PDA

View Full Version : Anybody tried Bios 306 on G752VM ?



Ifrin
08-05-2017, 05:22 PM
Does anybody install bios 306 on G752VM, or maybe know what changes in this version comparing to 302?

dragoonx007
08-06-2017, 05:17 PM
i haven't found any release note yet and it annoying the hell out of me

Ifrin
08-07-2017, 01:57 PM
66517
Have to wait for some "brave owner", to test this new Bios.

dragoonx007
08-08-2017, 12:40 AM
i did and it runs cooler and alittle faster

Ifrin
08-08-2017, 01:50 AM
i did and it runs cooler and alittle faster

Thanx, good to know.
What about fans (noise), are they spin any faster/louder than before?

ryandb2
09-17-2017, 02:49 AM
Tried it today, just remember if you had to use an old bios to get support for a nvme pcie ssd, this bios will break your computer. Installed the bios and lost my ssd boot drive. Can't downgrade the bios easily. Support told me I was screwed, had to install windows back on the mechanical drive, still trying to downgrade bios using winflash /nodate, but every bios tool I am trying stops when I try to load the old version. Basically I am back to stock with a worthless SSD sitting in this shell. Not sure why ASUS builds bios that are so limitted and software tools that lock you out if basic functions. Silly.

Darnassus
09-17-2017, 05:17 AM
306 working fine on G752VS. Unsure of the VM.

The 306 upgrade was actually pushed through ASUS Update tool. If yours is being pushed too, then it should be fine.

310 I am uncertain of, I'm not going to use it. Had too many issues thus far.

ryandb2
09-17-2017, 07:07 PM
Tried it today, just remember if you had to use an old bios to get support for a nvme pcie ssd, this bios will break your computer. Installed the bios and lost my ssd boot drive. Can't downgrade the bios easily. Support told me I was screwed, had to install windows back on the mechanical drive, still trying to downgrade bios using winflash /nodate, but every bios tool I am trying stops when I try to load the old version. Basically I am back to stock with a worthless SSD sitting in this shell. Not sure why ASUS builds bios that are so limitted and software tools that lock you out if basic functions. Silly.

Just a quick update, finally found a way to load an old bios, in the bios flash utility, just type "risky" when it says in can't load an old bios. Stupid but it works, unfortunately can't get the SSD recognized still, probably would need to reinstall windows to that or modify the bios manually. Not worth it at this point, unfortunately this laptop is really slow without an SSD. No clue why they put M2 in the machine when they have such a hard time supporting it. If all your hardware is stock, 306 should work fine, but if you have changed anything be wary.

ryandb2
09-30-2017, 10:57 PM
I have no clue how, but today, while trying to fix a wake on lid issue, I went into the bios and had the option to run RAID or ACHI mode on the drives. System found the nvme ssd and booted to it... so weird. Well I guess I am up and running on bios 306.