PDA

View Full Version : ROG MAXIMUS IX FORMULA pcie slot 1 issue



aylan1196
03-30-2017, 01:50 PM
Hi since I got this board iam trying to run my gpu on 16x pcie it wont it only run at 8x
done everything reseated the cpu cooler .... bios update ....cleared bios ... clean install .....tried different type of gpus .......
whatever I did it wont post 16x only 8x
mind u its all working good but the pain of seeing 8x instead of 16x when u have asus rog strix 1080 ti oc edition is too much to handle :)
plz advise
63599

Chino
03-31-2017, 11:16 PM
Click the ? to run a render test. See if the GPU clocks back up to x16.

Nate152
03-31-2017, 11:42 PM
And are you using any other pcie cards ? You could try reseating it if Chino's suggestion doesn't help.

My ROG Strix 1070 shows x16 1.1 at idle, under load it ramps to x16 3.0

Click the pic to make it bigger.

63625

aylan1196
04-01-2017, 04:11 AM
done every solution I gatherd in the fourm I reseated and no luck I have no ther pcie populated ....also when I run gpuz render it stays at 8x plz advise

Chino
04-01-2017, 03:58 PM
Test your system outside the case. Use the motherboard cardboard box as a testbench and use the bare minimum. See if the problem persists.

Bert G
04-01-2017, 09:08 PM
I had something like that on my IX formula. I just returned it for another one


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JustinThyme
04-02-2017, 12:28 PM
FWIW 8X is still more bandwidth than the card can use. This has been covered multiple times by multiple sources. The results on benchmarks were always well within the margin of error like 0.5FPS difference. When you add a second card its not going to matter anyhow as that slot is going to default to X8 and you will have two at X8 like I do.

Run a few benchmarks and compare them to others. My bet is you will be right there with others with similar hardware.

Menthol
04-02-2017, 04:21 PM
Try what Chino says, test out of case to verify if the case is not allowing for the card to seat fully into the socket, check the CPU socket for any damaged pins and heatsink mount for over tightening or uneven pressure

shiney
04-04-2017, 08:39 AM
Hi -- what utility should I look at to see if My card is running at 16x? I have Maximus IX Hero and ASUS ROG strix GTX 1070. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Chino
04-04-2017, 03:12 PM
Gpu-z

Psycrow
04-04-2017, 09:20 PM
I got SLi 970 GtX and i have the same stats with the box showing this outcome 16 x @ 8x like original poster..is this because i have SLI and they both run 8x and 2 x 8 is 16x ?

Nate152
04-04-2017, 11:05 PM
Hi Psycrow

That's correct, the i7-7700k has 16 pcie lanes and with two gpu's both will run at x8.

aylan1196
04-05-2017, 04:10 AM
Problem solved by replacing the motherboard I returned it and got anew one ...., problem gone

Nate152
04-05-2017, 04:14 AM
Great to hear a new motherboard fixed you up and thank you for reporting back. :)