PDA

View Full Version : G751J Turns on then shuts off few seconds later



empire3010
11-13-2016, 01:35 PM
Hopefully you guys and the support team able to solve this error with my Asus G751J

I recently moved from Australia to United Kingdom, and Yesterday I unpacked my laptop for the very first time in seven months (had to be shipped). Battery was dead (fully charged when I left Ozz), so I let it to charge for 3 hours. When I started the PC it will go on for one sec then off again! So I then hold the power in for 10 (with adapter unplugged) secs and it loaded up to the desktop, BUTTTTT then A hour later it played up (downloading and updating) and I had to restart it! So then it went on and off repeatedly for 2mins until I hold the power in for a good 10 secs . hour later I turn it on again and it loading to the desktop (Yeahh). I was able to finnish the download and update. And it started again once it had to restart it to install the updates.

I'm trying to work out what is wrong with it. I hit the power and about an second later it goes off again with an ding, if it's like only less then 5 volts are used and not able to get to the CPU. I able to get it on and updated some software and OS but once off, it plays up again. I can get it to go if I keep on clicking the on power.

What it does that: I hit the power, it comes on and you can hear it and see LED lights on the front, however the lights on the keyboard does NOT come on, then that one sec or 2 sec it goes off with one ding noise.

It was working 100% before I left Australia, I tested the battery and when it was new it had 90,000 and now it has 80,850

Please able to help, only PC I have for gaming... And cost me over $2k back then

JustinThyme
11-13-2016, 03:38 PM
You said you shipped it? How well was is packaged?
7 months is a long time. I dont believe this is power related, almost guarantee its thermal related and a case of the dried up thermal paste at least partially.
For the having to hold down the power button for it to start something most likely driver related is corrupted and I also pretty much guarantee you have fast boot enabled. Holding down the power button forces a cold boot. This is one of many reasons I dont use fast boot. When I want to shut down and restart to clear a hang up or reload drivers I want the machine to shut down and reboot, not a hybrid hibernation where everything, including the problem, is saved to hiberfil.sys then reloaded into ram at restart.

empire3010
11-13-2016, 03:54 PM
You said you shipped it? How well was is packaged?
7 months is a long time. I dont believe this is power related, almost guarantee its thermal related and a case of the dried up thermal paste at least partially.
For the having to hold down the power button for it to start something most likely driver related is corrupted and I also pretty much guarantee you have fast boot enabled. Holding down the power button forces a cold boot. This is one of many reasons I dont use fast boot. When I want to shut down and restart to clear a hang up or reload drivers I want the machine to shut down and reboot, not a hybrid hibernation where everything, including the problem, is saved to hiberfil.sys then reloaded into ram at restart. It's packaged very good, and it was in good condition when I got it (had two laptops in the same box).

Point is that I got it running now, and it's been on for over 90mins and Yesterday it was on longer. Only happens when it's off and I need to turn it on. On another topic discussion (another website) that it seems to be the the battery, that reports to the mainboard something is wrong with it so it powered off as it has some 'tech' in it that prevents it from running without a 'all is clear' battery signal. Another thing that you can't even run it without a battery off the power cable as the mainboard won't allow it.

So once I get it going to runs all good. I'm downloading an game on steam and the cpu is 3% and goes up to 16% and disk is using under 10% and I don't see anything wrong other then hearing the fans.

empire3010
12-07-2016, 09:23 PM
Hello,

Where do you buy the battery from? I'm looking to get one but can't find one.

trn8ochaser
12-18-2016, 07:06 PM
Good afternoon. Mine is doing this as well. I have A G751JY. Holding the Power button down, does absolutely nothing to fix my problem. I think my motherboard is dead. Help!

hexaae
12-22-2016, 08:51 AM
Did you try to remove all ram from the rear panel? This is a shock to the system and should reset your BIOS...
You can also add or remove just 1 slot, try 1 single bank of ram in both slots (the strangest RAM config the most chances you can reach the BIOS again). Of course use compatible RAM in terms of V and pins. It worked for me once in the same situation... and once you're in reload & save default BIOS settings.

empire3010
01-16-2017, 12:36 PM
Just to update you all.

Engineer has checked the power latch fault. The CPU has been tested as OK.
It is suspected that the Northbridge Chip is faulty. Unfortunately this part is not available from there suppliers and it means that the laptop would need a mainboard replacement.

Anyone know where I can get an new motherboard from ? Number is 60NB06M0-MB1240