PDA

View Full Version : "system" High CPU Usage windows 10! G752VL



httuner
09-04-2016, 06:03 AM
So I did a fresh install of Windows 10 on my laptop, everything went fine; went ahead and downloaded and installed all the drivers as needed.

Now I'm getting high CPU Usage One core is constant 80-90% usage all the time, pulling up windows task manager shows SYSTEM is the culprit. Upon looking into it more it seems that ntoskrnl is the one using all this processing power!

I've googled around and tried all the fixes, removing/disabling this and that and to no avail can I get it to fix the issue. My CPU fan is constanting at 30%+ and the noise is killing me. Its super annoying especially when the laptop is just sitting there idling.

I am hoping someone has ran into this issue before and was able to find a fix? I also noticed that prior to the fresh windows 10 install, I could use HWmonitor and it'll be able to detect and tell me my CPU fan speed now using it doesn't show my CPU fan speed anymore.

I could however use Notebook fan control to adjust the fan speed down but then that increases my CPU temps, so I left it alone. Something is not adding up here, all my drivers are up to date that I know of. If someone knows something please help lol its really bugging the crap out of me that I feel like doing another full system install on windows 10.

Before the fresh install I didn't have the problem now I do. I even performed System File Checker and no corrupted windows file so all is well.

httuner
09-04-2016, 07:20 AM
Nevermind I found a fix. It was Cortana! She was killing my CPU Usage. Using Regedit I manage to stop her from working following this guide; http://www.howtogeek.com/265027/how-to-disable-cortana-in-windows-10/

I took over control of the Cortana dll file and renamed it hoping it'll turn her off but she repaired herself! I found another .dll file in there that replaced the one I renamed.

httuner
09-04-2016, 03:55 PM
Nope, problem came back_ Cortana turned herself back on? I had to delete a few files and disable it again. But even with disabling Cortana I'm still getting high CPU usage_

I'm may have to do a fresh install of Windows 10 again. This is annoying, I now feel like I should just install Windows 7 and be done with it.

httuner
09-05-2016, 05:25 AM
Found another fix lol_

Go into Device Manager _ underneath System Devices_ Go and manually update all those drivers via Internet_ That somehow fixed my problem for now again.

httuner
09-05-2016, 06:35 AM
Nope, problem came back_ damn windows 10 so using process explorer I came to detect that ACPI.sys is the cause. Now I just need to figure out how to fix it. A few last attempts before I give up windows 10 forever.

httuner
09-05-2016, 07:56 AM
Okay, finally I think I got this down to a science lol.

Reinstalled Asus ATK package / repaired and now everything is nice and quiet, no more high CPU usage causing high fan speeds. SO if anyone runs into this problem, this is your solution.

JustinThyme
09-05-2016, 02:12 PM
Solution is to not do a "clean install" that just causes problems.

neoDD69
09-26-2016, 12:18 PM
Okay, finally I think I got this down to a science lol.

Reinstalled Asus ATK package / repaired and now everything is nice and quiet, no more high CPU usage causing high fan speeds. SO if anyone runs into this problem, this is your solution.

httuner, thank you for post this problem.

I had this problem (11-18% of CPU time by ACPI.SYS) only after updating BIOS to 213 version.

This is a BIG PROBLEM because the ACPI.sys is handled by a System Process (#4), with other 200 thread, and use the 90-100% of a core ... it run in KERNEL-MODE and pratically this create a VERY LAGGY SYSTEM (mouses, USB HUBs, external disks)!

I'm tried you solution, but unfortunally NOT WORKED for me.

I've this issue also running Win10 in safe-mode!

Any idea on what you have done, ATK excluded, that solved your issue?
Meantime I try to go back to BIOS 212.

Please, any other people have this issue or a solution?

neoDD69
09-26-2016, 12:54 PM
Unfortunately the "Easy" Flash of BIOS does not allow to use a equal or less FW version! :mad:

This ISSUE is very very annoying and frustrating ... I've bought a Ferrari ... but it works with hand-break pulled!:mad::mad::mad:

neoDD69
09-26-2016, 02:23 PM
Update:
with "WinFlash.exe /nodate" I was able to rollback from 213 to 212 and now ACPI.sys CPU usage is normal.

see my thread about (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?87900-ROG752-VY-Win10-BIOS-213-*-SERIOUS-ISSUE-*-ACIP-SYS-takes-12-CPU-PC-STUTTERING&p=609913#post609913)

Thanks.

httuner
09-26-2016, 05:49 PM
It turns out for me that it was my Boot partitions that were somehow corrupted and cause all this headache; everytime windows would boot; it booted with corrupted files.

I ended up rebuilding the boot records using a simple free program called EasyUEFI; after that all my ACPI.sys problems went away; been a week or two now and it hasn't returned. Windows 10 seems to like to corrupt boot partitions as I've found out.

neoDD69
09-27-2016, 09:16 AM
It turns out for me that it was my Boot partitions that were somehow corrupted and cause all this headache; everytime windows would boot; it booted with corrupted files.

I ended up rebuilding the boot records using a simple free program called EasyUEFI; after that all my ACPI.sys problems went away; been a week or two now and it hasn't returned. Windows 10 seems to like to corrupt boot partitions as I've found out.

It seems very very strange.
Windows write the boot part/record ONLY during 1st install, never write on it when it run.

Or you have a virus or you have problems with HD that you use for boot.
Fews years ago I had "corruption data" problems on SSD but was a cable problem (to speed for type of cable), but 752 have PCIe and this problem cannot be.

Why do tell that boot is corrupted? Windows wont start or you link ACPI problem with "corrupted"?
Which version of BIOS do you have?

httuner
09-28-2016, 06:57 AM
It seems very very strange.
Windows write the boot part/record ONLY during 1st install, never write on it when it run.

Or you have a virus or you have problems with HD that you use for boot.
Fews years ago I had "corruption data" problems on SSD but was a cable problem (to speed for type of cable), but 752 have PCIe and this problem cannot be.

Why do tell that boot is corrupted? Windows wont start or you link ACPI problem with "corrupted"?
Which version of BIOS do you have?

I have a Samsung 950 Pro nvMe Pro SSD; No virus; done that scanning/malware/everything lol

Windows will start but for some reason each time it started I have the ACPI.sys high CPU usage problem; This occured with the laptop new right out of the box; in an attempt to fix(after attempting everything else) this; I did a fresh install of windows 10 using the windows 10 usb tool where you download the installation from microsoft and it creates a bootable USB for you;

That still didn't fix the problem; When I got the SSD; I did a fresh install on that too and still same problems. High CPU Usage on one core constant 100% caused by ACPI.sys_

Windows booted fine and no issues; I tried every fix imaginable that I could find on Google, disable drivers; reinstall drivers; Uninstall ATK package; re-install_ Disable Cortana; Nothing worked; and believe me because I spent an entire week diagnosing the issue; In the end I came across something about rebuilding the efi partition; I gave it a shot and well what do you know? It fixed my issue so I came to the determination that windows 10 likes corrupting the efi partition; somehow someway all my installs ended with with an error; winload.efi missing or something like that; rebuilding the efi partition fixed my ACPI.sys high CPU usage. I don't know why or I don't know how; all I know is it worked for me and could help others too;

cacamaster
11-02-2018, 10:52 PM
hello pals
hi finally fixed after all these trials
- update bios down grade bios (even some fishy on found on the bulagrian forum)
-reinstall win 10
-delete my gpt partion , repair them
-disable all the stuff in device manager (apci did disable my graphic card)
-installing lot of nvidia driver beta non beta new old name it
-playing whit the power option
-disabling cortana n stuff
-dl 3rd party driver programs nothing worked
-tried every version of the drivers on the asus website,all sort of comos

so here the solution it was a hardware issue that was fixed on whit the driver that was not on the windows 10 driver page BUT in OTHER section when they ask ur os

since then no more high CPU

Hotfix
Version V2.0.0.4
2017/12/2578.11 MBytes
MEUpdate

https://www.asus.com/ROG-Republic-Of-Gamers/ROG-G752VL/HelpDesk_Download/