PDA

View Full Version : Floating green text - How do I KILL it?

Swampthing
12-31-2011, 06:28 PM
I've been using desktop PCs and macs for over 25 years now, and just picked up one of the G74SX series computers for the speed, 3D graphics, Blu-ray, etc and frankly it outperforms my current desktop. I haven't really used laptops that often though. All in all, it's amazing... but I have a couple of issues...

First, I noticed that the 3D on/off button was not working as documented, but that was a simple fix of me upgrading to Bios 203. But secondly, something that has become annoying: after I load up a game, in the bottom right hand corner of the screen, I get green text telling me what level of 3D support is to be expected while playing the game. Nice, but there's a problem. The text doesn't disappear... and the suggestion to remove it by pressing CTRL-ALT-INSERT doesn't work because on my keyboard, the INSERT key is the same as the DELETE key. Is there a way to make that text disappear after a few seconds, or turn it off completely? It is rather annoying to play a game with those letters stuck in the corner... kinda reminds me of watching TV these days with those ads for upcoming shows hovering in the corner... :(

PILGRIM
01-01-2012, 11:30 AM
Welcome, Swampthing.

When that "green text" appears again while you're on 3D, "kill" it by pressing ctrl + fn + alt + del.

The addition of the fn button is to be able to toggle the "insert" that's tied up with the delete button.

Enjoy gaming..:)

PILGRIM
01-01-2012, 11:35 AM
Oh, and by the way, BIOS 203 won't really work in enabling/disabling 3D on the ROG button.

Don't know why.. (with my laptop, at least).

Swampthing
01-01-2012, 11:42 AM
Thanks for the help! I'll try it out on a game today and see what happens.