PDA

View Full Version : Error Code 00? Please help



OziJuggalo
08-17-2016, 01:36 AM
Hi Everyone ,
i have maximus vii gene, was watching youtube( so basically idle, no CPU load) and it just "died" tried to turn back on but i only get error code 00 and the fans spin. NO POST or beeps at all.
i thought it was a video card issue first so i removed it but the problem still persists. i thought it was a PSU issue so i bought a new one and still same issue!

I have reseated the cpu , tried a single RAM stick in each slot, even used BIOS Flashback.
i still get this error.

if it helps im using :
i7 4790k. stock cooling
950W PSU
GTX 970 Strix
ripjaws RAM 8GB

ASUS-OP
08-17-2016, 07:50 AM
Hi OziJuggalo,

POST Code 00 indicates the POST has not even started. From experience it can be either of the three possibilities:
1. Intel ME locked up, which can be healed with the following process:
(i) Remove AC, and remove CMOS battery.
(ii) Hold the power button to drain all currents from the system, till all LEDs are off completely.
(iii) Hold the CLRTC (CMOS Clear) button for 10 seconds, then release.
(iv) Put the CMOS battery back and reconnect AC, then try to boot the system again.

2. The BIOS content or the BIOS chip is no longer functional. (Not likely to be the case, as you have tried updating it again with USB BIOS Flashback)

3. The CPU is mul-function.

See if any of these suggestions help.

OziJuggalo
08-17-2016, 11:03 PM
well i have followed your steps and nothings changed. i checked for bent pins and i cant find any. everything looks normal.
how can i be sure its not my mobo?
or how can i test my cpu?
its not like i have a spare i7 laying around :(.
seems like a $300 test or a $500 test !
that cant be right, right?

OziJuggalo
08-17-2016, 11:03 PM
btw thanks for the reply too. im glad you are willing to help

ASUS-OP
08-18-2016, 03:18 AM
Since the board and CPU should both still be under warranty (both three years), we will recommend to go back to your place of purchase to have these two items checked out to see which one really fails, and send the failed item out to be serviced.

woahwoahwilly
07-24-2018, 01:03 AM
well i have followed your steps and nothings changed. i checked for bent pins and i cant find any. everything looks normal.
how can i be sure its not my mobo?
or how can i test my cpu?
its not like i have a spare i7 laying around :(.
seems like a $300 test or a $500 test !
that cant be right, right?

Just get an i5. You dn't NEED an i7. Try an i5 until you can guarantee that you can pay $300 to get a new one. (My apologies if I'm late, didn't know this was so old)