PDA

View Full Version : IX Formula and G Skill Trident Z 4266 Model F4-4266C19D-16GTZA DDR4



WiLdJeSTeR
01-16-2017, 07:06 AM
Hello,

I bought 16GB(8GBx2) of this G Skill Trident Z 4266 Ram Model F4-4266C19D-16GTZA before I saw the QVL. I tried to load the XMP profile in the BIOS for 4266 but it wont boot up. I tried to adjust the timings to get a slightly slower speed than 4266 to try and get the maximum out of the RAM but any settings other than what it gets set to(2133) it wont boot up. Any suggestions? Will the Trident Z 4266 be supported soon? Or am I in trouble?

Thanks

AkaNe0
01-16-2017, 07:25 AM
Hello,

I bought 16GB(8GBx2) of this G Skill Trident Z 4266 Ram Model F4-4266C19D-16GTZA before I saw the QVL. I tried to load the XMP profile in the BIOS for 4266 but it wont boot up. I tried to adjust the timings to get a slightly slower speed than 4266 to try and get the maximum out of the RAM but any settings other than what it gets set to(2133) it wont boot up. Any suggestions? Will the Trident Z 4266 be supported soon? Or am I in trouble?

Thanks

Hi WiLdJeSTeR,

To be able to fully use your 4266MHz modules, you will have to do it on the Maximus IX Apex (https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-IX-APEX/) motherboard.

For the Maximus IX Formula (https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG-MAXIMUS-IX-FORMULA/), it supports up to 4133MHz. You could try to slower the speed at 4133MHz (2066MHz) and it should be able to work.

bn880
01-18-2017, 12:58 AM
Hello,

I bought 16GB(8GBx2) of this G Skill Trident Z 4266 Ram Model F4-4266C19D-16GTZA before I saw the QVL. I tried to load the XMP profile in the BIOS for 4266 but it wont boot up. I tried to adjust the timings to get a slightly slower speed than 4266 to try and get the maximum out of the RAM but any settings other than what it gets set to(2133) it wont boot up. Any suggestions? Will the Trident Z 4266 be supported soon? Or am I in trouble?

Thanks

Did you manage to boot up with 4133 MHz?
I bought the same thing as you except rated at 4133, will find out if it boots next week... (but it should)

MeanMachine
01-18-2017, 02:06 AM
Hello,

I bought 16GB(8GBx2) of this G Skill Trident Z 4266 Ram Model F4-4266C19D-16GTZA before I saw the QVL. I tried to load the XMP profile in the BIOS for 4266 but it wont boot up. I tried to adjust the timings to get a slightly slower speed than 4266 to try and get the maximum out of the RAM but any settings other than what it gets set to(2133) it wont boot up. Any suggestions? Will the Trident Z 4266 be supported soon? Or am I in trouble?

Thanks

Your MB supports up to 4133MHz OC DDR4 RAM however, it also depends on the strength of your CPU IMC if or not they will work.
The MB does not support that OC RAM you have,so return them as trying to get them to work will fail at their rated speed and it will be a frustrating exercise.
List your CPU for better advice and a recommendation will be given of RAM to suit.

WiLdJeSTeR
01-18-2017, 08:10 PM
My CPU is the kaby lake i7-7700k. Will they take back the RAM after I have used it?

MeanMachine
01-19-2017, 02:15 AM
My CPU is the kaby lake i7-7700k. Will they take back the RAM after I have used it?

Some stores will and others will try not too. Insist that the modules do not work. I don't know the Law in your country however for me its RMA to place of purchase within 12 months or to the Manufacturer after that. For faulty merchandise it's the LAW. Your GSKill DIMMS have a lifetime Warranty.
The i7-7700K officially supports up to 64GB, DDR4 at 2133/2400MHz and anything above that frequency is considered an OC. Neither the MB or CPU support 4266MHz RAM.

bn880
01-24-2017, 04:26 PM
I have a similar problem on the same board with Trident Z 4133 Model F4-4133C19D-16GTZA DDR4 not posting, (Kaby 7700k)
I trued using the XMP with correct timings and voltage, no dice. (19 21 21 41) try adding 1 to all of them, no luck.
Upped voltage to 1.36 and up to 1.4 even, no luck.
I tried increasing CPU VCCIO voltage and CPU system Agent Voltage, no luck.

I can however get the RAM to run at 4000 / 1.25V with same timings, so it's not horrible ram it seems. But no matter what, I can never get a post at 4133.

Should i bother exchanging the sticks?

Raja@ASUS
01-24-2017, 04:36 PM
Try Maximus Tweak Mode 2.

xherics
01-24-2017, 08:04 PM
If your RAM has JEDEC 2400MHz, so basic frequency on 2400, probably your system can not POST.

I tried 2 examples of Maximus IX Code, 2 examples of CPU, with more types of RAMs with basic 2400MHz, neither worked correctly.

But RAMs with JEDEC 2133MHz worked well immediately.

Do you have an error on your MB Q-code LED with NR 55 ?

The RAM QVL list has included so many JEDEC 2400MHz RAMs, but I suppose, that the BIOS with the true support is not yet releaset.

Formula and Code are the same MBs, just the Formula has water cooling cells...

bn880
01-24-2017, 08:43 PM
Try Maximus Tweak Mode 2.

No dice unfortunately. It even makes it impossible to post at 4000. I also updated to latest BIOS 701.
Meanwhile CPU overclocking is going very well.

Is it expected that 4133 "rated" RAM should work at the XMP profile provided with this setup enough to warrant an exchange?

bn880
01-24-2017, 08:44 PM
If your RAM has JEDEC 2400MHz, so basic frequency on 2400, probably your system can not POST.

I tried 2 examples of Maximus IX Code, 2 examples of CPU, with more types of RAMs with basic 2400MHz, neither worked correctly.

But RAMs with JEDEC 2133MHz worked well immediately.

Do you have an error on your MB Q-code LED with NR 55 ?

The RAM QVL list has included so many JEDEC 2400MHz RAMs, but I suppose, that the BIOS with the true support is not yet releaset.

Formula and Code are the same MBs, just the Formula has water cooling cells...

It's 2133. But i do have that Q code. And it works at 4000Mhz. Just can't reach 4133

Raja@ASUS
01-24-2017, 08:45 PM
It comes down to the IMC, too. Can be some variance at these speeds. What's code does it display when it fails to POST?

bn880
01-24-2017, 10:41 PM
It comes down to the IMC, too. Can be some variance at these speeds. What's code does it display when it fails to POST?

Q 55 Memory not installed

Ah that's the code the previous user mentioned, but anyway, it's not 2400 default ram.
SO is that DRAM you think, or CPU?

Raja@ASUS
01-25-2017, 08:00 AM
Difficult to say. Maybe opt for a DDR4-3600 kit if that's where things are comfortable.

Silent Scone@ASUS
01-25-2017, 08:26 AM
If your RAM has JEDEC 2400MHz, so basic frequency on 2400, probably your system can not POST.

I tried 2 examples of Maximus IX Code, 2 examples of CPU, with more types of RAMs with basic 2400MHz, neither worked correctly.

But RAMs with JEDEC 2133MHz worked well immediately.

Do you have an error on your MB Q-code LED with NR 55 ?

The RAM QVL list has included so many JEDEC 2400MHz RAMs, but I suppose, that the BIOS with the true support is not yet releaset.

Formula and Code are the same MBs, just the Formula has water cooling cells...

What kits were you trying initially?

xherics
01-25-2017, 03:12 PM
What kits were you trying initially?

The first test was with Kingston 32GB KIT DDR4 SDRAM 3200MHz CL16 HyperX Predator Series JEDEC2400 PN: HX432C16PB3K4/32 - tested with 2 packages. I purchased this RAM for my new PC, it did not work so I got exchanged it, piece for piece as DOA. Then I borrowed from a repair center of the shop another piece of 7700k for tests. It was 30€ for a day to borrow it...

Second test with Kingston 32 GB KIT DDR4 3000 MHz CL16 HyperX Predator Series PN: HX430C15PB3K2/32 JEDEC2400 - tested one package.

Then I borrowed from the repair center of the shop where I purchased the RAMs before one G-SKILL and one CORSAIR memories with SPD/JEDEC2400, I did not write the exact types, models.

Then I got from them Kingston 32GB KIT DDR4 SDRAM 2800MHz CL14 HyperX Savage Black JEDEC2133 P/N: HX428C14SB2K4/32 to test, it worked.

After this I borrowed again 2 Corsair RAMs with 2133MHz, and one Patriot RAM with 2133MHz, they worked without problems and with activated XPM profiles between 2800 and 3200MHz.

bn880
01-26-2017, 08:41 PM
FI: I am RMA'ing the 4133 Trident Z sticks, will let you know how it pans out. Also found out while they could do 4000Mhz, any CPU OC became unstable with that. Had to throw them back to 3600Mhz to get the CPU above 4.4GHz on all cores even. :) So, most likely it's the sticks , and hopefully not the IMC.

MatrixFC1969
01-26-2017, 09:01 PM
Hello to all
I also wanted to buy the maximus ix formula with the memorie of [B]G.Skill f4-4133c19D16GTZR
but talking with the technicians have advised me to use the GTZR up at the frequency of 4000MHz
only maximus ix apex supports the memories of the past 4000MHz G.Skill

JustinThyme
01-27-2017, 12:34 AM
One thing Ive come to realize. Ram is a delicate balance. All the speed in the world isnt going to improve anything when the latency goes up higher in the ratio than the speed. Great marketing ploy that doesnt amount to a hill of beans in actual performance.

Im running the 3400Mhz Trident 64GB kit set manually to 3400Mhz and 16-16-16-36 at 1.35V which is what its rated for in the IX formula Works great.

The 4133 has to much latency IMO at 19-25-25-45 and 1.4V Too lasy to do the equation ATM but pretty much guarantee you the 3400 with the setting I listed above will outperform the 4133 with its XMP settings.

MatrixFC1969
01-27-2017, 08:11 AM
One thing Ive come to realize. Ram is a delicate balance. All the speed in the world isnt going to improve anything when the latency goes up higher in the ratio than the speed. Great marketing ploy that doesnt amount to a hill of beans in actual performance.

Im running the 3400Mhz Trident 64GB kit set manually to 3400Mhz and 16-16-16-36 at 1.35V which is what its rated for in the IX formula Works great.

The 4133 has to much latency IMO at 19-25-25-45 and 1.4V Too lasy to do the equation ATM but pretty much guarantee you the 3400 with the setting I listed above will outperform the 4133 with its XMP settings.


then you say you should not buy ram from 4000 up ???
pushing 3600mhz always arrive around 4000 you ???

brentsg
01-27-2017, 02:27 PM
I have been struggling with a GSkill 3866 kit that won't run better then 2800 with my Hero. *About to send it back, but no idea what to replace it with. *The kit is on both companies QVL list, so perhaps my CPU is just terrible.

Raja@ASUS
01-27-2017, 02:53 PM
Doubtful the CPU is that bad. Might be worth listing what you have tried to get it running.

brentsg
01-27-2017, 03:48 PM
Thanks, started new thread.

bn880
02-01-2017, 12:55 AM
Update (note I am not the original OP). I got the replacement 16GB kit for the Formula and it is indeed MUCH better than the original. I can get to post at 4133 with 1.4V DRAM and 1.35V SA. Stability is not great, even at 1.41V DRAM. (Failures after ~20 mins of OCCT)
However it is stable at 4000Mhz and 1.36V with 4.8 to 5GHz CPU overclock and leaving VCCIO/SA at default. (mind you default is pretty high :D )

So anyway, at least in my case the main cause for non 4133 post and COMPLETE CPU OC instability was the previous set of DRAM. Now I can at least OC CPU with 4000MHz DRAM setting. (I still feel ripped off a bit with the RAM< I dont think it's properly graded by G.Skill, overly optimistic)

Anvirol
02-01-2017, 12:00 PM
You could try increasing vCore to CPU.
While overclocking my 7700k on Maximus IX Hero, I've noticed that XMP profile 3200 MHz required higher vcore to be stable when compared to JEDEC 2133 MHz.

bn880
02-01-2017, 01:03 PM
I did try and it had no effect. Most OCCT tests would fail in 1-5 minutes.