PDA

View Full Version : G752VY Error in RAID0 SSD1



Gustave
11-23-2016, 08:27 AM
Since a while I am experiencing an error in one of my two RAID0 Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD's stating that the volume cannot be accessed. However I do not have any actual problems. Should I worry?
60508
When I mark the drive as normal the error reappears after a while.
60509
Functionality still seems okay.
60510

JustinThyme
11-24-2016, 12:53 PM
I would be a little on the worried side myself. Drives just don't pop up errors for no reason. Did you properly over provision and set up a regular trim schedule? Judging by your drive sizes you have no over provisioning. When you initialize and create your partitions you should leave 10% of the total unallocated.

Gustave
11-24-2016, 03:40 PM
I would be a little on the worried side myself. Drives just don't pop up errors for no reason. Did you properly over provision and set up a regular trim schedule? Judging by your drive sizes you have no over provisioning. When you initialize and create your partitions you should leave 10% of the total unallocated.

Hi Justin,

Thanks for looking into my question. It seems that there is 1 block with mediaerrors:

60545

An IRST verify did not find any other errors but, since it is a RAID0 volume, this error cannot be repaired. I did a chkdsk repair but that did not clear the error either.

I then shrinked the volume by 10%. would that be OK for over provisioning?

60550

Or should it have been done from the start?


Did you already get to installing the 960 Pro SSD's?

JustinThyme
11-25-2016, 05:02 AM
You should be able to shrink it and leave that space unallocated then run a trim on it. Windows should have set it up automatically since you dont defrag SSDs. Once you have the 10% reduction just go to the search on the task bar and type in defrag and it will pull up defrag/optimize. Then select the drive and click optimize and it will run the trim command.