PDA

View Full Version : Does the G752vy support 2.5" 15mm thickness HDD?



Hack0017
09-13-2016, 04:11 PM
The laptop comes with a 1TB HGST HDD 2.5" 9.5mm drive. I want to know if a 2.5" 15mm HDD would fit in the drive bay. I contacted ASUS support but
they were not able to help me at all. They didnt even know the size of the drive that was in the laptop (pretty damn sad for customer support). Has anyone
checked if its possible?? I want to upgrade the 1TB drive to a 2,3, or 4TB.

Clintlgm
09-13-2016, 04:21 PM
No I think Asus is moving away from Standard hard drives and the 9.5mm thickness is max. The M.2 SSD are replacing hard drives/SSD in 2.5" format. It might be possible to put it in a Optical Drive caddy if someone can verify that chime in I don't think so however.
The best way to have larger hard drive is to use External USB 3.0 hard drives I belive WD has a passport in 3TB capacity and small package no power supply needed.

Hack0017
09-13-2016, 05:43 PM
I know that seagate has a 2TB drive that is 2.5" at 9.5mm, but Seagate is not a reliable brand. Is there any other drives that are at least 2TB at 9.5mm
but from a better brand?

Clintlgm
09-13-2016, 06:36 PM
Goggle is your friend

I found this one only 7mm thick and 4 TB (https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-850-EVO-2-5-Inch-MZ-75E2T0B/dp/B010QD6W9I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1473801316&sr=8-1&keywords=2+TB+SSD)

httuner
09-14-2016, 02:44 AM
I think its possible you can make it work;

JustinThyme
09-14-2016, 06:20 AM
There are other alternatives but a 15mm drive is not going to fit.

I have 2 M2 512GB in Raid 0 then another 1TB 850 EVO SSD for a total of 2TB which I find to be overkill already. Cant imagine putting a 4TB spinner in especially when any SATA SSD outperforms them by 5X. All my media that takes up a lot of space resides on my NAS that has 5 6TB drives and can be connected into from anywhere on the planet. With internet speeds being what they are today I have no problems streaming HD videos off my NAS from 5000 miles away.
Then there is also the option of external USB drives, have several of those in 2TB size.

Brands are all a choice. I hear people knocking on Seagate drives but I have some news for you. Go into any enterprise data center and thats all you see by the hundreds of thousands. Seagate everywhere. I have 10TB of seagate drives in my Desktop that have been running strong for 8 years now without a problem. Ive had the exact opposite luck with drives. Ive tried WD drives, even paid the extra for the enterprise WD red pros for my NAS. Within a year every one of them died, no warning just died. I replaced them all with Seagates.

httuner
09-15-2016, 04:26 AM
There are other alternatives but a 15mm drive is not going to fit.

I have 2 M2 512GB in Raid 0 then another 1TB 850 EVO SSD for a total of 2TB which I find to be overkill already. Cant imagine putting a 4TB spinner in especially when any SATA SSD outperforms them by 5X. All my media that takes up a lot of space resides on my NAS that has 5 6TB drives and can be connected into from anywhere on the planet. With internet speeds being what they are today I have no problems streaming HD videos off my NAS from 5000 miles away.
Then there is also the option of external USB drives, have several of those in 2TB size.

Brands are all a choice. I hear people knocking on Seagate drives but I have some news for you. Go into any enterprise data center and thats all you see by the hundreds of thousands. Seagate everywhere. I have 10TB of seagate drives in my Desktop that have been running strong for 8 years now without a problem. Ive had the exact opposite luck with drives. Ive tried WD drives, even paid the extra for the enterprise WD red pros for my NAS. Within a year every one of them died, no warning just died. I replaced them all with Seagates.

Seagates are good harddrives; I've owned plenty and never had one failed on me yet.

I think the entire point of going with an HDD Spinner is cost; its just so much cheaper to have more storage on an HDD than on a SSD. A 2TB SSD cost nearly 6 times more than a 2TB HDD. So I can see why it makes sense to go with an HDD.

The last time I opened up my back access panel I've come to find that the HDD compartment has plenty of space left before it even touches the rear cover. I am confident its doable. Although if your going to use the OEM drive cage; you probably will have to get longer screws to attach the drive to the laptop because with the 15mm height the drive cage may not sit flush.


With USB 3 - using external hard drives are no longer really a bottleneck at all; You'll get 100mbs+ Read and 100mbs+ Write(Probably a little less) It comes close to the internal HDD sata speeds. HDD's are just slow but they prove still the cheapest storage options.