PDA

View Full Version : G75VW's GTX670M running at x4 PCIE 2.0



AgenBlaze
03-10-2017, 09:07 AM
Laptop just got repaired from a GPU issue and now GPU-Z is only showing that the card is running on x2/x4 speed instead of the standard x16.


Game performance doesn't seem that different so far. Is this just a glitch or is it something else? Currently on latest driver and running Windows 10 64 Bit

Nate152
03-10-2017, 09:17 AM
Hi AgenBlaze

Does it ramp up to x16 when playing a game or running a benchmark ?

AgenBlaze
03-10-2017, 11:38 AM
Hi AgenBlaze

Does it ramp up to x16 when playing a game or running a benchmark ?

sadly no ;_;

Nate152
03-10-2017, 12:10 PM
Have you tried updating the bios ?

AgenBlaze
03-10-2017, 12:16 PM
Have you tried updating the bios ?

Latest is 223 for the G75VW isn't it?

Nate152
03-10-2017, 12:53 PM
yes it is, is that what you have ?

And do you have the latest version of GPU-Z ?

I don't see windows 10 listed for your laptop, I don't know if this could be an issue.

AgenBlaze
03-10-2017, 02:17 PM
yes it is, is that what you have ?

And do you have the latest version of GPU-Z ?

I don't see windows 10 listed for your laptop, I don't know if this could be an issue.

Also on 233

And yes, latest GPU-Z(it doesn't ask for update)


Also I highly doubt win 10 was the issue, before the repair(as in before it broke down in the first place) it was running fine at x16




edit: I'm apparently not on latest version of GPU-Z

will update and report back


updated to GPU--Z 1.17.0 and still shows the same

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/17/03/10/f82.png

Nate152
03-11-2017, 03:55 AM
Thank you for the screenshot that helps alot. :)

Yeah it's definitely showing x4.

I see the G75VW comes with windows 7, did you do the free upgrade to windows 10 ? I don't see why windows 10 wouldn't work, it will however download drivers that may not be the most recent ones.

Have you tried setting the nvidia 3d settings and windows power plan to high performance and see if it goes to x16 ? Also double check you have the nvidia graphics enabled.

Are you able to see in the bios if it's running at x4 ?

I'm sure you have it plugged to the wall for power instead of using the battery but I'll mention just to confirm.

If all else fails try reinstalling the Nvidia driver.

Funny thing is, nvidia gpu's need x8 to run so this makes me wonder if it's running on the cpu graphics or the nvidia and windows high performance options might get it to x16 or reinstalling the nvidia driver.

AgenBlaze
03-11-2017, 04:38 AM
Thank you for the screenshot that helps alot. :)

Yeah it's definitely showing x4.

I see the G75VW comes with windows 7, did you do the free upgrade to windows 10 ? I don't see why windows 10 wouldn't work, it will however download drivers that may not be the most recent ones.

Have you tried setting the nvidia 3d settings and windows power plan to high performance and see if it goes to x16 ? Also double check you have the nvidia graphics enabled.

Are you able to see in the bios if it's running at x4 ?

I'm sure you have it plugged to the wall for power instead of using the battery but I'll mention just to confirm.

If all else fails try reinstalling the Nvidia driver.

Funny thing is, nvidia gpu's need x8 to run so this makes me wonder if it's running on the cpu graphics or the nvidia and windows high performance options might get it to x16 or reinstalling the nvidia driver.

Yes I did the free upgrade to Win 10, a long time ago actualyl and did a clean install of it
Windows power plan is already High Performance
Also wall power is the only way this thing can work, battery has been dead for awhile
I did try to reinstall driver yesterday(DDU clean install)
And this thing iirc has no intel GPU(or disabled permanently) because I have the 3D 120HZ version

Nate152
03-11-2017, 04:50 AM
Ok, I wasn't 100% sure if it had cpu graphics so this tells us your 670m must be running at x8 or x16 otherwise it wouldn't be working at x4 ? Plus you say you're not noticing any difference in performance.

Are you able to see if it's showing x4 in the bios ?

Was the nvidia driver a successful install ?

AgenBlaze
03-11-2017, 06:49 AM
Ok, I wasn't 100% sure if it had cpu graphics so this tells us your 670m must be running at x8 or x16 otherwise it wouldn't be working at x4 ? Plus you say you're not noticing any difference in performance.

Are you able to see if it's showing x4 in the bios ?

Was the nvidia driver a successful install ?

BIOS doesn't really show anything really(it's really basic, my G31 based PC has more options than this)

And driver install has zero issues


I am actually noticing slight drop in performance in some games, up to 20 FPS which is pretty big, especially when this thing is barely running newer games at an acceptable FPS without further crippling

Nate152
03-11-2017, 05:11 PM
Was it running at x16 with windows 7 ?

I'm not sure what to suggest, if you've made no changes and are running it like before it should be running/showing x16.

Do you think it's a setting we might be over looking or would you lean towards a hardware/software problem?

Are benchmark scores lower ?

AgenBlaze
03-11-2017, 10:21 PM
Was it running at x16 with windows 7 ?

I'm not sure what to suggest, if you've made no changes and are running it like before it should be running/showing x16.

Do you think it's a setting we might be over looking or would you lean towards a hardware/software problem?

Are benchmark scores lower ?

It was always running at x16 at both Win 7 and 10(before the repair)

I actually haven't done a benchmark, nor did I remember any benchmark settings prior to this

And to be honest I'm not sure. I'm somewhat leaning towards a hardware issue(since the GPU is simply REPAIRED, I would love a replacement but it costs a lot to replace since it involves replacing the entire board assembly of the GPU)

JustinThyme
03-12-2017, 04:01 AM
run 3d marks and compare it to similar systems. You cant expect much out of a 670M

Edit:
Just checked my G74Sx that has a 580M and its running PCIE 2.0 @ x4, that's all shes got, not getting anymore.

CladMaster
03-12-2017, 05:42 AM
Click on the '?' to the right and start the stress test and see what happens.

AgenBlaze
03-12-2017, 11:47 AM
Click on the '?' to the right and start the stress test and see what happens.

been there done that


no change

Nate152
03-12-2017, 12:39 PM
Justin is saying his is running at x4 too.

Apparently the nvidia m gpu's run at x4.

AgenBlaze
03-12-2017, 01:51 PM
Justin is saying his is running at x4 too.

Apparently the nvidia m gpu's run at x4.

That's strange, since before the repair it was always at x16


More evidence here: http://www.techarena.it/asus-g75vw-notebook-gaming-prestante-e-innovativo-28806/asus-g75vw-gpu-z

Kevinmolina
09-28-2017, 01:17 PM
Hi im planning to buy a egpu will you guys recommend what im going to buy that is compatible in my laptop

Asus g75v gtx 660m