours will probably do just fine.