PDA

View Full Version : Different load line calibration voltage apex ix vs formula ix.question.



evassion
02-20-2017, 09:51 AM
Hello at this moment i have the apex ix and the formula ix.

Paired with the same 7700k and same components and same overclock bios options:
5ghz
Xmp 3200
4.5 cache
Etc..*

Formula 1.29v manual voltage and LLC5 -> idle 1.296 load 1.296*

*Apex 1.30v manual LLC5 -> idle 1.31 load 1.296
* * * * * *1.29v manual LLC5 -> idle 1.296 load *1.280
* * * * * *1.295v manual LLC5 -> idle 1.312 load 1.296

Why this difference in voltage and vdroop using same load line calibration? Is doing the formula ix better?

Silent Scone@ASUS
02-20-2017, 10:21 AM
And how are you measuring this?

evassion
02-20-2017, 10:35 AM
Cpuz and hwmonitor.

*

Silent Scone@ASUS
02-20-2017, 10:54 AM
This isn't going to tell you what you want to know. These differences you're showing; the question you are asking isn't a valid one.

evassion
02-20-2017, 12:15 PM
Ok sorry if I do not explain it really well...Maybe i need a multimeter to see exact volts?

The question is, why at fixed voltage and same llc level the formula gives 1.29v at idle and apex 1.31??
And *why the *idle and load voltage in formula its the same 1.296 at this llc level (5), there is no vdroop, this is bad?

Silent Scone@ASUS
02-20-2017, 12:20 PM
How do you know there is no vdroop?

A multi meter would still not show you anything conclusive.

evassion
02-20-2017, 12:35 PM
I want 5g at 1.30v or less, and formula is giving 1.296 in load while apex 1.31 with same level llc. Why?*

Silent Scone@ASUS
02-20-2017, 12:48 PM
And I want to be the world champion Poohsticker. Somethings are simply not viable. You do not have the equipment to monitor the real time voltage, and nobody is going to do this for you. Best not to torment yourself with something so trivial and unimportant. There is nothing wrong with either board.

evassion
02-20-2017, 12:52 PM
Ok knowing this is normal is enough.
*I will buy a multimeter, read a little more and learn to do this properly

Thanks anyways.*

Praz
02-20-2017, 02:04 PM
Ok knowing this is normal is enough.
*I will buy a multimeter, read a little more and learn to do this properly

Thanks anyways.*
Hello

In this instance for accurate measurements the DMM needs to have a resolution at least 4 digits to the right of the decimal point and the meter combined margin of error low enough to differentiate the actual measured voltage difference between boards. Also because of parasitic loading and ground plane losses at this low of a voltage the voltage and ground test points used need to be at the CPU socket.

KuraiShidosha
02-21-2017, 09:13 AM
Hi,

I wouldn't be surprised if this is due to a difference of BIOS firmware. On my M IX Hero original stock BIOS 0604, LLC level 5 gave me perfect voltage on load, exactly what I ask for in the BIOS. Soon as I "upgraded" to 0701 (and same in 0801) then load vcore droops noticeably lower at same LLC setting. Would not be surprised if Apex running different BIOS firmware and this is cause. Can you verify what versions each is running please? Very very disappointed in new BIOS on Hero, wish I could go back to 0604.