PDA

View Full Version : G752VT-DH72 Random Black Screen on Boot



caughe
01-23-2017, 01:17 AM
Hello All,

I have a G752VT-DH72 model laptop. Recently in the last month, I have been getting a random black screen issue when I boot up. It's not every time, but when it happens it happens after the asus rog logo goes away. You hear all the sounds of windows logging in but without the screen being on. I do believe the back light is on but it's blank. Closing the lid and opening it solves it when this happnes. I tried a fresh install of windows, but to no avail the issue came back. What am I missing?

Thanks,

Clayton

P.S. This pc isn't even a year old yet.

caughe
01-23-2017, 06:49 PM
Bump....sorry to push it up to the top. Just trying to figure out if its a hardware or software issue. When this occurs, closing then opening the lid fixes it. But what makes it happen? Has anyone had this happen to them?

NP-complete
01-23-2017, 08:09 PM
Never happened to me (G752VY here), but I wonder if this problem is related to the problem I have when I wake up after getting into sleep mode (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?90469-G752-not-waking-up-after-sleep&p=628796#post628796).

Armesis
01-24-2017, 01:23 PM
This happened to my G752VY as well, i think it is a sign of impending screen failure. I remedied this by pressing the power button to make it sleep, then wake it again, but ultimately the screen had to be replaced.

caughe
01-25-2017, 03:51 AM
This happened to my G752VY as well, i think it is a sign of impending screen failure. I remedied this by pressing the power button to make it sleep, then wake it again, but ultimately the screen had to be replaced.

Are you saying you have the same issue i do? Or the other person with the link?

Ancients
01-25-2017, 08:13 AM
I have had this black screen error, but it only happens rarely after waking it from sleep. Putting it back into sleep mode and waking it again clears it up. I don't remember having the issue before Windows 10 version 1607, so I chalked it up to Windows 10 weirdness, which is a never-ending supply.

caughe
01-25-2017, 01:29 PM
That's true I didn't even have this problem until the most recent update or two fromMicrosoft

NP-complete
01-25-2017, 08:07 PM
I've just discovered that my problem waking up from sleep disappears if I don't let ORIGIN run (neither at startup nor later). :D

Is Origin installed in your computer? Do you have any Electronic Arts game?

EDIT: That crazy title of this post is... the CAPTCHA code this page asked me before submiting this post, which I wrote at the wrong box. :o

caughe
01-25-2017, 10:59 PM
I've just discovered that my problem waking up from sleep disappears if I don't let ORIGIN run (neither at startup nor later). :D

Is Origin installed in your computer? Do you have any Electronic Arts game?

EDIT: That crazy title of this post is... the CAPTCHA code this page asked me before submiting this post, which I wrote at the wrong box. :o

I actually do not have any EA games installed ( I do own a few), the only game platform on it right now is steam.

NP-complete
01-26-2017, 07:30 AM
When you restart your computer, does Windows complain about any program refusing to close (so Windows eventually has to kill the process by itself)? Windows was often sending me those messages about Origin when I pressed the restart button. Maybe If a program refuses to be closed when Windows "nicely" requests it, then its full state won't be properly saved into the SSD when getting into sleep mode, so it cannot be properly recovered later when waking up (and it makes waking up crash). Not sure, it's just a theory. Does Windows tell you about some programs "refusing" to close when you press the restart button? Maybe Steam?

NP-complete
01-26-2017, 12:16 PM
I'm so sorry to inform that my solution to solve the waking up issue doesn't work in all cases. :( I thought waking up after a clean boot was safe (25 waking up operations in the last 3 days, all correct!), but it isn't. After a clean boot, I started Steam and asked it to download some large game (10 Gb) into the SSD. After 5 Gb or so, when the right side of the case was already warm (yes, the right side gets warm even without any sound, just by downloading files), I put the laptop into sleep mode. 30 minutes later, when the right side of the case was cold again, I pressed the wake up button... and it failed. Two attempts. First time I could write my password but then I was stuck in the desktop. Second time I just got the infamous black screen.

Maybe reducing the number of running programs helps indeed, but it definitely sounds like a hardware issue.

NP-complete
01-27-2017, 10:11 AM
Ok, I've installed the lastest Intel drivers for the Chipset, the Management Engine, and the Rapid Storage Technology from http://www.station-drivers.com/index.php?lang=en. Then, I've changed the BIOS from Raid to AHCI, following the steps given by hexaae in https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post588732 (I also experienced that halved transfer speed problem after waking up from sleep). Then I've repeated twice the experiment I mentioned in my previous post, and it's working: resuming after suspension isn't failing. I don't want to be overoptimistic (again!), but this could be the solution.

If I don't get back to this thread with bad news, then it means it kept working.

caughe
01-27-2017, 09:44 PM
Ok, I've installed the lastest Intel drivers for the Chipset, the Management Engine, and the Rapid Storage Technology from http://www.station-drivers.com/index.php?lang=en. Then, I've changed the BIOS from Raid to AHCI, following the steps given by hexaae in https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post588732 (I also experienced that halved transfer speed problem after waking up from sleep). Then I've repeated twice the experiment I mentioned in my previous post, and it's working: resuming after suspension isn't failing. I don't want to be overoptimistic (again!), but this could be the solution.

If I don't get back to this thread with bad news, then it means it kept working.

I hope it goes well for you bud. Sorry for being late on the reply. I have been busy with school work and a 50 hour work week ;) let me know how yours goes. So far I have had no issues since OP. Like i said mine has been completely random and I haven't nailed down an event that would trigger it yet.

Cheers

Edit: I just wanted it to be known to the community that I was having an error. Be it hardware or software related. I was hoping it to be isolated. I will stay in touch.

NP-complete
01-28-2017, 08:34 PM
Good to know you are not experiencing the problem again. :)

Regarding my problem, right after doing that change, my next three reboots took longer than usual: before the ROG logo, I had 15-45 seconds of black screen and next everything worked. Mysteriously, something changed afterwards, as now rebooting is fast again (less than 10 seconds), and sleeping/resuming is working well too. Maybe some Windows update fixed something in the meantime? Maybe it was because I increased the amount of free space in drive C: from 25Gb to 50Gb (the only change I did that I can recall)?

The more I observe rebooting, sleeping and resuming in motion, the less I understand them. At least, now everything is working well, I hope it'll last!

Bravoexo
01-29-2017, 07:23 PM
When this happens to my G752VY, I just hit Fn+F7 twice to disable/reenable the screen. Works faster than shutting down and turning it back on.

BogdanCiulei
01-29-2017, 11:28 PM
Ok, I've installed the lastest Intel drivers for the Chipset, the Management Engine, and the Rapid Storage Technology from http://www.station-drivers.com/index.php?lang=en. Then, I've changed the BIOS from Raid to AHCI, following the steps given by hexaae in https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post588732 (I also experienced that halved transfer speed problem after waking up from sleep). Then I've repeated twice the experiment I mentioned in my previous post, and it's working: resuming after suspension isn't failing. I don't want to be overoptimistic (again!), but this could be the solution.

If I don't get back to this thread with bad news, then it means it kept working.

When you use AHCI instead of RAID mode , you're effectively disabling iRST, so the driver update for it did nothing. But who knows ...
Personally , I have that uninstalled

NP-complete
01-30-2017, 02:14 PM
When you use AHCI instead of RAID mode , you're effectively disabling iRST, so the driver update for it did nothing. But who knows ...
Personally , I have that uninstalled

You are right, iRST can be used only with RAID. So this part of the configuration change was pointless, I guess.

diogogmaio
01-30-2017, 03:17 PM
When this happens to my G752VY, I just hit Fn+F7 twice to disable/reenable the screen. Works faster than shutting down and turning it back on.

Can someone confirm this?

BogdanCiulei
02-03-2017, 08:42 PM
Can someone confirm this?

No, that does not work

Bravoexo
02-05-2017, 09:21 PM
https://youtu.be/TVc_Mh9xb8Y

Here's how it works on my G752VY

Bravoexo
02-09-2017, 04:13 AM
https://youtu.be/TVc_Mh9xb8Y

Here's how it works on my G752VY

Turns out Fn+F7 only works with the power adapter on. Figured out by looking at the events log that even if I say 'shutdown', the laptop was going to sleep due to Fastboot being enabled. Turned off Fasboot and booting up doesn't sleep the display anymore. Boot times don't really change either... still < 7sec with or without Fastboot on