PDA

View Full Version : When I installed windows 10 anniversary update, I lost my factory reset option?



fnTASY
08-30-2016, 04:17 PM
Where did it go? What if I want to factory reset?

xeromist
08-30-2016, 04:42 PM
I lost a few settings too. It seems the anniversary update was more like the Win10 installation than a patch. Would have been nice to know that before the update.

Anyway, Win10 does have a "reset this PC" option so you can still do a reset but it won't have an ASUS software load. I know some people actually prefer that anyway.

fnTASY
08-30-2016, 07:13 PM
If I reset though, I'll still have windows 10. I want windows 8.1, but if I use the media creation tool my laptop will probably break because i need touchpad drivers, display drivers, and that's a pain. I really need it back

Clintlgm
08-30-2016, 07:27 PM
Kind of late now but this is the reason we keep HD/SSD Images, If you happen to have one somewhere you could extract the 16 GB recovery partition with Backtracker or some other software.

Clintlgm
08-30-2016, 07:33 PM
Well just go get the drivers (http://support.asus.com/download/options.aspx?SLanguage=en&type=1)you know you going to need and make a fresh install of Windows 8.1 If your notebook came with 8.1 Windows activation server should recognize your hardware and auto activate. Nowhere near that much of a pain if you have your data backed up.

xeromist
08-31-2016, 12:29 AM
I want windows 8.1

Can you explain why? In almost every respect Windows 10 is a better OS than 8. If you're having difficulty with something perhaps you just need help with Win 10? The issues I've had with 10 were things like not wanting Cortana and my VPN software not working, but those things are fixable. While annoying it's still easier to fix them than rolling back.

Gps3dx
08-31-2016, 12:44 AM
The issues I've had with 10 were things like not wanting Cortana and my VPN software not working, but those things are fixable. While annoying it's still easier to fix them than rolling back.
"VPN software not working" - are you using comodo or any other A/V or internet security apps ?
I know that cisco's VPN app got some issue when combined with comodo firewall - although latest update from cisco solves this issue, a temporary fix can be achieved by uninstalling any 3rd party component by going into wifi/eth card properties (found on the same list as IPv4, QaS etc...).

About Cortana - have you check the scripts/tweaks for win10 I recommended in my windows installation guide ( see sig for link )?
One of these tweak tools can block/disable the keylogger found in any win10, and the other can tweak your UI of windows/edge etc so that cortana stay hidden and disabled ( although not uninstalled, unless you want to and can do it through the same "tweak script" ).

xeromist
08-31-2016, 04:59 AM
"VPN software not working" - are you using comodo or any other A/V or internet security apps ?
I know that cisco's VPN app got some issue when combined with comodo firewall - although latest update from cisco solves this issue, a temporary fix can be achieved by uninstalling any 3rd party component by going into wifi/eth card properties (found on the same list as IPv4, QaS etc...).

About Cortana - have you check the scripts/tweaks for win10 I recommended in my windows installation guide ( see sig for link )?
One of these tweak tools can block/disable the keylogger found in any win10, and the other can tweak your UI of windows/edge etc so that cortana stay hidden and disabled ( although not uninstalled, unless you want to and can do it through the same "tweak script" ).

I fixed my issues. The VPN is ancient and I'm not sure I can use anything newer until my work upgrades the gateway. I was able to work around it installing Dell's tool to get the missing dll or whatever it was. However when the Anniversary update installed it uninstalled it again. Thanks Microsoft!
I killed Cortana by renaming her binaries. The anniversary update also undid that but I just killed her again. Hopefully Microsoft learns to update PCs without changing settings as this could get old fast.

JustinThyme
08-31-2016, 10:51 AM
Strange you lost your factory reset. Mine is still there. There is also the option to go back to the previous build.

fnTASY
09-05-2016, 04:58 AM
Anyone? Windows 8.1 was better. Booted in 5 seconds, while Windows 10 is kinda slow and clunky. I just need the factory reset option back

JustinThyme
09-05-2016, 02:21 PM
Windows 8.1 is not better and darn sure not faster. I'm running 10 on 4 laptops and a desktop. I have 8.1 on my work machine and hate it.

Sorry but as Clint pointed out already you have screwed the pooch. This should have been a forethought, not an afterthought. There is but one way now to get back to factory state and get your factory reset option.

Send your machine into ASUS and they will install the factory image for you, for an over the top fee Im sure.

If you can do it with the media creation tools thats just going to give you 8.1 and you will have to download drivers and you still wont have the factory reset partition.

This is specifically why any time a get a new machine first thing I do is clone the factory drive onto a new, usually faster and better SSD, then put the OEM drive in a box and put it away so no matter what I always have the option to put it back in and be right back at square one like I just took it out of the box.