PDA

View Full Version : Gx501 fan control / and driver bios updates



rsunahar
09-15-2017, 10:51 PM
Does anyone know of a way to control the fans on this model?
Although my temps are fine, I think that having the fans at a constant speed while gaming would actually be better than to wait for them to ramp up and down.


Also I looked for options in ROG gaming center and I don't see the turbo gear option even after updating from the acer download page. Also I'm on bios 300 but the latest posted to the download page is 202. Do I have a new unreleased bios?

toronto699
09-15-2017, 11:08 PM
I'm curious as to the date of your 300 bios, Bios 202 date is 2017/07/06 { update} and is the only bios listed and did bios 300 come with the Gx500 installed? and was turbo gear option available before u did the updated ROG gaming center

rsunahar
09-16-2017, 11:59 PM
I'm curious as to the date of your 300 bios, Bios 202 date is 2017/07/06 { update} and is the only bios listed and did bios 300 come with the Gx500 installed? and was turbo gear option available before u did the updated ROG gaming center

sorry I'm not at the laptop right now. Yes I have bios 300. I read about the turbo gear option on a review site for this laptop

toronto699
09-20-2017, 01:22 AM
ON the driver page in Others is turbo boost update . Others owners say they have Bios 300 , but its not posted on driver page

MasterC@ROG
09-20-2017, 08:32 AM
Manual control of the fans is not available since that will consume more power. The latest firmware revision is 300.

rsunahar
09-21-2017, 09:06 PM
Manual control of the fans is not available since that will consume more power. The latest firmware revision is 300.

thank you for an official answer, I really appreciate it.

*

blitzhax
09-22-2017, 06:21 AM
Manual control of the fans is not available since that will consume more power. The latest firmware revision is 300.

Can you guys upload bios 300? I used the 201 bios you have on the asus site on my computer when I had bios 300 before, now I'm at 201. I thought it wouldn't let me use the update if it older, but it did.

rsunahar
09-23-2017, 12:47 AM
Can you guys upload bios 300? I used the 201 bios you have on the asus site on my computer when I had bios 300 before, now I'm at 201. I thought it wouldn't let me use the update if it older, but it did.

yes same here

PiTpOsSuM
09-23-2017, 06:59 AM
Hello, same here. Please upload the new BIOS to the Support page. Also there is still the "distortion issue" with my left speaker in mid-high audio.