PDA

View Full Version : Got my replacement finally, but...



AdelaisAer
01-10-2012, 10:51 PM
I finally got my replacement! But I think that Asus was a cheapass this time. :/ The first time, I had this amazing, beautiful mouse with animated LEDs and everything. This time they sent me some plain Logitech mouse. >.>; I feel sad now. But at least I have my replacement, so I guess I should be happy.

BrodyBoy
01-10-2012, 11:07 PM
Were you actually planning on using that mouse? Isn't it wired? (Who uses a wired mouse anymore.....)

Good luck with this one!

AdelaisAer
01-10-2012, 11:15 PM
Were you actually planning on using that mouse? Isn't it wired? (Who uses a wired mouse anymore.....)

Good luck with this one!
The one I had the first time was VERY decent, actually. :/ This one seems meh. But I might just buy a fancy bluetooth mouse if I need to, though I doubt I can find one with animated LEDs and stuff. Yes, I like fancy stuff.

WhirledNews
01-10-2012, 11:36 PM
I use a wired mouse, I play FPS and the response time is much better, if you are doing anything very fast paced with extreme precision you will notice. Plus, I don't like the weight of wireless ones and I don't have to worry about batteries or messed up signals...

AdelaisAer
01-11-2012, 01:08 AM
Well, doesn't matter - my laptop died after flashing BIOS 203. Woo..........time to go kill myself or something.

BrodyBoy
01-11-2012, 01:10 AM
Well, doesn't matter - my laptop died after flashing BIOS 203. Woo..........time to go kill myself or something.
REALLY??????

Did the update itself fail? Or was there a fault that came later?

AdelaisAer
01-11-2012, 01:12 AM
REALLY??????

Did the update itself fail? Or was there a fault that came later?

The update went perfectly fine. It verified, programmed, etc. Then it finished, said, SHUTTING DOWN IN 2 SECONDS... Then it shut down. I thought, okay, I'll wait ten seconds before turning it on. Tried, didn't work. Took the battery out, put it back in, tried, didn't work. Noticed the battery light didn't even come on anymore. My charger works fine because I tried it on my Toshiba, and that somehow worked. So, my laptop is officially an overglorified paperweight and I really don't feel like sending it to Amazon because I know they'll be all over my ass...*sigh* God damn it.

BrodyBoy
01-11-2012, 01:21 AM
....I really don't feel like sending it to Amazon because I know they'll be all over my ass...*sigh* God damn it.
No they won't. Simply fill out an online return form...cause is "defective....won't start"....and they'll send UPS to pick it up in a couple days.

Order another one right now, and maybe you'll have it by the end of the week. (You will if you have Prime shipping.)

AdelaisAer
01-11-2012, 01:29 AM
Last time I sent it for replacement, they made me go to a Canada Post centre, where a mean lady told me to just put a sticker on it and leave it on the counter. >.>;

BrodyBoy
01-11-2012, 01:33 AM
Last time I sent it for replacement, they made me go to a Canada Post centre, where a mean lady told me to just put a sticker on it and leave it on the counter. >.>;
Whenever I've done any Amazon return, they have me choose between two shipping options: Take it to the Post Office with a pre-printed P.O.D. sticker, or have UPS come pick it up. (I just print up the RMA label and put it in the box.....the UPS guy brings the shipping sticker.)

AdelaisAer
01-11-2012, 01:37 AM
Wtf. >: Pfffffffffffffft. Then maybe it's only for US residents. Oh well. Is there a way to determine whether or not my laptop is permanently dead? Do I still have a chance of reviving it somehow?

BrodyBoy
01-11-2012, 01:39 AM
Is there a way to determine whether or not my laptop is permanently dead? Do I still have a chance of reviving it somehow? It sounds to me like it's bricked....failed BIOS update. Unfortunately, here is no DIY fix for that. :(



PS: I just realized.....I have Amazon Prime shipping service....maybe that makes a difference with the return shipping options. I'm not sure, because I've used Prime for years and dontt remember what the regular shipping options are.