PDA

View Full Version : G752VS-XB72K Thunderbolt 3 Display Limitation



Anluan
04-12-2017, 01:59 PM
Is anyone able to tell me if this laptop has a crippled TB3 USB-C port only capable of a single displayport output?

I've got a TB3 dock connected and anytime I connect a 2nd monitor, the laptop will not recognize it. Starting to assume this is one of those times ASUS skimped and didn't put dual DP alternate mode (or whatever it's called) capability through this laptop's TB3 interface.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 02:08 PM
Is anyone able to tell me if this laptop has a crippled TB3 USB-C port only capable of a single displayport output?

I've got a TB3 dock connected and anytime I connect a 2nd monitor, the laptop will not recognize it. Starting to assume this is one of those times ASUS skimped and didn't put dual DP alternate mode (or whatever it's called) capability through this laptop's TB3 interface.
Good question. No idea how to find out the capabilities of the TB3 port on these G752s.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 02:11 PM
Is anyone able to tell me if this laptop has a crippled TB3 USB-C port only capable of a single displayport output?

I've got a TB3 dock connected and anytime I connect a 2nd monitor, the laptop will not recognize it. Starting to assume this is one of those times ASUS skimped and didn't put dual DP alternate mode (or whatever it's called) capability through this laptop's TB3 interface.
What dock are you using?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-12-2017, 02:19 PM
What dock are you using?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

CalDigit TS3 Lite

Everything works great on the dock. The native DP interface, as well as using a USB-C to DP adapter on the 2nd TB3 port on the dock, but if you try to use both at the same time...

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 02:36 PM
Does the docks manual say it can drive two monitors at the same time?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 03:34 PM
Just checked online. The dock appears to support dual monitors upto 4K.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 03:36 PM
But it seems to suggest you use the DP port for one and a USB-C - HDMI adapter for the second. Not a USB-C -DP.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-12-2017, 03:46 PM
But it seems to suggest you use the DP port for one and a USB-C - HDMI adapter for the second. Not a USB-C -DP.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Yea, except their TS3 Lite webpage lists USB-C to HDMI or DisplayPort as options. I've also opened up a support case with CalDigit and they seemed to not understand why the dual output is failing to function. Converting the 2nd TB3 interface (usb-c) to any display output seems to be the same no matter what flavor DP/HDMI from what I understand.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 03:50 PM
Yea, except their TS3 Lite webpage lists USB-C to HDMI or DisplayPort as options. I've also opened up a support case with CalDigit and they seemed to not understand why the dual output is failing to function. Converting the 2nd TB3 interface (usb-c) to any display output seems to be the same no matter what flavor DP/HDMI from what I understand.
Yep sorry.....My mistake. The webpage is pretty clear and dual DP monitors should be supported. Have you swapped over the monitors?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-12-2017, 04:30 PM
Yep sorry.....My mistake. The webpage is pretty clear and dual DP monitors should be supported. Have you swapped over the monitors?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

I've tried disconnecting everything from the laptop minus the dock.

Plugged in JUST the native DP and the monitor works. Plugged in JUST the usb-c to DP and it works.

But, no combination of one before the other allows the 2nd to function. You can hear Win 10 confirm a device has been connected, and the monitor senses that it is now connected to something so it wakes up for a second then goes back to sleep. But the 2nd monitor never appears in device mgr or the display settings.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 04:35 PM
Just a long shot but is it set to optimize for multiple displays in Nvidia Control Panel?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-12-2017, 04:47 PM
Just a long shot but is it set to optimize for multiple displays in Nvidia Control Panel?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Maybe it's just me, but I've never seen that option on the NVIDIA panel.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 04:49 PM
It should be there. Optimize for single display or multiple display.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 05:05 PM
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3148/~/how-to-set-up-multiple-monitors

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-12-2017, 05:30 PM
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3148/~/how-to-set-up-multiple-monitors

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Yea, this is also controlled through windows naively, but doesn't really 'optimize' single/multiple. Nothing on this setting to help with troubleshooting the dock or the TB3 ports capability of outputting two displays.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 05:32 PM
Yea, this is also controlled through windows naively, but doesn't really 'optimize' single/multiple. Nothing on this setting to help with troubleshooting the dock or the TB3 ports capability of outputting two displays.
It enables you to force search for missing displays. Thought it might be worth a shot.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-12-2017, 05:37 PM
It enables you to force search for missing displays. Thought it might be worth a shot.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Ok, I see where you were going there, and yep I've tried both the Windows and NVIDIA missing display to no avail.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 05:50 PM
Ok, I see where you were going there, and yep I've tried both the Windows and NVIDIA missing display to no avail.
Which country are you in?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

BoutTime
04-12-2017, 05:58 PM
Startech look to sell their version of the same dock......https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01BM16ROI

If you can get it on Amazon it's worth a try to see if it works. You can always return it if not.

Anluan
04-12-2017, 06:10 PM
Startech look to sell their version of the same dock......https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01BM16ROI

If you can get it on Amazon it's worth a try to see if it works. You can always return it if not.

I'm in the US, probably not going to throw money at it until ASUS answers me back on my support case. I'm betting they tied the 4th GTX 1070 display output solely to the laptop monitor. Leaving no hardware capability to output dual displays through the TB3 interface, since the mini DP and HDMI both take up outputs 2 and 3.

Laptop monitor - hardware reserved output 1
Mini DP - hardware reserved output 2
HDMI - hardware reserved output 3
TB3 - hardware capability limited to single display due to all other outputs being hard wired to the previous interfaces.

BoutTime01
04-12-2017, 06:20 PM
How does it work out if you use the dock for one display port monitor and the mini dp port for another monitor?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-13-2017, 11:10 AM
How does it work out if you use the dock for one display port monitor and the mini dp port for another monitor?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

The only way to achieve 4 monitors is to use the laptop's built in display, the mini-DP, HDMI, and TB3. The intent was to use 4 external monitors by leveraging the TB3 port for 2x display outputs instead of the laptop display. However it appears ASUS decided to cheap out and not make that a possibility.

patrioticalien
04-13-2017, 12:00 PM
I'm in the US, probably not going to throw money at it until ASUS answers me back on my support case. I'm betting they tied the 4th GTX 1070 display output solely to the laptop monitor. Leaving no hardware capability to output dual displays through the TB3 interface, since the mini DP and HDMI both take up outputs 2 and 3.

Laptop monitor - hardware reserved output 1
Mini DP - hardware reserved output 2
HDMI - hardware reserved output 3
TB3 - hardware capability limited to single display due to all other outputs being hard wired to the previous interfaces.


The only way to achieve 4 monitors is to use the laptop's built in display, the mini-DP, HDMI, and TB3. The intent was to use 4 external monitors by leveraging the TB3 port for 2x display outputs instead of the laptop display. However it appears ASUS decided to cheap out and not make that a possibility.

https://ark.intel.com/products/97464/Intel-Core-i7-7820HK-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

"# of Displays Supported ‡ 3"

You can only run nativity up to three displays from the chispset, anymore and it wont work.
What you have to do, is disable the laptop screen then use the three external screens which you wish to use OR two external + laptop screen = three display limit.

What you need to do if you want to connect the displays is to use a TB3 to dual displayport or whatever you want to use- make sure the module you buy, supports running two interdependent displays from that simultaneously. Also make sure the module supports the OEM Thunderbolt version, or it won't work. I have personally tryed other TB3 modules, they didn't always work - it was hit and miss.

https://www.startech.com/uk/AV/Converters/Video/thunderbolt-3-to-dual-displayport~TB32DP2
I've had no issues in the past using this, to run a 5k Display, which requires two display port connections to get the full 5k. why being connected to other external DCI 4K screens using the other ports. This was done on my GX700 without any issues apart from the module brands.

BoutTime01
04-13-2017, 12:13 PM
https://ark.intel.com/products/97464/Intel-Core-i7-7820HK-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

"# of Displays Supported 3"

You can only run nativity up to three displays from the chispset, anymore and it wont work.
What you have to do, is disable the laptop screen then use the three external screens which you wish to use OR two external + laptop screen = three display limit.

What you need to do if you want to connect the displays is to use a TB3 to dual displayport or whatever you want to use- make sure the module you buy, supports running two interdependent displays from that simultaneously. Also make sure the module supports the OEM Thunderbolt version, or it won't work. I have personally tryed other TB3 modules, they didn't always work - it was hit and miss.

https://www.startech.com/uk/AV/Converters/Video/thunderbolt-3-to-dual-displayport~TB32DP2
I've had no issues in the past using this, to run a 5k Display, which requires two display port connections to get the full 5k. why being connected to other external DCI 4K screens using the other ports. This was done on my GX700 without any issues apart from the module brands.
Would be a bit annoying having to buy that after he's already bought a dock that is supposed to do pretty much everything he wants it to.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-13-2017, 12:57 PM
https://ark.intel.com/products/97464/Intel-Core-i7-7820HK-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

"# of Displays Supported 3"

You can only run nativity up to three displays from the chispset, anymore and it wont work.
What you have to do, is disable the laptop screen then use the three external screens which you wish to use OR two external + laptop screen = three display limit.

What you need to do if you want to connect the displays is to use a TB3 to dual displayport or whatever you want to use- make sure the module you buy, supports running two interdependent displays from that simultaneously. Also make sure the module supports the OEM Thunderbolt version, or it won't work. I have personally tryed other TB3 modules, they didn't always work - it was hit and miss.

https://www.startech.com/uk/AV/Converters/Video/thunderbolt-3-to-dual-displayport~TB32DP2
I've had no issues in the past using this, to run a 5k Display, which requires two display port connections to get the full 5k. why being connected to other external DCI 4K screens using the other ports. This was done on my GX700 without any issues apart from the module brands.

I think you're missing something here. I'm not running solely off of the i7 GPU, the laptop has a GTX 1070 which maxes out at 4 displays. Also as I mentioned before I can get four monitors to activate, but the conundrum is that one of the four GTX 1070 outputs is limited only to the laptop display, and was removed on the hardware (not software) side from the TB3 interface.

Why when I'm at home would I want to use a dinky 17" laptop display over a 4th 27"+ external monitor? ASUS it seems has poorly designed the mobo/GPU/TB3 and disabled any possibility to output dual displays via the TB3 interface.

Whats even more aggravating is that I spend 200 bucks on a nice dock thinking everything was good to go and I had a full fledged TB3 with full capabilities, since there is no disclaimer anywhere stating the TB3 port is only capable of a single display output.

BoutTime01
04-13-2017, 01:02 PM
It's the very same limitation that may mean the XG Station 2 is not compatible. Some of the adverts stated upto 20 Gig throughput instead of the full 40. Not sure if it was a limitation of the passive cables that were available at the the time or the TB3 controller/port themselves. Apparently only active cables support the full 40Gbits.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Anluan
04-13-2017, 01:13 PM
It's the very same limitation that may mean the XG Station 2 is not compatible. Some of the adverts stated upto 20 Gig throughput instead of the full 40. Not sure if it was a limitation of the passive cables that were available at the the time or the TB3 controller/port themselves. Apparently only active cables support the full 40Gbits.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

http://plugable.com/products/tbt3-dp2x/

This is the best source of information I can find. Pluggable has even started a chart to show what TB3 ports have which capability. Obviously the G752 is MIA on that list...but still they go into detail that some hardware vendors intentionally skimp only leaving the TB3 port capable of a single display output.

Anluan
04-14-2017, 12:08 PM
Got the ASUS support reply today. The G752VS is not capable of outputting dual displays via the Thunderbolt 3 interface. If you wish to utilize the GTX 1070's four display output capability you are limited to using the laptop display as one of them, and only three external displays.

BoutTime01
04-14-2017, 12:14 PM
Got the ASUS support reply today. The G752VS is not capable of outputting dual displays via the Thunderbolt 3 interface. If you wish to utilize the GTX 1070's four display output capability you are limited to using the laptop display as one of them, and only three external displays.
That's poor. How Asus can get away with advertising a Thunderbolt 3 port but not mention it's limited capabilities is beyond me. No doubt my G752VT TB3 port will be limited to 20Gbit throughput after all. Thanks for the feedback.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

BoutTime
04-19-2017, 04:53 PM
Just for info in case anyone stumbles across this thread in the future, Here is some useful info on Thunderbolt Docks and the criteria that must be met for dual display functionality.....

http://plugable.com/thunderbolt-3/support/

"Before purchasing a new Thunderbolt™ 3 dock or adapter, you’ll want to make sure that your computer can support it, and be aware of differences from basic USB devices:

Most of early Thunderbolt 3 PCs (2015 and early 2016) require firmware and software updates before all adapters and docks will work.
Dual display support is optional for Thunderbolt 3 PCs. How many displays are supported over Thunderbolt 3 depends on how the USB-C port has been wired on the system motherboard (up to a max of two), and is not changeable in software or by the Thunderbolt 3 graphics device.
Support for PC charging (USB Power delivery) over Thunderbolt 3 systems is optional, and PCs are allowed to limit charging to their own branded power adapters.
Unlike USB devices, Thunderbolt 3 devices must be manually authenticated (approved) for use by the user before the system will recognize them.
Host computers equipped with Thunderbolt 3 have the ability to install various updates including NVM (Thunderbolt 3 related Non-volatile memory) and PD (Power Delivery) firmware, UEFI BIOS, supplemental Thunderbolt 3 software utilities (for authentication) and various drivers to resolve potential issues and increase compatibility with new Thunderbolt 3 products as they are released.

System manufacturers have substantial discretion in how they implement various technical elements and features. As a result, compatibility information is complex, and many currently available Thunderbolt 3 systems aren’t fully compatible with our dual graphics adapters. Some systems may only be equipped with a single DisplayPort (DP) Alternate Mode (Alt Mode) line to the Thunderbolt 3 port which limits the port to a single display output. Due to this limitation some systems won’t be able to take advantage of our dual port Thunderbolt 3 graphics adapters regardless of firmware/software updates. This is a physical hardware limitation.

Many system manufacturers are also shipping with devices with older firmware and may or may not have updated versions available for download at this time. The latest Thunderbolt 3 firmware cannot be downloaded from Intel directly, as it first it has to be customized by the system manufacturer. Intel has a Thunderbolt updates page with some update information but as of this writing the list if fairly small. Currently our TBT3-HDMI2X and TBT3-DP2X adapters require the host system to have a Thunderbolt 3 firmware update with NVM version 14 or higher in order to work properly. The latest UEFI BIOS update from your system manufacturer must be installed before updating the NVM firmware.

System Compatibility

To be compatible with our Dual HDMI Adapter, the host Thunderbolt 3-enabled system must meet the following requirements:

Current Thunderbolt 3 host firmware (NVM), version 14 or higher
System manufacturer must have physically routed two DP lines to the Thunderbolt 3 port. Currently only systems from Dell, HP, and Lenovo meet this requirement"