PDA

View Full Version : Asus G701VI unlocked BIOS V304

cnsnlg
09-06-2017, 04:38 AM
Hi all,

I am a DevSecOps professional and needed a powerful laptop, running Linux as native OS. Picked up the G701VI.

The main reason you cannot install Linux into this laptop, is because of its Raid 0 configuration of the Rapid Storage Controller.
Linux has drivers for NVMe devices but does not yet support Rapid Storage Controllers Raid. The only solution is to break the Raid and use your NVMe disks as separate ones.

In order to break the Raid, I needed to "unlock" the Bios, go to Sata settings and DISABLE Sata Controller.
I also unlocked every option seemed a bit interesting, including all overclocking settings.

You can find my unlocked Bios here:

https://github.com/ElDudorino/Asus-G701VI-Bios

Upgrading your Bios with a modded one may void your warranty.
I am not responsible if you brick your laptop.

Happy Linux Overclocking.

merocom
03-31-2018, 04:17 AM
Hi all,

I am a DevSecOps professional and needed a powerful laptop, running Linux as native OS. Picked up the G701VI.

The main reason you cannot install Linux into this laptop, is because of its Raid 0 configuration of the Rapid Storage Controller.
Linux has drivers for NVMe devices but does not yet support Rapid Storage Controllers Raid. The only solution is to break the Raid and use your NVMe disks as separate ones.

In order to break the Raid, I needed to "unlock" the Bios, go to Sata settings and DISABLE Sata Controller.
I also unlocked every option seemed a bit interesting, including all overclocking settings.

You can find my unlocked Bios here:

https://github.com/ElDudorino/Asus-G701VI-Bios

Upgrading your Bios with a modded one may void your warranty.
I am not responsible if you brick your laptop.

Happy Linux Overclocking.

i'm trying to unlocked my bios but not accepted

cnsnlg
04-15-2018, 10:28 PM
I am sorry for the delay.
Could you be more specific?
Have you tried my bios or tried to crack your own?

merocom