PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking The Core i7-7700K With DIP5



Chino
02-22-2017, 12:28 AM
62637

Overclocking is transitioning into the age of software automation. In the early stages, there was a certain reluctance to use such tools because they were producing underwhelming results. But software overclocking has evolved significantly over the past couple of years. In fact, ASUS' own AI Suite has come a long way since its first release. Thanks to its Dual Intelligent Processors 5 (DIP5) functionality, we can say goodbye to predefined overclocking profiles, which were basically a hit or miss, and say hello to a completely automated process that intelligently seeks out the highest speed possible with your individual CPU and cooling. Spending substantial time researching and modifying complicated settings in a boring BIOS interface is a thing of the past.

One of the Kaby Lake’s strong points is its high overclocking potential. Average Joes like you and I can potentially can overclock our processor at 5GHz and brag about it. We can’t really expect all Kaby Lake CPUs to operate that that frequency, but if yours has the potential to reach 5GHz, DIP5 will help you get there. But first of all, let’s go through our checklist to make sure you have the right gear for the job. To make this guide work, you must own an overclockable K-series processor (Core i7-7700K, i5-7600K, or i3-7350K). The second requirement is a Z270 motherboard that specifically supports the DIP5 functionality. Besides the Maximus IX Formula that’s featured in this guide, there are nine other models that you can choose from.


62641

The last thing on our checklist - but definitely not the least important - is cooling. An aftermarket cooling solution is indispensable if you’re targeting the highest overclock possible with your processor. I cool my i7-7700K with the EKWB Predator 240 because it is one of the better 240mm AIO liquid coolers on the market right now. It should also give you a very good idea of the overclock you can expect if you have a similar or better cooling solution.


Making AI Suite III Do What We Want


62639

Since we’ll be using the DIP5 functionality to overclock our processor, we will need to open AI Suite III. You will notice four panels located at the bottom of the utility which constantly display processor frequency, CPU Core Voltage, CPU temperature and fan speed. This is helpful information which will aid us in our overclocking endeavor. So let’s click the 5-Way Optimization icon to commence the DIP5 process.


62640

Most of the settings can be left alone. Only the Target CPU Voltage tuning option requires your attention. I would recommend 1.35V as the maximum value if you’re using a high-end air cooler, 240mm AIO liquid cooler, or better. For anything inferior, I suggest a value between 1.25V to 1.3V. Don’t forget to take your ambient temperature and case airflow into consideration as well. If neither is optimal in your situation, consider using a lower value than what's suggested here.


62642

We need to scroll down to uncheck a few more options. By default, AI Suite III will tune your fans and graphic card. If you’re focused on the CPU, you can untick those options. Leaving them ticked will add unnecessary tuning time to the overclocking process.


62643

Once we’re done configuring the options how we like, we can proceed to pressing the red Start button. A new window will pop up describing the whole DIP5 process. Press the Yes button, and the system restart to initiate the DIP5 tuning process.


62644

At this point, DIP5’s built-in algorithm incrementally raises the processor’s frequency and core voltage while testing stability along the way. Overclocking results vary depending on the potential of your individual processor and the performance of your cooling system, so this is the best approach to finding the highest attainable frequency for your specific combination. Sit back and let DIP5 do its thing.


62645

The entire tuning process typically takes less than 10 minutes. However, it can take longer if you let DIP5 tweak other aspects of your system—or if you extend the duration of the built-in stability test. When the process is completed, DIP5 provides a detailed report. It successfully pushed my CPU to 4.9GHz with one or two active cores and 4.8GHz with three of four active cores. Processors are typically capable of running at higher speeds when fewer cores are active, and DIP5 takes this into account by default.


The Dreaded Stability Test


62646

Everyone has their own preference regarding which software is best for stability testing. So, by all means feel free to use the one of your choice. I prefer ROG Realbench (http://rog.asus.com/rog-pro/realbench-v2-leaderboard/) over other alternatives because, unlike most stress tests which put a synthetic workload on the system, Realbench uses real-world applications instead. In most situations, running Realbench’s stress test for two to four hours is a good indication that your system is stable for everyday usage. However, I only run it for an hour and call it a day. The rest of my stability testing is done outside the program with real-world usage. When you’ve chosen your desired duration for the stress test and the amount of memory corresponding to your system, press the Start button.


62647

It is important to monitor the processor’s temperature during the stress test. Ideally you would want to keep it below 80C. But there is no need to be alarmed if it’s slightly higher. Few of us run our processors at 100% utilization for prolonged periods of time. You should see lower operating temperatures in normal daily usage. As a preventive measure, you can monitor your processor’s temperature while using the system as you normally would.

Once you’re greeted with the Stress Test Passed! message from ROG RealBench, you’re basically done. You can go and enjoy your system… or pursue higher speeds by overclocking the processor manually.

Bahz
02-22-2017, 12:48 AM
An amazing guide! Thank you for sharing it Chino, it's definitely sticky-worthy.

mahanddeem
03-14-2017, 10:46 PM
Thanks Chino for the good guide.
I have a question:
Does AI Suite 3 change bios settings?
Or it just load settings when Windows start?

Thanks

Chino
03-15-2017, 02:35 AM
Thanks Chino for the good guide.
I have a question:
Does AI Suite 3 change bios settings?
Or it just load settings when Windows start?

Thanks

Yes, it does. The changes made by AI Suite III are saved in the BIOS as well.

Raja@ASUS
03-18-2017, 06:43 AM
Thanks Chino for the good guide.
I have a question:
Does AI Suite 3 change bios settings?
Or it just load settings when Windows start?

Thanks




Yes, it does. The changes made by AI Suite III are saved in the BIOS as well.


Just for clarification sake, the auto-tuning process of DIP5 does save settings back to UEFI. However, any manual changes made via the TPU overclocking interface are NOT saved to UEFI. TPU changes can only be saved to a software profile that needs to be loaded every time you reload the OS. For that reason, UEFI is the preferred method of applying a manual overclock.

ColourXY
04-04-2017, 09:37 PM
Thanks for the guide I followed it and got 4.8 on two cores and 4.7 on the other 2.

63725

63726

Chino
04-04-2017, 11:53 PM
Looking good! :)

nmdelrio
04-11-2017, 07:38 PM
Can anyone please tell me why my 5-Way Optimization icon grayed out and cannot be clicked? Same with the Performance, Power Saving, and Away Modes on the right of the panel are not clickable.

:(

Chino
04-11-2017, 11:27 PM
Are you using the latest version of AI Suite III for your motherboard?

nmdelrio
04-12-2017, 12:05 AM
Are you using the latest version of AI Suite III for your motherboard?


Yes, I am using the latest version of AI Suite III on the motherboard support page, v1.01.56 dated 2017/01/05,
and DIP5 v. 1.03.77.

Is there anything in BIOS that I should change, maybe?

I already did an uninstall and reinstall as Administrator, and still no luck.

Chino
04-13-2017, 04:42 AM
Have you installed the Intel MEI driver?

nmdelrio
04-13-2017, 07:09 AM
Have you installed the Intel MEI driver?

yes, I did, but for good measure I reinstalled it, which prompted me if I wanted to repair the files of the apps, so I continued. But still no luck on clicking the 5-Way Optimization icon.

Anyway, thanks for the help, but it could be my Windows 10 installation then.

Chino
04-14-2017, 04:07 AM
Is it a fresh install or are you using a previous install?

nmdelrio
04-14-2017, 07:39 AM
Yes, I'm using a previous install of Windows 10, so that must be the problem. Though I uninstalled the previous version of AI Suite II.

Chino
04-15-2017, 04:32 PM
That's probably the cause of your problem. It's always a good idea to reformat when upgrading to a new chipset.

benny32
05-08-2017, 12:04 AM
When I installed AI 3 it doesn't give me the 5 way optimization option. It feels like I only have a partial install but I have downloaded it a couple times and uninstalled and reinstalled with no luck. Any ideas? Here's my main ai suite menu options, am I missing something?\

System is fresh Win 10 Pro x64 with Maximus IX Extreme.

64497

Chino
05-08-2017, 03:24 PM
It's missing the Dual Intelligent Processors 5 entry.

benny32
05-08-2017, 04:16 PM
It's missing the Dual Intelligent Processors 5 entry.

How do I get that? I have uninstalled and installed a couple times now and it never shows up.

Chino
05-10-2017, 04:54 PM
Are you using the installer from the DVD or the support page?

benny32
05-10-2017, 07:13 PM
I am using the one from the support page.

Chino
05-11-2017, 03:18 PM
Try installing from the DVD for testing purposes.

benny32
05-12-2017, 06:12 PM
Inexplicably, the one from included flash drive works. They are the same version but that one works. DIP5 pushed my 7700k to 5.1Ghz on a 420mm custom loop.

Chino
05-12-2017, 06:33 PM
That's a a very decent overclock. I'm jealous! :o

Calibos
05-25-2017, 06:04 PM
I tried following this *DIP5 guide for my 6700K on an Asus Z170-a with a Corsair H110iGT AIO cooler.

My problem was that the target cpu voltage slider didnt show volts of millivolts, when I adjusted the slider the number alongside was a range of +1 to +125??

To prevent DiP5 from doing an insane overclock I instead set the target temp to 65deg C

I selected TPU1 in the settings so that DIP5 wouldnt adjust the BLK.

It overclocked my 6700k to 4.8 on 2 cores and 4.7 on the other two at 1.39v

Havent stress tested yet.

Is this a save OC given that I couldnt set a target of 1.35v?*

Chino
05-27-2017, 01:59 AM
1.39V is fine for an i7-6700K as long as the temperatures are kept in check. :)

Nate152
06-14-2017, 07:35 PM
I usually try to shy away from software for overclocking.

It's been awhile since I used AI Suite and thought I'd try it, AI Suite 3 and DIP5 is working great here !

Thanks Chino !

65368

chiilin
07-17-2017, 12:49 AM
I just built a new rig a few days ago. I'll list it at the end of this post. However, I just now found this nice thread here from Chino. :o

After I received all my new computer parts, and put everything together, I went to Asus site and downloaded all file listed for my MB, including all the utilities, which of course included DIP5. I updated all drivers, and then started perusing the utilities. I really didn't know what most of them were, and I still don't know what some of them are. I've been trying to crash course myself on learning about them all, but anyway, I fired up DIP5 without knowing much about it.

I ran the 5-way optimization since it basically recommended that I do so when I first opened it, IIRC. I really didn't know what I was doing but I tried to make my best intelligent guesses on what I should do.

I don't remember what all settings I chose to run it at, but this is what I ended up with:

66025

While watching DIP5 "do its thing" I saw that it went to 5100 MHz and found an instability and then it dialed itself back to 5050 MHz and retested and finalized at this OC. Pretty cool. ;)

I have run numerous stress tests on it since (Prime95 for 12-hours, Memtest86+, AIDA64, a few others, I forget all teh names now...I was doing Googling and following random suggestions in different posts/articles/guides I came across...(some were from Chino actually, I've seen your name quite a bit in other forums as well :D) and it seems stable with no crashes or throttling. I did get some slight rounding errors every now and then on Prime95 though...not sure if I should worry about that, or not. :confused:

After reading this guide now though, after the fact, I do see my system appears to be OC'd to 1.375-volts which is slightly higher than your recommended 1.35-volts. Should I consider this a problem?

Did I "luck out" in the silicone lottery? I'm starting to think that I did from everything I've been reading so far. But maybe I still don't understand some things...

Like: I haven't gotten Realbench to function properly yet, But I think I see now I didn't have the most recent version. I'll try to newest version next.

Also, I was running HWMonitor during these tests, while also watching DIP5's readouts. HWMonitor always reported temperatures about 10-12 C above what DIP5 was listing. Which one is more accurate? For instance, DIP5 might be listing a current CPU Temp of 80 (full load), while at the same time HWMonitor was reporting 90C or so. Are these programs measuring at different sensors? What is going on there? I had similar discrepancies between other programs, like the temps AIDA64 was reporting vs. DIP5 vs. HWMonitor, etc.

One last question (sorry so long): is there any program out there that will automatically OC my Geforce 1080 Ti card in a similar fashion as DIP5 OC'd my CPU? I haven't messed with my GPU OC yet at all...

This automation of OC'ing is an awesome accomplishment! I have read many negative reviews of this DIP5 program in my searching, but they were all old posts, 2+ years or more old.

Thanks! :cool:

EDIT: I just realized anyone can see my system specs by clicking on the red button on the left; so no need to list them here. ;)

Chino
07-17-2017, 04:58 PM
How are your temperatures with 1.375V? If they are in check, it's up to you.

As a rule of thumb, you should never run two or more monitoring utilities simultaneously because they can cause polling errors. AI Suite shows the temperature from the CPU socket while HWMonitor shows the CPU core temperature.

As for automatic overclocking for the GPU, I'm sure it's a feature that we will see very soon. ;)

chiilin
07-17-2017, 05:38 PM
My temperatures seem fine in every stress test I do. I'd say its been peaking in mid-80's for very brief periods from time to time under the heaviest loads. That is according to DIP5 readings and/or readings within a stress test program, such as AIDA64. As mentioned, HWMonitor reported about 10C higher on average, which I guess makes sense since you stated it was measuring core temp. vs. socket temp. I'll stop using HWMOnitor I guess, since it could cause polling errors as you said. My CPU Temp. is sitting between 32 and 34C right now (according to DIP5) at idle as I write this.

So I would think those temps are acceptable, wouldn't you?

I'll probably run DIP5 again after I get my GPU OC'd and see what I get on the next run.

chiilin
07-17-2017, 09:12 PM
So does DIP5 OC the RAM too? Or does it leave that alone and only focus on the CPU?

Chino
07-19-2017, 01:18 AM
I usually take temperatures from stress test with a pinch of salt. Since you normally don't hit those temperatures on daily usage. But your temperatures look fine.

Regarding sensors, it's a matter of preference. Most users prefer core temperatures. So it's your call.

chiilin
07-19-2017, 01:45 AM
Understood and agreed about the stress test temps. That's why I'm not concerned when they hit relatively high temps for only very brief periods: under normal conditions I'll probably never get temps that high.

But regarding core vs. socket temps: aren't we basically at the mercy of what program we are using?

I mean, you said HWMonitor takes temps at the core, and DIP5 uses socket temp. And we aren't supposed to have more than one program measuring temps at one time (rule of thumb). So, if I'm monitoring with DIP5, which also has the convenience of having Fan Xpert 4 running, etc. Then I'm going to be seeing socket temps since that is what that program polls, right?

Chino
07-20-2017, 12:33 AM
Pretty much. So it all comes down to which type of monitoring you prefer and then choose the program that offers that reading.

agony22
07-22-2017, 05:50 PM
Hi to all , new to this forum :)

I use 7700K stock 4.2 -4.5 boost , Windows 10 energy saving set to performance and my cpu at 100% load has 1.206v-1.208v to all cores and I have Maximum Temps on stress test Silverbence I open the program 2 times in 2 different windows and run them at the same time , even the mouse is lagging :)
So after 30 minites of stress test I got 80c is that normal ???

My Cpu Cooler is Noctua DH9L using Noctua thermal paste, ( I was using Artic silver 5 and I got 83 max temp)

I understand that this cooler is way to small but I use it with 3770K 4.2 on all cores and I never got more than 70c.
So is this normal ?
Thanks !!!

Chino
07-24-2017, 09:16 PM
Your temperature looks normal given that you're using the Noctua NH-D9L. It should suffice in normal usage, but if you're planning to overclock, you should invest in a bigger heatsink.

agony22
07-29-2017, 09:55 PM
Thanks for you reply .. I will not overclock , 7700k on this corsair air 240 and the biggest air cooler that it fits on this case and mobo its already way to much.
So I will stay using default clocks , and maybe I will change my case and use Noctua D15 next time.
I feel ok for now listening what you said

MrAgapiGC
08-26-2017, 12:13 PM
****! now i have to scratch myself from the comments.... let me try it. it has being a wile. 6700k with a hero ix should not be a problem right? I just make a clean install since i change 960 evo. has all current new drivers. any notes or observations before installing the only version of the heroIX that is Version V1.01.56 2017/01/05 200.16 MBytes. please let me know quick since i am on my screen now.

Chino
08-28-2017, 03:46 PM
Should work fine even with the i7-6700K.

Nick Peyton
10-22-2017, 04:50 PM
DIP5 is not working properly for me.

I leave the maximum v.core at default on the slider (1.55v)

During tuning when system blue screens, after reboot it does NOT begin from "where it left off".

What SHOULD happen is DIP5 should raise the voltage and try the same frequency again. But it doesn't!

Instead; it simply moves onto step 2 (fan control) -- leaving my CPU overclock at the frequency achieved 1 step before system crash.



I have the ROG IX MAXIMUS APEX. When I enter O/C settings into the UEFI manually I can pass Realbench at 5.1Ghz 1.4v.
With DIP5 it stops at 4.6 Ghz.

ASUS - why can't we get this working properly?
So after a crash DIP5 "remembers" the CPU speed before crash. Then tries the same frequency again at a higher voltage (and repeats this until reaching the maximum voltage the user sets)?

Multiplier should then still continue to be automatically increased until the maximum voltage is achieved.